Cort Nielsen wins Clasica de Almeria

Danish rider takes bunch sprint in Spanish one-day race

Orica-Scott's Magnus Cort Nielsen scored his second victory of the new season Sunday at the Clasica de Almeria, out-kicking Bora-Hansgrohe's Rüdiger Selig and Lotto Soudal's Jens Debusschere to take the bunch-sprint finale after 191km of racing. Cort's win follows on his victory earlier this month during stage 3 at the Volta a Valencia.

"It is a really great feeling to win again," Cort said. "It was a long race and the team were fantastic in the finale. I couldn’t have asked for a better lead out, and I am really happy that I could finish it off."

A three-rider breakaway animated the early going in the Spanish one-day race, building a lead of seven minutes before the chase started cutting into their advantage with abut 60km remaining. The bunch made the catch with 20km to go, and the pace lifted dramatically as the sprinters' teams began jockeying for position over two finishing circuits in Roquetas de Mar.

Christopher Juul Jensen and Sam Bewley led the Orica-Scott train at the front of the peloton with less than 10km to go, fighting for control with Direct Energie and Lotto Soudal. Jens Keukeleire, Matt Hayman and finally Luka Mezgec delivered Cort into position to finish off the sprint and take the win.

"The boys were outstanding today," said Orica-Scott Director Laurenzo Lapage. "Everyone was involved. We knew beforehand that we would have to work on the finishing circuits and the team took control beautifully.

"Once the breakaway came back we stuck to our plan religiously," Lapage said. "Magnus is full of confidence after a great start to the season with his win last week in Valencia and you could see that with the way he finished it off today.

"At the halfway point we decided how we would like to approach the finish and it’s very satisfying to see the guys not only execute the race plan, but execute it perfectly and come away with the win," Lapage said. "It bodes well for the rest of the season, that’s for sure."

