Brenton Jones wins Australian national criterium title

Ward second, McCarthy third, Ewan a non-starter

Delko Marseille Provence sprinter Brenton Jones streaked to his first win at the Australian National Criterium Championships in Ballarat, Victoria, on Friday evening, getting the better of Team BridgeLane's Tristan Ward and Bora-Hansgrohe's Jay McCarthy in the bunch sprint.

Mitchelton-Scott's sole representative, Rob Stannard, was arguably the most active rider of the day, ending up in sixth place for his efforts, having forced himself into a number of breaks during the race over the same 40-lap, 44km distance as the elite women's race, won for the second year in a row by Rebecca Wiasak.

Just like in the women's race, as the laps ticked by, it looked more and more likely that things were going to end in a bunch sprint, with riders in ones, twos and threes splintering off the front only to be reeled back in a short time later.

EF Education First's Lachlan Morton was active on the front of the race with 14 laps to go, riding almost incognito in contrast to his team's usual fluorescent kits, which is yet to be unveiled for 2019.

There was still no sign of favourite Jones, who preferred to keep his powder dry in the relative safety of the bunch as the laps continued to be ticked off. With Lotto Soudal's Caleb Ewan opting not to start the race, in favour of putting all of his eggs into the road race basket on Sunday, Jones would have already been starting to fancy his chances.

But with four laps left, Stannard rocketed off the front, leaving the entire Team BridgeLane squad to give chase, initially appearing to set things up for their sprinter Neil Van Der Ploeg.

At the bell, BridgeLane still had numbers at the front, with the race strung out behind them. And it was Van Der Ploeg who opened the sprint coming out of the last corner, with Jones appearing for the first time in the mix, before powering through to take the win, with Ward – rather than Van Der Ploeg – taking second for BridgeLane, and McCarthy taking the final step on the podium.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Brenton Jones (Aus) Delko Marseille Provence1:01:13 
2Tristan Ward (Aus) Team BridgeLane  
3Jay Mccarthy (Aus) Bora Hansgrohe  
4Cameron Ivory (Aus) GPMStulz  
5Theodore Yates (Aus) Drapac Cannondale Holistic development team  
6Robert Stannard (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott  
7Ben Hill (Aus) Ljubljana Gusto Santic  
8Shannon Johnson (Aus)  
9Mathew Ross (Aus)  
10Chris Hamilton (Aus) Team Sunweb  
11Sam Welsford (Aus) Pro Racing Sunchine Coast  
12Jai Hindley (Aus) Team Sunweb  
13Todd Satchell (Aus)0:00:06 
14Nick Spratt (Aus) MTOSS Racing  
15Neil Van Der Ploeg (Aus) Team BridgeLane  
16Liam White (Aus) Drapac Cannondale Holistic development team  
17Lachlan Morton (Aus) EF Education First  
18Russell Gill (Aus) Oliver's Real Food Racing  
19Daniel Bucknall (Aus)  
20Jonathan Clarke (Aus)  
21David Randall (Aus) Butterfields - Appselec p/b Van Daam Racing  
22Dominik Dudkiewicz (Aus)  
23Alex Holden (Aus) Subaru - Anchor Point Racing Team  
24Cyrus Monk (Aus) EvoPro Racing0:00:13 
25Aaron Watts (Aus) GPMStulz  
26Toby Stewart (Aus) Phoenix cycling collective  
27Adam Lloyd (Aus) MTOSS Racing  
28Cameron Layton (Aus) Futuro - Maxxis Pro Cycling presented by Velo Gita  
29Guy Kalma (Aus)  
30Leigh Howard (Aus) Pro Racing Sunshine Coast0:00:15 
31Tom Chapman (Aus)  
32Nathan Booth (Aus) Phoenix Cycling Collective  
33Dylan Newbery (Aus) Futuro - Maxxis Pro Cycling presented by Velo Gita  
34Samuel Volkers (Aus) Memil Pro Cycling  
35Joel Walsh (Aus) GPMStulz  
36Harrison Bailey (Aus) GPMStulz  
37Jarrod Currie (Aus)  
38Brendan Johnston (Aus)0:00:19 
39Ayden Toovey (Aus) Team BridgeLane0:00:22 
40Patrick Burt (Aus) Drapac Cannondale Holistic development team  
41Thomas Kaesler (Aus) Drapac Cannondale Holistic development team0:00:25 
42Jesse Featonby (Aus) Oliver's Real Food Racing  
43Michael Storer (Aus) Team Sunweb0:00:38 
44Lionel Mawditt (Aus) Team BridgeLane0:00:41 
45Scott Bowden (Aus) Team BridgeLane  
46Chris Harper (Aus) Team BridgeLane  
47Riley Field (Aus)  
48Cameron Roberts (Aus) GPMStulz  
49Ryan Cavanagh (Aus) St. George Continental Cycling Team0:00:47 
50Julian Thomson (Aus) GPMStulz0:00:48 
51Jason Lea (Aus) Team BridgeLane  
52Aden Reynolds (Aus) GPMStulz  
53Lachlan Glasspool (Aus)  
54Toby Orchard (Aus) Pro Racing Sunshine Coast0:00:52 
55Jacob Warman (Aus)0:01:15 
56Ashley Mackay (Aus) Pro Racing Sunshine Coast0:01:54 
57Dylan Sunderland (Aus) Team BridgeLane  
58Jonathon Noble (Aus) Pro Racing Sunshine Coast  
59Nathan Elliott (Aus) Inform TM Insight MAKE0:02:39 
DNFBenjamin Van Dam (Aus) Team BridgeLane  
DNFKarl Michelin-Beard (Aus) Oliver's Real Food Racing  
DNFOliver Martin (Aus) Drapac Cannondale Holistic development team  
DNFThomas Coates (Aus) Futuro - Maxxis Pro Cycling presented by Velo Gita  
DNFMichael Bettany (Aus) Futuro - Maxxis Pro Cycling presented by Velo Gita  
DNFTasman Nankervis (Aus) GPMStulz  
DNFSamuel Hill (Aus) Team Nero Bianchi  
DNFAlex Kinnane (Aus)  
DNFMatk Seddon (Aus)  
DNFNaish Chapman (Aus)  
DNFDaniel Taylor (Aus)  
DNFJade Maddern (Aus)  
DNSCaleb Ewan (Aus) Lotto Soudal  
DNSRyan Thomas (Aus) Drapac Cannondale Holistic development team  
DNSAden Reynolds (Aus) GPMStulz  
DNSDaniel Bonello (Aus) St. George Cycling Club Team  
DNSMatthias Kiernan (Aus)  
DNSBraeden Dean (Aus)  

Related Articles

Back to top