Mouris claims a victory for Vacansoleil

Eeckhout and Vanmarcke complete Groene Hart podium

Vacansoleil's Jens Mouris staged an audacious late-race attack to win the Ronde van het Groene Hart on Sunday afternoon. The Dutch rider was able to maintain his slight advantage all the way to the end, finishing 11 seconds ahead of Nico Eeckhout (An Post-Sean Kelly Team) and Sep Vanmarcke (Topsport Vlaanderen).

The peloton split early, with a group of 33 riders getting away and the field behind them breaking into two. The last of the groups eventually removed from the event by the race jury. The large leading group eventually settled into a group of 15, which was able to work together better and built up a lead of up to three minutes.

Vacansoleil had two riders in the lead group but still led the charge to catch the break, splitting the peloton yet again. With a little more than 10 kilometres to go, Mouris attacked out of the lead group and was able to stay away to the end.

The Continental-ranked Team was not allowed to race, as it had insufficient riders at the start. 

Full Results
1Jens Mouris (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team4:27:42 
2Niko Eeckhout (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly0:00:11 
3Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
4Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank  
5Kenny Robert Van Hummel (Ned) Skil - Shimano  
6Geert Omloop (Bel) Palmans - Cras  
7Pieter Vanspeybrouck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
8Wim De Vocht (Bel) Team Milram  
9David Boucher (Fra) Landbouwkrediet  
10Vicente Reynes Mimo (Spa) Team HTC - Columbia  
11Kim Lachmann (Ger) Team Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
12Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team  
13Tom Veelers (Ned) Skil - Shimano  
14Servais Knaven (Ned) Team Milram0:00:30 
15Rick Flens (Ned) Rabobank0:00:38 
16Alexander Kristoff (Nor) BMC Racing Team0:02:06 
17Vidal Celis Zabala (Spa) Footon-Servetto  
18Jos Van Emden (Ned) Rabobank  
19Michael Van Stayen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
20Baptiste Plackaert (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
21Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) Palmans - Cras  
22Sebastian Forke (Ger) Team Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
23Wim Stroetinga (Ned) Team Milram  
24Mark Mcnally (GBr) An Post - Sean Kelly  
25Luc Hagenaars (Ned) Team Kuota - Indeland  
26Bauke Mollema (Ned) Rabobank  
27Kenny Lisabeth (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly  
28Stijn Neirynck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
29Robin Chaigneau (Ned) Skil - Shimano  
30Stijn Minne (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly  
31Emmanuel Van Ruitenbeek (Ned) Team Kuota - Indeland  
32Dirk Bellemakers (Ned) Landbouwkrediet  
33David Deroo (Fra) Skil - Shimano  
34Krzysztof Jezowski (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
35Jackson Stewart (USA) BMC Racing Team  
36Maarten De Jonge (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
37David Garcia Da Pena (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia  
38Nelson Oliveira (Por) Xacobeo Galicia  
39Kevin Neirynck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
40Marcel Sieberg (Ger) Team HTC - Columbia  
41Markus Eichler (Ger) Team Milram  
42Michael Schweizer (Ger) Team Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
43Rasmus Guldhammer (Den) Team HTC - Columbia  
44Kris Boeckmans (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
45Timothy Vangheel (Bel) Palmans - Cras  
46Ronan Van Zandbeek (Ned) Van Vliet Ebh Elshof  
47Iban Mayoz Echeverria (Spa) Footon-Servetto  
48Fabio Felline (Ita) Footon-Servetto  
49Tom Stamsnijder (Ned) Rabobank  
50Thomas Fothen (Ger) Team Milram  
51Tomasz Lisowicz (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
52Bert Grabsch (Ger) Team HTC - Columbia  
53Björn Schröder (Ger) Team Milram  
54Bertjan Lindeman (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
55Matthias Brandle (Aut) Footon-Servetto  
56Egidijus Juodvalkis (Ltu) Palmans - Cras  
57Piet Rooijakkers (Ned) Skil - Shimano  
58Steffen Radochla (Ger) Team Nutrixxion Sparkasse  
59Rikke Dijkxhoorn (Ned) Van Vliet Ebh Elshof  
60Wouter Mol (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team  
61Matheus Pronk (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team0:02:16 
62Geert Steurs (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
63Bobbie Traksel (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team  
64Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Rabobank  
65Björn Leukemans (Bel) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team  
66Arnoud Van Groen (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team  
67Dennis Van Winden (Ned) Rabobank  
68Robert Wagner (Ger) Skil - Shimano  
69Sierk De Haan (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
70Joost Van Leijen (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team  
71Ronan Mc Laughlin (Irl) An Post - Sean Kelly0:02:53 
72Maxim De Busschere (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly0:06:04 
73Tom Van Becelaere (Bel) Palmans - Cras  
74Johim Ariesen (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
75François Jurgen (Bel) Palmans - Cras  
76Jesper Asselman (Ned) Van Vliet Ebh Elshof  
77Ermanno Capelli (Ita) Footon-Servetto  
78Yoeri Havik (Ned) Van Vliet Ebh Elshof  
79Gert Dockx (Bel) Team HTC - Columbia  
80Lukasz Bodnar (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
81Dariusz Batek (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
82John Murphy (USA) BMC Racing Team  
83Jan Ghyselinck (Bel) Team HTC - Columbia  
84Steven Caethoven (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
85Mark Cassidy (Irl) An Post - Sean Kelly  

Related Articles

Back to top