Riccò takes Coppa Sabatini

Marcato and Bertagnolli complete podium

Riccardo Riccò (Vacansoleil) took victory at the Coppa Sabatini after a battle between the Vacansoleil and ISD-Neri teams on the finishing circuit in Peccioli. Riccò outsprinted his teammate Marco Marcato and Leonardo Bertagnolli (Androni) for the win, while a tired Giovanni Visconti (ISD-Neri) came home in fourth.

Riccò’s success offered an uneasy reminder of the polemics that have engulfed Italian cycling in recent days. Anti-doping prosecutor Ettore Torri’s assertion that doping is widespread in the sport sparked huge debate earlier in the week and the controversial Riccò’s victory comes just a week after it was reported that anti-doping police had raided his Modena home.

The early part of the race was dominated by a four-man breakaway made up of Alessandro Proni (Acqua & Sapone), Leonardo Pinizzotto (Miche), Davide Bonuccelli (CDC) and Federico Canutti (Colnago-CSF). The quartet gained a maximum advantage of 3:50 before being swept up in the final 40km.

Oscar Pujol (Cervélo) and Johnny Hoogerland (Vacansoleil) were among the riders who attempted to escape in the closing stages but the peloton remained together. Italian champion Visconti was very active on the front in the final kilometres as he forced the pace on the front without managing to break clear.

The effects of Visconti’s journey back from the world championships in Australia were ultimately telling, however, and he was unable to make an impact in the finishing sprint. Instead, it was left to Riccò to take his first win for Vacansoleil by comfortably distancing his teammate Marcato in the closing metres, while Bertagnolli held on for third ahead of a flagging Visconti. 

Full Results
1Riccardo Riccò (Ita) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team4:18:15 
2Marco Marcato (Ita) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team  
3Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
4Giovanni Visconti (Ita) ISD - Neri  
5Staf Scheirlinckx (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
6Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
7Davide Appollonio (Ita) Cervélo TestTeam  
8Alexandre Botcharov (Rus) Team Katusha  
9Simone Stortoni (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
10Alessandro Bertolini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
11Jurgen Van Goolen (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
12Walt De Winter (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto0:00:09 
13Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox0:00:10 
14Luis Angel Mate Mardones (Spa) Androni Giocattoli  
15Andrea Masciarelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
16Patrik Sinkewitz (Ger) ISD - Neri  
17Daniele Callegarin (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere  
18Mikhail Antonov (Rus) Team Katusha  
19Christophe Brandt (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
20Volodymir Gustov (Ukr) Cervélo TestTeam  
21Luca Solari (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
22Francesco Failli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
23Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Team Katusha0:00:24 
24Francesco Tizza (Ita) Carmiooro NGC  
25Luciano Barindelli (Ita) Carmiooro NGC  
26Oleg Berdos (Mda) De Rosa - Stac Plastic  
27Alexander Mironov (Rus) Team Katusha  
28Pasquale Muto (Ita) Miche  
29Alessandro Proni (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
30Nikita Eskov (Rus) Team Katusha  
31Matthew Lloyd (Aus) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
32Ruggero Marzoli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
33Luca Zanasca (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere  
34Jure Golcer (Slo) De Rosa - Stac Plastic  
35Xavier Tondo Volpini (Spa) Cervélo TestTeam  
36Alessandro Donati (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
37Manuel Belletti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
38Massimo Codol (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
39Emanuele Sella (Ita) Carmiooro NGC0:01:31 
40Johnny Hoogerland (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team  
41Alberto Ongarato (Ita) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team  
42Marco Frapporti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
43Aristide Ratti (Ita) Carmiooro NGC0:02:13 
44Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Team Katusha  
45Tom Stubbe (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
46Stefan Schumacher (Ger) Miche0:02:25 
47Sergio Lagana (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic  
48Eugenio Loria (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere  
49Vladimir Miholjevic (Cro) Acqua & Sapone  
50Fabrice Piemontesi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
51Francesco Di Paolo (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
52Elia Favilli (Ita) ISD - Neri  
53Arnoud Van Groen (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team  
54Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Miche  
55Sebastien Fournet Fayard (Fra) Carmiooro NGC  
56Claudio Cucinotta (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic  
57Evgeny Petrov (Rus) Team Katusha  
58Marcel Wyss (Swi) Cervélo TestTeam  
59Oscar Pujol Munoz (Spa) Cervélo TestTeam  
60Leopoldo Rocchetti (Ita) Miche  

Related Articles

Back to top