Pow-pow-Powers sweeps Ohio triple

Cannondale rider challenged by Trebon in finale

Jeremy Powers (Cyclocrossworld- Cannondale) dominated once again at the Cincinnati UCI3 Cyclocross Festival’s final round, the Harbin Park presented by Biowheels and United Dairy Farmers. The course at Harbin Park was changed significantly from last year, and it was a favorite of many racers.

While the Women’s race ran to the standard script, the men’s race didn’t, even though the winner remained the same. Troy Wells (Clif Bar) took the hole-shot and gapped the field.

Powers, Ryan Trebon (Kona), Barry Wicks (Kona) and Joachim Parbo (CCV Leopard Cycles) formed the main chase group, though they were only a few metres behind the leader. Powers was the first to join Wells.

Trebon bridged the gap to Powers, who was now leading as Wells was paying the price for his enormous effort at the beginning of the race. That left Wicks and Parbo battling, at first for fourth, and then for third place as they caught Wells. Trebon drove the pace, but couldn’t shake Powers.

As they came into the final lap, Powers knew what he had to do. “I remember the finish from last year and there was a tight 180 before the straight,” he said. “I knew it was absolutely critical to be leading through there, so I railed it as hard as I could. I could feel the front tire flexing over, so I was basically on the rim, and so was Ryan.”

Trebon’s account confirms Power’s strategy. “I bobbled a little in that turn around the tree and Jeremy didn’t. He got a gap that that was it.”

Behind them, Wicks had disposed of Wells and Parbo to finish third. In the bunch sprint for the final points positions, Ryan Knapp (BikeReg.com) touched wheels with Greg Wittwer (Alan North America). Knapp crashed hard just metres from the finish line, breaking his collarbone. Determined to put on a final effort, Knapp rose after a few minutes and crossed the line with his bike to finish 11th, the same place he was in when he crashed. It was, unfortunately, a bad day for collarbones, as at least three were broken in crashes on completely different parts of the course.

Full results
1Jeremy Powers (USA) Cannondale/CycloCrossWorld.com0:54:06 
2Ryan Trebon (USA) Kona0:00:04 
3Barry Wicks (USA) Kona0:02:17 
4Troy Wells (USA) Clif Bar0:02:46 
5Joachim Parbo (Den) CCV Leopard Cycles0:03:07 
6Brian Matter (USA) Gear Grinder0:03:15 
7Marko Lalonde (USA) Planet Bike0:03:20 
8Andrew Wulfkuhle (USA) C3-Athletes Serving Athletes0:03:48 
9Greg Wittwer (USA) Alan North America Cycling Team0:03:49 
10Tom Burke (USA) Specialized Bikes, Michigan0:03:50 
11Ryan Knapp (USA) Bikereg.com0:05:02 
12Nathan Wyatt (USA) Carolina Fatz pb Santa Cruz Bicycles0:05:07 
13Mitchell Kersting (USA) Bob's Red Mill/Rocky Mountain0:05:12 
14Travis Livermon (USA) Champion System/Cannondale0:05:17 
15Stephen Cummings (USA) Indiana Regional Medical Center0:05:34 
16Bryan Fawley (USA) Hudz-Subaru0:06:16 
17Ben Popper (USA) HRS/Rock Lobster0:06:33 
18Ryan Leach (USA)0:06:42 
19David Weaver (USA) Alan North America Cycling Team0:06:52 
20Andrew Reardon (USA) Starbrite Carwash/MOAB0:06:58 
21Molly Cameron (USA) Portland Bicycle Studio0:10:42 
22Eric Wondergem (USA) Hup United  
23Mike Purvis (USA) WORKitOUT/KHS  
24Robert Kendall (USA) Barbasol  
25Noah Metzler (USA) VO2 Sports Elite Mafia Cyclocross Team  
26Andrew Messer (USA) DRT Racing  
27Zachary Edwards (USA) DRT Racing  
28Matthew Weeks (USA)  
29Brandon Jessop (USA) Boulder Cycle Sport  
30Tyler Hawes (USA)  
31Jacob Virostko (USA) Biowheels/Reece-Campbell Racing  
32Dustin Greer (USA) Ohio Vally Velo/Maxxis  
33Joshua Whitmore (USA) VO2 Sports Elite Mafia Cyclocross Team  
34Ryan O'Conner (USA) Carlos Obriens Racing  
Back to top