Teutenberg wins in Cottbus

Sprints to win ahead of J├Ârhend and Schleicher

Ina Teutenberg of Team Columbia-Highroad won the mass sprint to take the German national road title Sunday in Cottbus. The 34-year-old outsprinted Marlen Jörhend and former World Champion Regina Schleicher, both of Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung.

The German women rode a 128 km course. The race was marked by numerous escapes and breaks, none of which was able to stay away for very long. Columbia and Highroad kept the speed up to set up the sprint, and the field came together again just before the start of four laps of the the finishing circuit in Cottbus.

Today's win is the first time Teutenberg has claimed the German national road title.

1Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (Columbia-Highroad)  
2Marlen Jöhrend (Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung)  
3Regina Schleicher (Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung)  
4Charlotte Becker (Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung)  
5Sarah Düster  
6Angela Hennig  
7Martina Zwick (Koga Miyata Cycling Team)  
8Denise Zuckermandel (Team Stuttgart)  
9Birgit Söllner (Koga Miyata Cycling Team)  
10Laura Dittmann (Bamlach)  
Back to top