Van Aert's trip to Brittany pays off

World champion beats Venturini and Hermans

Wout van Aert (Cibel-Cebon) preferred to travel 600km and race the Cyclo-cross International de La Mézière race in Brittany on Sunday, but the trip was worth the effort, with the world champion taking a morale-boosting win and collecting a significant appearance fee.

Belgian media suggested Van Aert received a 20,000 Euro fee – double his usual amount, and flew to western France from Belgium to avoid the long drive. It was his third win of the season after struggling to match Mathieu van der Poel’s dominance in the more important races.

Van Aert warmed up on the rollers before his race and used his superior speed to quickly go clear of the pack. Keen to push himself just a week before the Belgian national championships, he raced hard for an hour, opening a two-minute lead on his rivals.

At the finish, Van Aert was already warming down on the rollers before Clement Venturini (AG2R-La Mondiale) beat Quinten Hermans (Telenet-Fidea) for second place.

“I attacked early because I wanted a hard race. I needed a hard race because the Belgian championships next week will be a hard race,” Van Aert said in French as he warmed down.

“It’s never easy to win, but my gap was big and that’s good.”


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Wout Van Aert (Bel) Cibel-Cebon1:05:20 
2Clement Venturini (Fra)0:01:47 
3Quinten Hermans (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions  
4Antoine Benoist (Fra) Team Chazal Canyon0:02:20 
5Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Steylaerts - 7770:02:39 
6Mickaël Crispin (Fra) Team Chazal Canyon0:02:41 
7Nicolas Cleppe (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:02:48 
8Vincent Baestaens (Bel)0:02:52 
9Clément Russo (Fra)  
10Steve Chainel (Fra) Team Chazal Canyon  
11Matthieu Boulo (Fra)0:03:01 
12Francis Mourey (Fra) S1Neo Connect Cycling Team0:03:05 
13Lucas Dubau (Fra)0:03:30 
14Simon Zahner (Swi)  
15Valentin Guillaud (Fra)0:04:23 
16David Menut (Fra)0:04:39 
17Lilian Calmejane (Fra)0:04:48 
18Emil Hekele (Cze)0:04:56 
19Joshua Dubau (Fra)0:05:36 
20Yan Gras (Fra) Team Chazal Canyon0:05:48 
21Joris Delbove (Fra) S1Neo Connect Cycling Team0:06:20 
22Sammy Cadot Roger (Fra)0:06:27 
23Almenzo Benoist (Fra)  
24Julien Roussel (Fra)0:06:46 
25Tony Periou (Fra)  
26Valentin Humbert (Fra) S1Neo Connect Cycling Team0:06:49 
27Arnold Jeannesson (Fra)  
28Thomas Gachignard (Fra)0:07:13 
29Mathieu Taburet (Fra)1 lap 
30Erwann Kerraud (Fra)1 lap 
31Elie Gesbert (Fra)1 lap 
32Thibault Valognes (Fra)1 lap 
33Florian Le Corre (Fra)2 laps 
34Guillaume Guilbaud (Fra)2 laps 
35Julien Leclercq (Fra)2 laps 
36Laudelino Plas (Fra) 2 laps
37Cyprien Gilles (Fra)2 laps 
38Garry Millburn (Aus)2 laps 
39Karol Michalski (Pol)2 laps 
40Lukáš Smola (Cze)2 laps 
41Théo Gueret (Fra)2 laps 
42Justin Mottier (Fra)2 laps 
43Paul Ourselin (Fra)2 laps 
44Erwann Denis (Fra) 2 laps
45Jean Michel Huby (Fra)2 laps 
46Steven Delprat (Fra)3 laps 
47Bastien Godefroy (Fra)3 laps 
48Romain Hardy (Fra)3 laps 
49Clement Alleno (Fra)3 laps 
50Julien Selvestrel (Fra)3 laps 
51Ferdinand Marion (Fra)  
52Clement Moquet (Fra)3 laps 
53Edwin De Wit (Bel)4 laps 
54Antoine Josso (Fra)4 laps 
55Camille Bouquet (Fra)4 laps 
56Gurvan Ollivier (Fra)5 laps 
57Kevin Le Guelvoud (Fra)5 laps 
DNFQuentin Navarro (Fra) S1Neo Connect Cycling Team  
DNFMaxime Bonsergent (Fra)  
DNFMatthieu Legrand (Fra)  
DNFSimon Lepoittevin Dubost (Fra)  

Related Articles

Back to top