TechPowered By

More tech

October 15, Elite Men: Irvine

Trebon wins 'Cross after Dark ahead of Berden

Cycling News
October 16, 2011, 16:22 BST,
October 16, 2011, 17:28 BST

Wells races to third place finish

Ryan Trebon (LTS/Felt) won the 'Cross after dark ahead of Ben Berden (Ops Ale - Stoemper) and Todd Wells (Specialized) on Saturday night.

It looked like Trebon (LTS/Felt) was going to take the hole shot, but Brian Lopes (Oakley/Ibis) shot his way up and snuck on the inside of Trebon through the first corner. It was an impressive start with Lopes third row call-up, and he remained on the front leading out the field through the first half of lap one.

Then Trebon took over and a group of three instantly broke away up front. It was Berden and Allen Krughoff (Boulder Cycle Sport) with him. By lap two, Wells had worked his way to the front group and they all seemed to be exchanging the work up front.

Krughoff dropped his chain and another mistake cost him his place in the front group as he slipped back. Chris Jones (Rapha Focus) never made it on the front group, but he caught Krughoff and the two battled until there were three laps to go. Jones fell over on a tricky little climb that popped back into the wet grassy field and it was there that Krughoff made his move to open enough of a gap to hold of Jones and finish fourth, for his best race of the season, and Jones fifth.

Up front, the battle continued but Wells fell off the group to finish third and the race up front came down to a sprint between Berden and Trebon. It was an exciting finish as Trebon grabbed another win.

Sunday, will be a repeat of more of the same action with some minor changes to the course, the warm California sun, and no wet evening dew all which will definitely make things faster for day two.

Race notes

- The Hidden Valley Ranch location has hosted many races over the years but this was its last show as land developers have future plans for the area.

- With this in mind, race promoter Dorothy Wong wanted to make the Spooky Cross event historic and put together the best night race this venue has seen. The course held a mixture of everything. From the start riders began through long fast turns, into a hair pin barrier section, then back on the gas and out of the main in-field to the back of the park for the long deep sand pit that troubled riders all night. On the way back in the course was fast until the tricky off-camber right turn that threw riders into the hay literally. Then it was onto the flyover and back into the main venue for a few more twisty turns, stairs, and more.

Full Results

Elite men
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Ryan Trebon (USA) LTS/Felt 1:03:53  
2 Ben Berden (Bel) Ops Ale - Stoemper 0:00:00  
3 Todd Wells (USA) Specialized 0:00:16  
4 Allen Krughoff (USA) Boulder Cycle Sport 0:00:50  
5 Christopher Jones (USA) Rapha Focus 0:01:03  
6 Cody Kaiser (USA) Cal Giant Cycling Team 0:01:07  
7 Brian Lopes (USA) Oakley/ibis 0:01:12  
8 Ryan Knapp (USA) Bob's Red Mill Cyclocross 0:01:13  
9 Kevin Noiles (Can) Sportique 0:01:13  
10 Joachim Parbo (Den) Leopard Cycles 0:01:51  
11 Aaron Schooler (Can) Team H&R Block - Sri Importing 0:02:12  
12 Brandon Gritters (USA) Rock N' Road Cyclery 0:02:24  
13 Kyle Gritters (USA) Rock n Road Cyclery 0:02:57  
14 Tobin Orenbland (USA) California Giant Cycling/ California Giant 0:02:57  
15 Chris Jackson (USA) Team Rambuski Law 0:02:58  
16 Gary Douvillle (USA) SDG/Felt p.b. IRT Wheels 0:02:58  
17 John Behrens (USA) Bailey Bikes 0:03:03  
18 Brennan Wodtli (USA) Hutch's Bicycles All Access Promotions 0:03:31  
19 Jason Siegle (USA) SDG/Felt p.b. IRT Wheels 0:03:40  
20 Scott Chapin (USA) Bay101/HRS/Rocklobster 0:03:40  
21 Brent Prenzlow (USA) Celo Pacific / Focus 0:03:44  
22 Donny Carroll (USA) Donny's Cafe / 0:04:10  
23 Aaron Bradford (USA) Bay101/HRS/RockLobster 0:04:20  
24 David Forkner (USA) SDG Felt p/b IRT Wheels 0:04:25  
25 Kolby Preble (USA) Clif Bar Development Cyclocross Team 0:04:39  
26 Travis Woodruff (USA) Trek Store Boulder 0:04:43  
27 Abe Rotstein (USA) Team Bicycle Trip/Symantec 0:04:46  
28 David Mcneal (USA) Birmingham Bicycle Company 0:05:09  
29 Eric Colton (USA) The TEAM SoCalCross 0:05:25  
30 Jake Wells (USA) Stan'sNoTubes 0:05:28  
31 John Bailey (USA) Bailey Bikes 0:05:37  
32 Frederick Bottger (USA) SDG/Felt pb IRT 0:05:58  
33 Scott Tietzel (USA) Peaks To Plains Racing 0:06:02  
-1lap Ben Bertiger (USA) The TEAM SoCalCross    
-1lap David Sheek (USA) SDG Felt p/b IRT Wheels    
-2laps Gerry Cody (USA) Cynergy Cycles    
-2laps Ted Willard (USA) SDG/Felt p.b. IRT Wheels    
-2laps Derek Yarra (USA) IBIS/Buy-Cell    
-2laps Dana Weber (USA) Jax Bicycle Center    
-2laps Blake Anton (USA) Team Clif Bar    
-2laps Jay Kwan (USA) The TEAM SoCalCross    
-3laps Garnet Vertican (USA) Giant    
-3laps Alexander Vaugh-Ruiz (USA) The TEAM SoCalCross    
-4laps Ben Warren (USA) Virginia Polytechnic University    
DNF Morgan Ryan (USA) VRC, NOW-MS Society    
DNS Matthew Mcgee (USA) 2Cross Racing/Bikes +