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Magnus Cort Nielsen (Den) Orica-Scott4:31:22 
2Rüdiger Selig (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe  
3Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
4Carlos Barbero Cuesta (Spa) Movistar Team  
5Amaury Capiot (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
6Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Katusha-Alpecin  
7Maciej Paterski (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
8Daniel Lopez Parada (Spa) Burgos-BH  
9Raymond Kreder (Ned) Roompot - Nederlandse Loterij  
10Jonas Van Genechten (Bel) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
11Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
12Roman Maikin (Rus) Gazprom – Rusvelo  
13Luka Pibernik (Slo) Bahrain-Merida  
14Jan Tratnik (Slo) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
15Angelo Tulik (Fra) Direct Energie  
16Kevin Deltombe (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
17Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) Veranda's Willems Crelan  
18Dylan Page (Swi) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
19Pieter Vanspeybrouck (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
20Julen Irizar Laskurain (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias  
21Yoann Offredo (Fra) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
22Jasha Sütterlin (Ger) Movistar Team  
23Leszek Plucinski (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
24Silvio Herklotz (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe  
25Kirill Sveshnikov (Rus) Gazprom – Rusvelo  
26Michaël Van Staeyen (Bel) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
27Maxime Farazijn (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
28Luka Mezgec (Slo) Orica-Scott  
29Tim Ariesen (Ned) Roompot - Nederlandse Loterij  
30Mark Mcnally (GBr) Wanty - Groupe Gobert0:00:09 
31Dries De Bondt (Bel) Veranda's Willems Crelan  
32Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:00:11 
33Igor Boev (Rus) Gazprom – Rusvelo0:00:13 
34Michael Goolaerts (Bel) Veranda's Willems Crelan0:00:15 
35Beñat Txoperena Matxikote (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias0:00:20 
36Diego Rubio Hernandez (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
37Jorge Arcas Peña (Spa) Movistar Team0:00:22 
38Thomas Boudat (Fra) Direct Energie0:00:27 
39Etienne Van Empel (Ned) Roompot - Nederlandse Loterij0:00:34 
40Elmar Reinders (Ned) Roompot - Nederlandse Loterij  
41Florian Senechal (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
42Christoph Pfingsten (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe0:00:40 
43Michael Schwarzmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe  
44Mathew Hayman (Aus) Orica-Scott0:00:46 
45Kevin Van Melsen (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert0:00:47 
46David Per (Slo) Bahrain-Merida  
47Joan Ruiz Vicens (Spa) Burgos-BH  
48Adrian Gonzalez Velasco (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias  
49Sergey Firsanov (Rus) Gazprom – Rusvelo  
50Simon Špilak (Slo) Katusha-Alpecin  
51Jérôme Baugnies (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
52Lukasz Owsian (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
53Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
54Robert Kišerlovski (Cro) Katusha-Alpecin  
55Evgeny Shalunov (Rus) Gazprom – Rusvelo  
56Marco Mathis (Ger) Katusha-Alpecin  
57Jhonatan Restrepo Valencia (Col) Katusha-Alpecin  
58Oscar Riesebeek (Ned) Roompot - Nederlandse Loterij  
59Cesare Benedetti (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe  
60Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal  
61Ruben Pols (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise0:01:18 
62Piotr Brozyna (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
63Igor Merino Kortazar (Spa) Burgos-BH  
64Rayane Bouhanni (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
65Marcin Mrozek (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
66Javier Moreno Bazan (Spa) Bahrain-Merida  
67Ruben Fernandez Andujar (Spa) Movistar Team  
68Felix Grossschartner (Aut) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
69Paul Ourselin (Fra) Direct Energie  
70Tosh van der Sande (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
71Gorka Izagirre Insausti (Spa) Movistar Team  
72Jon Izaguirre Insausti (Spa) Bahrain-Merida  
73Jens Wallays (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
74Mikel Bizkarra Etxegibel (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias  
75Timothy Dupont (Bel) Veranda's Willems Crelan  
76Marcos Jurado Rodriguez (Spa) Burgos-BH  
77Domen Novak (Slo) Bahrain-Merida  
78Berden De Vries (Ned) Roompot - Nederlandse Loterij  
79Jon Irisarri Rincon (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
80Sam Bewley (NZl) Orica-Scott  
81Eliot Lietaer (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
82Ander Barrenetxea Uriarte (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias  
83Jelle Wallays (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
84Antonio Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida  
85Josu Zabala Lopez (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
86Marc Soler Gimenez (Spa) Movistar Team  
87Justin Oien (USA) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
88Maxim Belkov (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin  
89Alexander Foliforov (Rus) Gazprom – Rusvelo  
90Dmitriy Kozontchuk (Rus) Gazprom – Rusvelo  
91Gaetan Bille (Bel) Veranda's Willems Crelan  
92Stef Van Zummeren (Bel) Veranda's Willems Crelan  
93Kenneth Van Rooy (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
94Ángel Vicioso Arcos (Spa) Katusha-Alpecin  
95Antonio Pedrero Lopez (Spa) Movistar Team  
96Christopher Juul Jensen (Den) Orica-Scott  
97Jeroen Meijers (Ned) Roompot - Nederlandse Loterij  
98Jerome Cousin (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:01:57 
99Romain Guillemois (Fra) Direct Energie  
100Jens Keukeleire (Bel) Orica-Scott0:02:49 
101Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
102Pascal Ackermann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe0:03:02 
103Romain Cardis (Fra) Direct Energie0:03:15 
104Adrien Petit (Fra) Direct Energie  
105Bryan Coquard (Fra) Direct Energie  
106Cyril Lemoine (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:07:48 
107Alvaro Robredo Crespo (Spa) Burgos-BH0:12:24 
108Christopher Butler (USA) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
109Yoann Bagot (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:18:38 
DNFMatteo Pelucchi (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe  
DNFFrederik Frison (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
DNFIon Ander Insausti Irastorza (Spa) Bahrain-Merida  
DNFAlexander Aranburu Deva (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
DNFGarikoitz Bravo Oiarbide (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias  
DNFImanol Estevez Salas (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country - Murias  
DNFElias Van Breussegem (Bel) Veranda's Willems Crelan  
DNFRaul Castrillo Sedano (Spa) Burgos-BH  
DNFJorge Cubero Galvez (Spa) Burgos-BH  

Related Articles

Back to top