British women's road race: Trott becomes national champion

King second, Armitstead third

Laura Trott (Wiggle Honda) won the British national women's road race on Sunday, beating her teammate Dani King (Wiggle Honda) into second while defending champion Lizzie Armitstead (Boels Dolmans) finished third. Sharon Laws (United Healthcare) took fourth.

Armitstead held a small 10 second lead inside the final five kilometres of racing on the finishing circuit in Abergavenny, Wales, but was chased down by the Wiggle Honda pair in the closing stages.

"It’s such an amazing feeling, it’s up there with winning a world championships for me," Trott told British Cycling at the finish of the 101 kilometre race.

"I was really disappointed (after Thursday's time-trial), I felt I had a lot more form than what the time suggested and I know the course didn’t suit me with the hill at the finish but I don’t understand why my time wasn’t good enough.”

"So to come here today, I was so, so up for it. I woke up this morning and I was like ‘don’t even speak to me’. It was really early, I was so in the zone, I just wanted to get out and get it done."

Armitstead, who has had a successful European road season to date, was at her aggressive best during the race, attacking several times in a bid to shake up a strong-looking women’s field. She held a 17 second lead on the final finishing lap and briefly looked on course to defend the title she won twelve months ago.

However strength in numbers proved to be key for the chase and primarily the Wiggle Honda team, with Trott and King eventually made contact with the lone leader, before working her over in the sprint.

"I'm disappointed. I had my normal issue of wanting to take the race on, so on every incline I gave it a go”, Armitstead told British Cycling.
"I didn't want to take it to a sprint; for me, that was more of a risk than going solo. It was just a shame that Emma Pooley chased me down on the penultimate lap, that was a bit annoying, but what can you do?”


Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Laura Trott (Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling)2:44:56 
2Danielle King (Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling)  
3Elizabeth Armitstead (Boels - Dolmans Cycling Team)  
4Emma Pooley (Lotto Belisol Ladies)0:00:04 
5Sharon Laws (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Women’s Team)0:00:06 
6Katie Archibald0:01:12 
7Sarah Storey0:01:35 
8Elinor Barker (Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling)0:01:37 
9Hannah Barnes (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Women’s Team)0:05:35 
10Nicola Juniper0:05:36 
11Jessie Walker (Matrix Racing Academy)  
12Gemma Neill  
13Nikki Harris0:05:41 
14Anna Christian0:05:48 
15Eileen Roe0:06:13 
16Amy Roberts (Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling)  
17Joanna Rowsell (Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling)0:06:14 
18Lucy Coldwell0:06:17 
19Louise Mahe0:06:18 
20Hannah Walker  
21Annabel Fisher  
22Charlene Joiner0:06:19 
23Lauryn Therin0:06:20 
24Penny Rowson (Matrix Racing Academy)  
25Lucy Garner (Team Giant-Shimano)  
26Anne Ewing  
27Alice Cobb  
28Alexie Shaw  
29Jane Barr0:06:21 
30Rebecca Womersley  
31Laura Greenhalgh  
32Lowri Devey  
33Emma Grant (Team TIBCO - To The Top)0:06:22 
34Julie Erskine  
35Kate Oliver Tamina0:06:24 
36Danielle Christmas  
37Elizabeth Malins0:06:27 
38Laura Massey0:06:28 
39Rebecca Rimmington0:06:29 
40Jo Tindley (Matrix Racing Academy)0:06:30 
41Maryka Sennema0:06:31 
42Corinne Hall (Matrix Racing Academy)0:06:32 
43Joanne Blakeley0:08:59 
DNFCassie Mcgoldrick  
DNFLucy Chittenden  
DNFVictoria Grimmer  
DNFJennifer Hudson  
DNFEmily Barnes  
DNFEve Dixon  
DNFJennifer Taylor  
DNFTanya Griffiths  
DNFDelia Beddis  
DNFHelen Ralston  
DNFLouise Borthwick (Matrix Racing Academy)  
DNFHelen Mckay  
DNFChloe Weller  
DNFGabriella Shaw  
DNFNatalie Grinczer  
DNFNicole Oh  
DNFKarina Bowie  
DNFMelissa Brand  
DNFGeorge Schwiening  
DNFGillian Taylor  
DNFKaren Poole  
DNFLaura Wasley  
DNFAnn Bowditch  
DNFMolly Weaver  
DNFEmily Kay  
DNFSuzetta Guerrini  
DNFChloe Fraser  
DNFSarah Odell  
DNFBoddy Karla  
DNFJennifer George  
DNFHayley Jones  
DNSRebecca Nixon  
DNSEmma Rata  
DNSMathilde Pauls  
DNSAmy Hill  
DNSMarina Bleasdale  
DNSJoanna Watts  
DNSCiara Horne  
DNSHayley Simmonds  
DNSKatie Curtis  
DNSClaire Thomas  
DNSAbigail van Twisk  
DNSHannah Payton  
DNSElla Hopkins  
Back to top