Minard gets the big cheese in Paris-Camembert

Cofidis rider outpaces Mederel to win from two-man move

Sébastien Minard (Cofidis) claimed his biggest win to date in the Paris-Camembert today. The 27-year-old's only other victory came in his first professional year with a stage of the Tour de l'Avenir.

Minard topped his breakaway companion Maxime Médérel (BigMat-Auber 93), in the process protecting his teammate Leonardo Duque's lead in the Coupe de France series.

"I was told that I could win the Paris-Camembert, but it was my first time in the race. I do not know much about the course, it was only when I found myself in the break that I requested information from Bernard [Quilfen, director]," Minard told AFP.

Minard and Médérel were part of a 20-man breakaway which was nearly 10 minutes ahead of the peloton coming into the finale. Minard was the only one to follow the BigMat rider when he attacked after the mur de Champeaux.

"There was a hesitation at the top and then Méderel attacked, so I followed," Minard said. It helped that all eyes were on Duque, who not only was looking to defend his Coupe de France position but was also one of the fastest sprinters in the bunch.

But Minard had another bit of strategy, feigning fatigue after finishing Paris-Roubaix on Sunday.

"In the hills I was wary of Nicolas Roche, which is quite explosive. In the sprint, I knew that Max (Méderel) was not very fast. I wanted to do what it takes. This victory, I've been waiting so long! The team has had an outstanding season."

The win was Cofidis' 14th of the season.

Laurent Mangel (Saur-Sojasun) and Anthony Roux (Française des Jeux) slipped away to take third and fourth, while Duque won the sprint from the rest of the bunch to take fifth and keep his lead in the Coupe de France.

Full Results
1Sébastien Minard (Fra) Cofidis le crédit en ligne4:38:18 
2Maxime Mederel (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
3Laurent Mangel (Fra) Saur - Sojasun0:00:24 
4Anthony Roux (Fra) Française des jeux  
5Leonardo Duque (Col) Cofidis le crédit en ligne0:00:34 
6Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne  
7Lilian Jegou (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
8Freddy Bichot (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom  
9Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
10Jean-Marc Bideau (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
11Romain Hardy (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
12Guillaume Levarlet (Fra) Saur - Sojasun  
13Renaud Dion (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
14Dimitri Champion (Fra) AG2R - La mondiale  
15Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Française des jeux  
16Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Saur - Sojasun  
17Franck Bouyer (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom  
18Christophe Moreau (Fra) Caisse d'Epargne  
19Nicolas Roche (Irl) AG2R - La mondiale  
20Sébastien Duret (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller0:00:37 
21Robin Chaigneau (Ned) Skil - Shimano0:09:45 
22Mathieu Drujon (Fra) Caisse d'Epargne  
23Grégory Joseph (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
24Nadir Haddou (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
25Pierrick Fédrigo (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom  
26Christophe Riblon (Fra) AG2R - La mondiale  
27Pieter Vanspeybrouck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
28Guillaume Faucon (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
29Rene Mandri (Est) AG2R - La mondiale  
30Robert Retschke (Ger) Continental Cycling Team Differdange  
31Sébastien Harbonnier (Fra) Continental Cycling Team Differdange  
32Jérémy Roy (Fra) Française des jeux  
33Romain Lemarchand (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
34Stéphane Augé (Fra) Cofidis le crédit en ligne  
35Alexandre Lemair (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
36Matthieu Boulo (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
37Stijn Neirynck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
38Anthony Charteau (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom  
39Julien Loubet (Fra) AG2R - La mondiale  
40Julien Simon (Fra) Saur - Sojasun  
41Benoit Vaugrenard (Fra) Française des jeux  
42Imanol Erviti Ollo (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne  
43Steve Houanard (Fra) Skil - Shimano  
44Mickaël Buffaz (Fra) Cofidis le crédit en ligne  
45Alexandre Pichot (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom  
46Laurent Lefèvre (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom  
47Stijn Joseph (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
48Nico Schneider (Ger) Continental Cycling Team Differdange  
49Julien Mazet (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
50Jempy Drucker (Lux) Continental Cycling Team Differdange  
51Niels Brouzes (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
52Jean-Marc Marino (Fra) Saur - Sojasun  
53Mathieu Sprick (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom  
54Luis Pasamontes (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne  
55Jocelyn Bar (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
56Anthony Geslin (Fra) Française des jeux  
57Sandy Casar (Fra) Française des jeux  
58Remi Cusin (Fra) Cofidis le crédit en ligne  
59Kristof Vandewalle (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
60Yannick Talabardon (Fra) Saur - Sojasun  
61Morten Knudsen (Den) Continental Cycling Team Differdange  
62Floris Goesinnen (Ned) Skil - Shimano  
63Johan Mombaerts (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93  
64Nicolas Vogondy (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom  
65Florian Guillou (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
66Damien Monier (Fra) Cofidis le crédit en ligne  
67John Gadret (Fra) AG2R - La mondiale  
68Jasper Verberckmoes (Bel) Team Worldofbike.gr  
69Cyril Bessy (Fra) Saur - Sojasun  
70Dimitri Le Boulch (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 930:09:54 
71Stefan Cohnen (Ned) Continental Cycling Team Differdange0:10:09 
DNFRobert Wagner (Ger) Skil - Shimano  
DNFMathieu Perget (Fra) Caisse d'Epargne  
DNFIoannis Mariolas (Gre) Team Worldofbike.gr  
DNFMitchell Boet (Bel) Team Worldofbike.gr  
DNFJan Hopman (Ned) Team Worldofbike.gr  
DNFAlexander Labbe (Bel) Team Worldofbike.gr  
DNFCyril Dessel (Fra) AG2R - La mondiale  
DNFMorgan Kneisky (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFTom Veelers (Ned) Skil - Shimano  
DNFMitchell Docker (Aus) Skil - Shimano  
DNFAngel Madrazo Ruiz (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne  
DNFRoy Curvers (Ned) Skil - Shimano  
DNFArnaud Coyot (Fra) Caisse d'Epargne  
DNFGaël Malacarne (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
DNFFlorian Vachon (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller  
DNFEduardo Gonzalo Ramirez (Spa) Bretagne - Schuller  
DNFTim Mertens (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
DNFGeert Steurs (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
DNFKevin Ista (Bel) Cofidis le crédit en ligne  
DNFSamuel Dumoulin (Fra) Cofidis le crédit en ligne  
DNFVytautas Kaupas (Ltu) Continental Cycling Team Differdange  
DNFClément Lhotellerie (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFBenoît Daeninck (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFCédric Pineau (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNSAnthony Tricarico (Bel) Team Worldofbike.gr  
DNSJérémie Galland (Fra) Saur - Sojasun  
DNSWesley Sulzberger (Aus) Française des jeux  


Back to top