Cantwell out-paces international competition

Sutton second in seven-man sprint

Jonathan Cantwell’s amazing run of success on the Australian road cycling circuit continued with a hair’s width victory in today’s Preface to the 2009 Jayco Herald Sun Tour in Ballarat.

The 27-year-old Queenslander has now won the opening stage of the last four Australian stage races. His last minute dash for the line gave him the tiniest of margins over Garmin Slipstream’s Chris Sutton, but it was enough to secure him the honour of wearing the yellow jersey on tomorrow’s opening stage.

“I went with 100 metres to go. It was full on up hill and with a cross wind so I couldn’t go any earlier’, a clearly elated Cantwell said after the win. “I’ve won every opening stage of all the tours in Australia I’ve ridden in this season, so I couldn’t be happier.

“We had a gut feeling the break was going to go today, so it was important we were there, and in the end we had three guys in it,” he said. “We came here to make a race out of the first one and the guys rode awesomely.”

It was a clearly a satisfactory outcome for Fly V Australia team boss, Henk Vogels who earlier in the day had issued orders to his squad to ride only for Cantwell.

“I am very proud. They do everything I ask them to do - it just keeps rolling along, “ Vogels said.

He also had some special praise for Cantwell, who he described as a character and a real scallywag, saying the winner of the 2009 tours of Atlanta and the Murray Valley had learned a lot this year.

Cantwell, Sutton and the eventual third-place getter, Gene Bates (Drapac Porsche) were part of an 18 man break that dominated the race from lap 10 of the 20 2.2km laps round Ballarat’s main street.

The group opened up as much as a 52 second gap over the peloton but managed to remain intact as a bunch until the last 200 metres of the final climb up Sturt Street.

Sutton, who has the chance to be part of the first father/son combination to win Australia’s oldest stage cycling race, said during the presentations that he was beaten by a better bike rider on he day.

“I know I was second. The team did everything we could but just got beat.”

Bates was similarly complimentary, including Sutton in his praise.

“I tried to kick and hold the wheel, but they were both to good for me.”


