Pooley regains British time trial title

Emma Pooley (Lotto-Belisol) stormed to victory in the women’s time trial at the British National Championships in Monmouthshire.

The former world time trial champion beat Pearl Izumi teammates Katie Archibold and, six-time Paralympic cycling champion, Sarah Storey. The title is the third for Pooley, who completed the 21-kilometre course in a time of 30:18. Defending champion Joanna Rowsell was unable to repeat the performance of 12 months ago and finished 6th, 1:23 behind Pooley.

"It was a really tough course, but it was a great one," a very happy Pooley told Cyclingnews at the finish – although, not before she made sure to text her mum the result first.

"I wasn’t too happy, because it started raining just as I was coming to the finish and it was a bit slippy. I think that climb at the end really suited me. Although I think that I would have come under a lot of criticism if I hadn’t done well."

The early starters got a clean run to the line, with the skies holding out. Lucy Coldwell set the early pace, with a time of 31:43. The Velosport-Pasta Montegrappa rider enjoyed almost half an hour in the hot-seat before track world champion Elinor Barker took a whopping 21 seconds out of her time.

Pooley was one of the last riders to roll down the starting ramp at the picturesque Celtic Manor in Monmouthshire. Pooley’s small frame and climbing abilities suited the lumpy course and made her a clear favourite from the start.

News that probably her toughest rival Lizzie Armitstead would not race made victory for the Lotto-Belisol rider almost a certainty. It wasn’t as straightforward as that. The 31-year-old still had to tackle the very technical course, which brought the riders along several steep and twisting descents that were ready to catch out anyone.

Pooley’s run began under clear skies, but as the finish line came into sight the heaven broke and the rain came down. Despite that, Pooley smashed Barker’s benchmark by more than a minute. Archibald and Storey followed her home, but were unable to better her time.

Defending champion Rowsell got the worst of the weather and still had to tackle the steep final climb into the manor’s grounds as the rain became harder. It was always going to be tough for the track rider to retain her title on such a tough course, and she won’t be too displeased with sixth.

Full results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Emma Pooley (GBr) Lotto-Belisol Ladies0:30:18
2Katie Archibald (GBr) Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International0:00:39
3Dame Sarah Storey (GBr) Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International0:00:51
4Elinor Barker (GBr) Wiggle Honda0:01:04
5Laura Trott (GBr) Wiggle Honda0:01:09
6Joanna Rowsell (GBr) Wiggle Honda0:01:23
7Lucy Coldwell (GBr) Velosport - Pasta Montegrappa0:01:25
8Danielle King (GBr) Wiggle Honda0:02:10
9Emily Robertson (GBr) CC Luton0:02:48
10Claire Galloway (GBr) Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International0:02:53
11Anna Christian (GBr) Epic Cycles - Scott WRT0:02:55
12Amy Roberts (GBr) Wiggle Honda0:03:01
13Maryka Sennema (GBr) Kingston Whls CC0:03:33
14Suzetta Guerrini (GBr) Boom Cycle CC0:03:40
15Elizabeth Malins (GBr) Fusion RT Gearclub Bike Science0:03:41
16Rebecca Rimmington (GBr) Merlin Cycles0:03:43
17Gabriella Shaw (GBr) Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International0:03:55
18Joanne Blakeley (GBr) GB Cycles .co.uk0:04:15
19Tamina Oliver (GBr) Endura Lady Force - WV Zeeuws Vla0:04:20
20Alice Cobb (GBr) Squadra Donne0:04:31
21Laura Wasley (GBr) Fusion RT Gearclub Bike Science0:04:42
22Karen Poole (GBr) GB Cycles.co.uk0:05:01
23Karina Bowie (GBr) GVC Edmond De Rothschild0:05:21
24Ann Bowditch (GBr) GVC Edmond De RothschildRow 23 - Cell 2
25Eleanor Jones (GBr) VC St Raphael0:05:29
26Helen McKay (GBr) Look Mum No Hands!0:05:38
27Emily Kay (GBr) Epic Cycles - Scott WRT0:05:53
28Elanor Cadzow (GBr) Bonito Squadra Corse0:06:10
29Marina Bleasdale (GBr) Guernsey Velo Club0:06:25
30Stephanie Post (GBr) Cardiff Ajax0:06:43
31Faye Faber (GBr) BC PM0:07:16
32Zoe Betteridge (GBr) North Devon Wheelers - South Fork0:07:52
33Louise Burnie (GBr) Loughborough Students CC0:07:55
34Adel Tyson-Bloor (GBr) Team Mulebar Girl - Sigma Sport0:08:07
35Sophie Lankford (GBr) Team WNT0:08:33

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1