Simes scores in Glencoe

Napolitano, Grant on podium

Just before the halfway mark of the Men's Glencoe Grand Prix Pro 1/2 race Jackie Simes (Jamis-Sutter Home) and Rudy Napolitano (Bahati Foundation) attacked out of a small group of riders to establish a significant gap which they would grow for the rest of the race. Simes, who is the current product of the legendary cycling family, out sprinted his companion to take his first National Criterium Calendar win.

Napolitano, who had been in the winning break the previous day at the Lake Bluff Twilight Criterium, was active from the gun. "I was trying to press for a break the whole race," Said Los Angeles resident Napolitano. "Rahsaan was talking to me the whole race saying 'When it's fast hit 'em! When it's fast hit 'em!' I tried two or three times, and maybe half way through I hit them again and took a guy with me. It was a Jamis rider and they had a full squad here, so I'm sure they did some blocking, and it worked out."

For Jackie Simes, the latest incarnation of the Simes cycling dynasty, the technical 10-corner course did prove difficult to navigate. "The hill obviously was hard, I think a lot of the tricks to this course was just holding position," said Simes "If you are in the first 20 guys it's not too bad. A couple of times I got farther back than that and you really have to work."

The cooperation agreement came to an end on last lap when Simes and Napolitano started their charge to the line. "During his last pull on the second to last straight away I just dropped off back a few lengths so he wasn't able to force me to the front," said Simes whose charge would win the race. "He started his sprint right before the turn and then I took a shot at him."

Several early efforts were unsuccessful in getting away but 15 laps into the race a group of six riders established a small gap. The group was whittled down over the next four laps to Simes and Napolitano gained over a minute on the fieldthe next twenty laps. The only serious attempt to bridge was lead by Mac Brennan (Bissell-ABG-Nuovo) and David Cueli (Team Cocos) who were ultimately reeled in with six laps to go. Once caught the pack let up and their hesitation allowed John Grant (Texas Roadhouse Cycling Team) to sneak away and establish a 20 second gap on the field. While Simes was sprinting Napolitano for the win Grant held off the pack for third, and his teammate Chad Burdzilauskas (Texas Roadhouse) won the field sprint ahead of Rahsaan Bahati (Bahati Foundation.)

John Grant who broke away late for third was the only surprise the last half of the race. "I wasn't too sure if it was 2 or four guys off the front. I have a really good sprinter, Chad Burdzilauskas, that was in the race, and I went just to take pressure off of him," said Grant. “It was a technical course, a lot of sections it was easier if I just rode them by myself. I went at the right time, I got a good gap, and was really happy to hang on for the last podium spot."

Glencoe marked a return to form for Bahati who took time off from national level racing in 2011. "It's been a while since I've been in a field like this, almost a year. I took some time off, and not traveling and racing, so a little nervous,” said Bahati who performed some work in Chicago during the week on behalf of his foundation which is focused on helping inner city youth. "I was happy to get up there, and so excited for Rudy and have the Bahati Foundation up on the podium at an NRC race."