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jonathan Cantwell (Aus) Fly V Australia1:05:29 
2Chris Sutton (Aus) Garmin-Slipstream  
3Gene Bates (Aus) Drapac Porsche  
4Michael Matthews (Aus) Jayco AIS  
5Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) LeTua  
6David Tanner (Aus) Rock Racing  
7Michael England (Aus) Budget Forklifts  
8Ricardo Van Der Velde (Ned) Garmin-Slipstream0:00:06 
9Darren Lapthorne (Aus) Rapha Condor  
10Kiel Reijnen (USA) Jelly Belly  
11Bernard Sulzberger (Aus) Fly V Australia  
12Svein Tuft (Can) Garmin-Slipstream0:00:11 
13Richard Lang (Aus) Budget Forklifts0:00:13 
14Ben Jacques-Maynes (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling0:00:17 
15Philip Zajicek (Aus) Fly V Australia  
16Richie Porte (Aus) Jayco Australia National  
17Stuart Shaw (Aus) Drapac Porsche0:00:25 
18Matthew Wilson (Aus) Jayco Australia National  
19Jason Rigg (Aus) Praties0:01:24 
20Rohan Dennis (Aus) Jayco AIS0:01:34 
21William Clarke (Aus) Praties  
22Alex Howes (USA) Garmin-Slipstream  
23Takumi Beppu (Jpn) Aisan  
24Lars Pria (Rom) LeTua  
25Jeremy Yates (NZl) LeTua  
26Mitchell Docker (Aus) Jayco Australia National  
27Nick Aitken (Aus) Jayco Australia National  
28Bernard Van Ulden (USA) Jelly Belly  
29Jonny Clarke (Aus) Jelly Belly  
30Frank Pipp (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling  
31Masahiro Shinagawa (Jpn) Aisan  
32Tom Peterson (USA) Garmin-Slipstream  
33Peter Latham (NZl) Bissell Pro Cycling  
34Joe Lewis (Aus) Drapac Porsche  
35Joel Pearson (Aus) Savings & Loans  
36Taiji Nishitani (Jpn) Aisan  
37Trent Lowe (Aus) Garmin-Slipstream  
38Aaron Kemps (Aus) Rock Racing  
39Cameron Jennings (Aus) Budget Forklifts  
40Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Garmin-Slipstream  
41Malcolm Rudolph (Aus) Budget Forklifts  
42Darren Rolfe (Aus) Fly V Australia  
43Leigh Howard (Aus) Jayco AIS  
44Simon Richardson (GBr) Rapha Condor0:02:18 
44Kristian House (GBr) Rapha Condor  
46Jeremy Vennell (NZl) Bissell Pro Cycling  
47Paul Mach (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling0:03:02 
48John Anderson (Aus) Budget Forklifts  
49Mitchell Pearson (Aus) Prime Estate  
50Lachlan Norris (Aus) Prime Estate  
DNFPatrick Shaw (Aus) Jayco Australia National  
DNFRhys Pollock (Aus) Drapac Porsche  
DNFAndrew Roe (Aus) Savings & Loans  
DNFWilliam Dickeson (Aus) Savings & Loans  
DNFStephen Cunningham (Aus) Savings & Loans  
DNFPeter Ladd (Aus) Budget Forklifts  
DNFBlair Windsor (Aus) Budget Forklifts  
DNFTom Southam (GBr) Rapha Condor  
DNFBen Greenwood (GBr) Rapha Condor  
DNFDean Downing (GBr) Rapha Condor  
DNFMathew Cronshaw (GBr) Rapha Condor  
DNFBenjamin Day (Aus) Fly V Australia  
DNFBenjamin King (Aus) Fly V Australia  
DNFDavid Kemp (Aus) Fly V Australia  
DNFKazuhiro Mori (Jpn) Aisan  
DNFTakeaki Ayabe (Jpn) Aisan  
DNFKenichi Suzuki (Jpn) Aisan  
DNFMitsuhiro Matsumura (Jpn) Aisan  
DNFDavid Mccann (Irl) Prime Estate  
DNFJohn Cornish (Aus) Prime Estate  
DNFBrett Tivers (NZl) Prime Estate  
DNFLuke Fetch (Aus) Prime Estate  
DNFPeter Smith (Aus) Prime Estate  
DNFNic Sanderson (Aus) Rock Racing  
DNFIvan Dominguez (USA) Rock Racing  
DNFJustin Williams (USA) Rock Racing  
DNFNathan Earle (Aus) Praties  
DNFJoshua Chugg (Aus) Praties  
DNFBenjamin Grenda (Aus) Praties  
DNFDylan Newell (Aus) Praties  
DNFKyle Marwood (Aus) Praties  
DNFThomas Nankervis (Aus) Jayco Australia National  
DNFZak Dempster (Aus) Drapac Porsche  
DNFDean Windsor (Aus) Drapac Porsche  
DNFPeter Mcdonald (Aus) Drapac Porsche  
DNFHerz Serge (Ger) LeTua  
DNFJi Wen Low (Sin) LeTua  
DNFMohd Hafiz Rozli (Mas) LeTua  
DNFAdrian Why Kit Chuah (Mas) LeTua  
DNFOmer Kem (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling  
DNFCody O'reilly (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling  
DNFBrad Huff (USA) Jelly Belly  
DNFWil Routley (Can) Jelly Belly  
DNFMatthew Rice (Aus) Jelly Belly  
DNFMathew Crane (USA) Jelly Belly  
DNFAdam Semple (Aus) Jayco AIS  
DNFGlenn O'shea (Aus) Jayco AIS  
DNFJai Crawford (Aus) Savings & Loans  
DNFTim Roe (Aus) Savings & Loans  
DNFDavid Pell (Aus) Savings & Loans  
DNFSean Sullivan (Aus) Jayco Australia National  
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jonathan Cantwell (Aus) Fly V Australia10 pts
2Chris Sutton (Aus) Garmin-Slipstream8 
3Gene Bates (Aus) Drapac Porsche6 
1Chris Sutton (Aus) Garmin-Slipstream6 
2Matthew Wilson (Aus) Jayco Australia National4 
3Gene Bates (Aus) Drapac Porsche2 
1Michael Matthews (Aus) Jayco AIS6 
2Matthew Wilson (Aus) Jayco Australia National4 
3Michael England (Aus) Budget Forklifts2 


Back to top