Van Aert dominates sandy Zilvermeercross in Mol

Wout Van Aert (Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace) dominated the sandy Zilvermeercross in Mol, Belgium, on Saturday. The fight for second place came down to a dual between world champion Mathieu van der Poel (BKCP-Corendon) and Laurens Sweeck (Era Real Estate-Muprotec), with van der Poel taking second.

Van Aert and van der Poel separated themselves from a front group of 12 riders on the third lap, and they were later joined by Sweeck. Riders eventually caught up with Sven Nys, Rob Peeters and Tom Meeusen among the front riders. None were strong enough to contend Van Aert's pace and he pulled away to take the win.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Wout Van Aert (Bel) Vastgoedservice-Golden Pa...1:03:32
2Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) BKCP-Corendon0:00:20
3Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Cibel0:00:27
4Sven Nys (Bel) Crelan - AA-Drink0:00:35
5Rob Peeters (Bel) Vastgoedservice-Golden Pa...Row 4 - Cell 2
6Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet-Fidea0:00:58
7Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin0:01:34
8David Van Der Poel (Ned) BKCP-Corendon0:01:48
9Daan Hoeyberghs (Bel) BKCP-Corendon0:01:53
10Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP-Corendon0:02:17
11Diether Sweeck (Bel) Cibel0:02:28
12Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games0:02:31
13Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Vastgoedservice-Golden Pa...0:03:24
14Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Crelan - AA-Drink0:03:50
15Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) Colba-Superano Ham0:03:59
16Yannick Peeters (Bel) Vastgoedservice-Golden Pa...0:04:20
17Jens Adams (Bel) Vastgoedservice-Golden Pa...0:04:26
18Stijn Caluwe (Bel) Enertherm-BCKP0:04:51
19Dave De Cleyn (Bel) Cycling Team Zemst VZW0:05:12
20Vinnie Braet (Bel) Colba-Superano Ham0:05:31
21Kevin Cant (Bel) Cibel0:06:35
22Jelle Schuermans (Bel) Vastgoedservice-Golden Pa...Row 21 - Cell 2
23Hendrik Sweeck (Bel) CibelRow 22 - Cell 2
24Niels Koyen (Bel) Bike Experience Cycling T...Row 23 - Cell 2
25Gert Smets (Bel) Cycling Team 99 VZW Schri...Row 24 - Cell 2
26Michael Van Den Ham (Can) CanadaRow 25 - Cell 2
27Onno Verheyen (Bel) Cycling Team Zemst VZWRow 26 - Cell 2
28Quincy Vens (Bel) Colba-Superano HamRow 27 - Cell 2
29Yelle Leaerts (Bel) Cycling Team Zemst VZWRow 28 - Cell 2
30Garry Millburn (Aus) AustraliaRow 29 - Cell 2
31Dario Kloeck (Bel) Cycling Team 99 VZW Schri...Row 30 - Cell 2
32Martin Eriksson (Swe) SwedenRow 31 - Cell 2
33Curtis White (USA) Optum-Kelly Benefit Strat...Row 32 - Cell 2
34Dario Tielen (Bel) IndividualRow 33 - Cell 2
35Siebe Lievens (Bel) Zannata Cycling TeamRow 34 - Cell 2
36Gerrit Henrich (Ger) GermanyRow 35 - Cell 2
37Sean Dunlea (Gbr) Great BritainRow 36 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews