Three-peat for Teutenberg at Drentse 8

German sprints to victory for third straight year

For the third straight year, HTC-Columbia's Ina-Yoko Teutenberg won the Drentse 8 van Dwingeloo race in the Netherlands. The 35-year-old German beat Emma Johansson (Redsun Cycling Team) and Annemiek Van Vleuten (Nederland Bloeit) in a seven-rider sprint for victory.

"It was a spectacular win and it came after some really hard racing," said HTC-Columbia sports director Ronny Lauke. "Ina and [HTC-Columbia teammate] Adrie Visser got into an 11-rider break that was only 25 seconds ahead at most for 40 kilometres all the way to the finish.

"The two led into a cobbled section at the head of the pack with about three kilometres to go and they realized they were two of the strongest riders present. So then Adrie made the rest of the break suffer by going flat out with Ina on her back wheel until the last 300 metres.

"Another rider tried to open up the sprint, but Ina reacted quickly and won by a bike-length."

Lauke said he was particularly pleased because "the win came about thanks to some great teamwork. We've ironed out all the little mistakes that sometimes occur when there are new teammates in a squad, and after some great races in America, now we've got our first victory of the season in Europe, too."

Teutenberg's victory is the 10th for HTC-Columbia women's team this year and her seventh in the 2010 season so far.

The next race of the Drenthe series will be the World Cup round, held on Saturday.

Full Results
1Ina Teutenberg (Ger) HTC Columbia Women3:29:26 
2Emma Johansson (Swe) Redsun Cycling Team  
3Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Nederland Bloeit  
4Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Gauss RDZ Ormu  
5Sarah Düster (Ger) Cervelo Test Team  
6Regina Bruins (Ned) Cervelo Test Team  
7Adrie Visser (Ned) HTC Columbia Women  
8Lucy Martin (GBr) Great Britain0:00:12 
9Charlotte Becker (Ger) Cervelo Test Team0:00:14 
10Monique Van De Ree (Ned)  
11Sara Mustonen (Swe) Hitec Products Uck  
12Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Lotto Ladies Team0:00:35 
13Kirsty Broun (Aus) Australia  
14Monica Holler (Swe) Fenixs - Petrogradets  
15Sophie Creux (Fra) Esgl 93 - Gsd Gestion  
16Lauren Michelle (USA) United States of America  
17Janneke Kanis (Ned) Nederland Bloeit  
18Brooke Miller (USA) TIBCO - To the Top  
19Sinead Miller (USA) United States of America  
20Julia Martisova (Rus) Gauss RDZ Ormu  
21Carla Swart (RSA) MTN  
22Anne Arnouts (Bel) Redsun Cycling Team  
23Irina Molicheva (Rus) Fenixs - Petrogradets  
24Lianne Wagtho (Ned)  
25Alessandra D'Ettorre (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi  
26Suzanne De Goede (Ned) Nederland Bloeit  
27Alice Marmorini (Ita) S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox  
28Roxane Knetemann (Ned) Merida Cycling Team  
29Emilie Aubry (Swi) Cervelo Test Team  
30Martine Bras (Ned) Gauss RDZ Ormu  
31Katie Colclough (GBr) Great Britain  
32Elena Kuchinskaya (Rus) Gauss RDZ Ormu  
33Giada Borgato (Ita) Gauss RDZ Ormu  
34Marie Lindberg (Swe) Redsun Cycling Team  
35Gloria Presti (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi  
36Emma Mackie (Aus) TIBCO - To the Top  
37Inge Klep (Ned) Redsun Cycling Team  
38Barbara Guarischi (Ita) S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox  
39Sharon Laws (GBr) Cervelo Test Team  
40Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned) HTC Columbia Women  
41Loes Markerink (Ned) Nederland Bloeit  
42Patricia Schwager (Swi) Cervelo Test Team  
43Daphny Van Den Brand (Ned)  
44Joanne Kiesanowski (NZl) TIBCO - To the Top  
45Chloe Hosking (Aus) HTC Columbia Women  
46Andrea Dvorak (USA) United States of America  
47Alessandra Borchi (Ita) Gauss RDZ Ormu  
48Kimberly Anderson (USA) HTC Columbia Women  
49Hannah Mayho (GBr) Great Britain  
50Natalie Van Gogh (Ned) Swabo Ladies Cyclingteam  
51Birgit Lavrijssen (Ned) Redsun Cycling Team  
52Veronica Andreasson (Swe) Lotto Ladies Team  
53Vicki Whitelaw (Aus) Lotto Ladies Team  
54Ana Bianca Schnitzmeier (Ger) Germany  
55Ruth Corset (Aus) TIBCO - To the Top  
56Hannah Welter (Ned) Merida Cycling Team  
57Denise Zuckermandel (Ger) Germany  
58Franziska Merten (Ger) Germany  
59Fröydis Waerstad (Nor) Hitec Products Uck  
60Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Nederland Bloeit  
61Trixi Worrack (Ger) Noris Cycling  
62Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) Team Valdarno0:00:54 
63Marta Vila Josana Andreu (Spa) Team Valdarno  
64Rachel Neylan (Aus) Australia  
65Janel Holcomb (USA) United States of America0:00:57 
66Monia Baccaille (Ita) Team Valdarno  
67Amber Neben (USA) United States of America0:01:07 
68Luise Keller (Ger) HTC Columbia Women  
69Lauren Kitchen (Aus) Australia  
70Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Noris Cycling  
71Alexis Rhodes (Aus) Australia  
72Tania Belvederesi (Ita) Team Valdarno0:01:29 
73Carly Light (Aus) Australia0:01:40 
74Dani King (GBr) Great Britain0:03:58 
75Vera Koedooder (Ned)0:07:15 
76Sigrid Kuizenga (Ned) Rennersclub Jan van Arckel  
77Karin Aune (Swe) Fenixs - Petrogradets  
78Marte Lenferink (Ned) Merida Cycling Team  
79Annelies Van Doorslaer (Bel) Lotto Ladies Team  
80Nina Kessler (Ned)  
81Leah Kirchmann (Can) Canada  
82Elise Van Hage (Ned)  
83Megan Guarnier (USA) TIBCO - To the Top  
84Amy Pieters (Ned) Merida Cycling Team  
85Robyn De Groot (RSA) MTN  
86Amy Herlinveaux (Can) Canada  
87Noortje De Kort (Ned) Restore Cycling Team  
88Devon Haskell (USA) TIBCO - To the Top  
89Jennifer Hohl (Swi) Noris Cycling  
90Bianca Van Den Hoek (Ned)  
91Aurore Verhoeven (Fra) Esgl 93 - Gsd Gestion  
92Kimberly Van Den Berg (Ned)  
93Wilma Korevaar (Ned) Rennersclub Jan van Arckel  
94Anne De Wildt (Ned)  
95Kristine Saastad (Nor) Hitec Products Uck  
96Tone Hatteland (Nor) Hitec Products Uck  
97Dorleta Zorrilla Braceras (Spa) Bizkaia - Durango  
98Marielle Kerste (Ned) Restore Cycling Team  
99Linn Torp (Nor) Fenixs - Petrogradets  
100Aafke Eshuis (Ned) Swabo Ladies Cyclingteam  
101Trine Schmidt (Den) MTN  
102Marissa Van Der Merwe (RSA) MTN  
103Bridie O'donnell (Aus) Team Valdarno  
104Eyelien Bekkering (Ned) Dolmans Landscaping  
105Corine Hierckens (Bel) Fenixs - Petrogradets0:07:19 
106Esra Tromp (Ned) Batavus Cycling  
107Denise Ramsden (Can) Canada  
108Elena Berlato (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi0:07:24 
109Valentina Carretta (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi  
110Silvia Valsecchi (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi  
111Stephanie Pohl (Ger) Noris Cycling  
112Latoya Brulee (Bel) Redsun Cycling Team  
113Jana Schemmer (Ger) Germany  
114Marlen Jöhrend (Ger) Noris Cycling  
115Angela Hennig (Ger) Noris Cycling  
116Marieke Van Wanroij (Ned) Nederland Bloeit  
117Martina Ruzickova (Cze) S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox  
118Stéphanie Borchers (Ger) Germany  
119Josephine Groenveld (Ned)  
120Sophie De Boer (Ned) Merida Cycling Team  
121Marlijn Binnendijk (Ned)  
122Serena Mensa (Ita) S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox0:07:43 
Back to top