Paterson wins Bonelli Park Pro XCT

Batty finishes in second ahead of Davison in third

Under clear blue Southern California skies, Xterra World Champion Lesley Paterson (Scott Bicycles) surprised the competition as she powered to a victory in the elite women's cross country race at the Bonelli Park Pro XCT on Saturday in San Dimas.

US Cup promoters changed up this year's cross country course, adding in climbing and new off camber sections on the five kilometer circuit. Most of the pro riders commented that the new layout was challenging and had a nice World Cup feel to it with its short punchy climbs and frequent rhythm changes.

Paterson, who came into the race as somewhat of an "X" factor left cross country World Cup racers and Olympians Emily Batty (Trek), Lea Davison (Specialized) and Annie Last (Trek) scratching their heads. Chloe Woodruff (Crank Bros.) put in a solid ride and landed in fourth on a women's podium that was loaded with credentials.

On the first lap, Batty, Davison and Last managed to open up a gap over the field, and it looked like the battle would be between these three cross country regulars. Meanwhile, Patterson was buried mid-pack after starting on the back row.

However, Patterson didn't seem to get the memo that these were North America's best female cross country racers, and the "Scottish rocket" bridged the gap to the lead trio on lap 2 of 5.

From there, a game of mouse ensued, and the four women tested one another. Then going into lap 3, Patterson began to apply the pressure and drove the pace, with only Batty able to respond.

Patterson kept the pressure on and slowly put distance between herself and Batty, extending her lead to over 20 seconds by the time she came across the finish line on the fifth and final lap.

Next in was Batty, followed by Davison, Woodruff and finally Last, nearly five minutes in the rear.

Full Results

Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lesley Paterson (USA) Scott Bikes1:25:28 
2Emily Batty (Can) Trek Factory Racing0:00:20 
3Lea Davison (USA) Specialized Racing0:01:43 
4Chloe Woodruff (USA) Crankbrothers Race0:04:45 
5Annie Last (GBr) Trek Factory Racing0:05:45 
6Erin Huck (USA) Tokyo Joes0:07:26 
7Judy Freeman (USA) Crankbrothers Race0:08:23 
8Erica Tingey (USA)0:08:33 
9Christina Gokey-Smith (USA) Colonels/Shoair0:08:50 
10Nina Baum (USA) Stans No Tubes Women0:10:01 
11Larissa Fitchett (USA) Lost Coast Brewery0:10:43 
12Rebecca Gross (USA) Tough Girl/Scott0:11:34 
13Krista Park (USA)0:11:35 
14Shayna Powless (USA) Bmc0:12:21 
15Karlee Gendron (Can) Trek Canada Mountain0:15:05 
16Kata Skaggs (USA)0:16:10 
17Amy Beisel (USA) Griggs Orthopedics0:18:15 
-1lapDeidre York (USA) The Gear Movement  
-2lapsAnna Dvorak (USA) Bear Valley Bikes  
-2lapsBeth Utley (USA) Oro Valley Bicycle  
-3lapsVanessa Humic (USA) Stans No Tubes/Kenda  
DNSJamie Busch (USA) Quadzilla Racing  
DSQErin Alders (USA) Liv/Giant  


Back to top