National Criterium Calendar racing continues June 8-10 at the St. Francis Tulsa Tough in Oklahoma, and June 9-10 at the Airforce Cycling Classic in Arlington, Virginia.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jackie Simes (Jamis/Sutter Home)1:59:53 
2Rudolph Napolitano0:00:00 
3John Grant (Texas Roadhouse Cycling Team P/B Motorex/Kentucky Flyers Cycling Inc)0:01:18 
4Chad Burdzilauskas (Texas Roadhouse Cycling Team P/B Motorex/Kentucky Flyers Cycling Inc)0:01:34 
5Rahsaan Bahati (Bahati Foundation-CA)0:01:35 
6Daniel Holt (Team Type 1 - Sanofi)0:01:35 
7Timothy Rugg (Champion System Pro Cycling Team)0:01:35 
8Rafael Meran (CRCA/Foundation)0:01:35 
9Chad Hartley (Kenda 5-Hour Energy Cycling Team)0:01:35 
10Jeremy Durrin (J.A.M. Fund / NCC/Tenet Racing)0:01:35 
11Ryan Knapp (Panther p/b Competitive Cyclist)0:01:35 
12Luke Keough (Mountain Khakis/SmartStop)0:01:35 
13Brandon Feehery (Astella Oncology p/b ABD Cycling/ABD Cycling Club)0:01:35 
14Brendan Cornett (TBB Sports)0:01:36 
15Frank Travieso (Team Coco's/Team Cocos)0:01:36 
16Mathew Gorter (Astellas)0:01:36 
17Nicolas Frey (BOO Bicycles/Coursa Sports)0:01:36 
18Robert White (RACC pb GG/Racers Against Childhood Cancer)0:01:36 
19Oscar Clark (Team United Healthcare Georgia/The 706 P/The 706 Project)0:01:36 
20Michael Wilcox (FFKR Architects Racing/Velosport Racing)0:01:36 
21Gavriel Epstein (Champion System Pro Cycling Team)0:01:37 
22Euris Vidal (CRCA/Foundation)0:01:37 
23Tony Hall (Champion System Pro Cycling Team)0:01:37 
24Ryan Mele (Stan's NoTubes/AXA Equitable)0:01:37 
25Ryan Sullivan (Team United Healthcare Georgia/The 706 P/The 706 Project)0:01:37 
26Menso de Jong (Jelly Belly Cycling)0:01:37 
27Mac Brennan (Bissell-ABG-NUVO/Indianapolis Cycling Club)0:01:38 
28Emilio Asconeguy0:01:38 
29Weston Luzadder (Bissell-ABG-NUVO/Indianapolis Cycling Club)0:01:38 
30Anthony Olson (Bianchi/Grand Performance/St Paul Bicycle Racing Club)0:01:39 
31Daniel Chabanov (Foundation/Century Road Club Assoc)0:01:39 
32Alex Vanias (Bissell-ABG-NUVO/Indianapolis Cycling Club)0:01:40 
33Daniel Harm (ABD Cycling Club)0:01:40 
34Guido Palma (Jamis Sutter Home)0:01:41 
35Demis Aleman (Jamis Sutter Home)0:01:42 
36Bradley White (UnitedHealthcare)0:01:42 
37Jacob Mueller (Stan's NoTubes/AXA Equitable)0:01:46 
38Liam Donoghue (xXx Racing)0:01:47 
39Andre Vandenberg (Astella Oncology p/b ABD Cycling/ABD Cycling Club)0:01:51 
40Jeanmichel Lachance (Latino Cycling Team)0:01:51 
41Alex Wieseler (Bissell-ABG-NUVO/Indianapolis Cycling Club)0:01:52 
42David Cueli (Team Cocos)0:01:55 
43Nathaniel Williams (Bissell-ABG-NUVO/Indianapolis Cycling Club)0:02:02 
44Michael Sherer (Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies)0:02:08 
45Pat Lemieux (Kenda 5 Hour Energy)0:02:37 
46Jonathan Clarke (UnitedHealthcare)0:02:37 
47Emile Abraham (Latino Cycling Team)0:03:33 
48Zachary Davies (Team Exergy)  
DNFSteve Sonheim (Team Steam)  
DNFArtiom Kraitor (Team Type 1 - Sanofi)  
DNFHilton Clarke (UnitedHealthcare)  
DNFRobert Kelley (Bicycle Heaven/Team Bicycle Heaven)  
DNFJacob Rytlewski (Astella Oncology p/b ABD Cycling/ABD Cycling Club)  
DNFDan Ajer (Great Dane Velo Club (GDVC))  
DNFBrian Hill (Stan's NoTubes/AXA Equitable)  
DNFJohn Puffer (Texas Roadhouse Cycling Team P/B Motorex/Kentucky Flyers Cycling Inc)  
DNFBen Anderson (Great Dane Velo Club (GDVC))  
DNFRicky Gargiulo (Champion System Pro Cycling Team)  
DNFJerome Townsend (Mountain Khakis/SmartStop)  
DNFAriel Mendez-Penate (Champion System Pro Cycling Team)  
DNFGevan Samuel  
DNFBilly Jones (ISCorp Cycling Team/Nova Cycle Sports Foundation)  
DNFBranden Russell (Team Type 1 - Sanofi)  
DNFAlejandro Guzman (Foundation/Century Road Club Assoc)  
DNFRoss White (Racers Against Childhood Cancer)  
DNFRuud Cremers (Team Type 1 - Sanofi)  
DNFAlex Bowden (Team Type 1 - Sanofi)  
DNFAlexander Meyer (Mitsubishi Laser/Grand Performance/St Paul Bicycle Racing Club)  
DNFDavid Forkner (Foundation/Century Road Club Assoc)  
DNFDerek Witte (Bissell-ABG-NUVO/Indianapolis Cycling Club)  
DNFBryan McVey (Astella Oncology p/b ABD Cycling/ABD Cycling Club)  
DNFSergio Hernandez (Jelly Belly Cycling)  
DNFShane Kline (Mountain Khakis/SmartStop)  
DNFAndrew Crater (Cleveland Clinic Sports Health - RGF pb Felt Bicycles)  
DNFAlexander Gonzalez (Rossetti Devo Cycling Team)  
DNFColin Jaskiewicz (Champion System Pro Cycling Team)  
DNFDavid Moyer (xXx Racing)  
DNFAlexander Bremer (Foundation/Century Road Club Assoc)  


Back to top