Nationals close with five more national titles awarded

The final five national titles were awarded in Trexlertown on Sunday as the 2010 USA Cycling Juniors Track National Championships came to a close. Champions were crowned in the men’s and women’s 17-18 team sprints, the Madison, and the men’s and women’s 15-16 overall omniums.

The first of three team competitions featured on the final day of racing was the men’s team sprint in which Benjamin Swedberg (Rad Racing), Jesse Marans (Major Motion Cycling Club), and Matthew Baranoski (Team Alliance Environmental) rode to the podium’s top step. The threesome of Colt Peterson, Charles Martin (IS Corp Cycling Team), and Cory Williams (Major Motion Cycling Club) had the silver medal ride while Daniel Farinha (San Jose Bicycle Club), Kenny Strickland (San Jose Bicycle Club), and Ryan Gadow (San Jose Bicycle Club) put forth the bronze medal effort.

The women’s team sprint saw the duo of Shelbe Eck and Madalyn Godby ride into Stars-and-Stripes jerseys while Christine Barron (VRC) and Tara McCormick (Helens-Cannondale) grabbed the silver medal. The bronze medals went to Ruth Winder (Peanut Butter & Co TWENTY 12) and Coryn Rivera (Peanut Butter & Co TWENTY 12)

The men’s Madison provided plenty of excitement with Jesse Marans (Major Motion Cycling Club) and Benjamin Swedberg (Rad Racing) taking top honors. Colt Peterson and Daniel Farinha (San Jose Bicycle Club) rode to the silver medal while Danny Hiller and Matthew Baranoski (Team Alliance Environmental) took the bronze.

In addition to the team events that took place on Sunday, national champions were crowned in the men’s and women’s 15-16 omniums as riders in that age group wrapped up their competition with the points race.

Jennifer Valente (GS Adams Avenue Bicycles) solidified her overall lead with a win in the points race over silver and bronze medalists Tara McCormick (Helens Cannondale) and Nadia Latzgo (Team Line-LWA). Valente slipped into the Stars-and-Stripes jersey as the omnium winner after collecting the most points over four days of racing in her age category. Grabbing second place in the omnium was McCormick while Kaitlyn Lawrence (Team Vortex) secured the bronze medal.

In the men’s 15-16 points race, Michael Dessau (Team Holowesko Partners) bested second- and third-place finishers Zachary Carlson (Matrix RBM) and Gregory Ratzell (Bike Lin-LWA). Then, at the end of the day, it was Caleb Koch (IS Corp Cycling Team) to be named national champion after collecting the most points in the overall omnium. He stood on the podium’s top step, taking the national championship over second- and third-ranked Michael Dessau and Greg Ratzell.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Junior Men 17-18 Team Sprint
1Benjamin Swedberg
Row 1 - Cell 0 Jesse Marans
Row 2 - Cell 0 Matthew Baranoski
2Colt Peterson
Row 4 - Cell 0 Charles (Chazz) Martin
Row 5 - Cell 0 Cory Williams
3Daniel Farinha
Row 7 - Cell 0 Kenny Strickland
Row 8 - Cell 0 Ryan Gadow
4Patrick Bastianelli
Row 10 - Cell 0 Kevin McGuire
Row 11 - Cell 0 Benjamin Salibra
5Royce Strange
Row 13 - Cell 0 Imari Miller
Row 14 - Cell 0 Noah Williams
6Daniel Kosykh
Row 16 - Cell 0 Cam Mancuso
Row 17 - Cell 0 Max Thilen
7Daniel Parks
Row 19 - Cell 0 Grahmm Smith
Row 20 - Cell 0 Zachary Carlson
8Thomson Remo
Row 22 - Cell 0 Samuel Geyer
Row 23 - Cell 0 Vincent Juarez
9Maxwell Robb
Row 25 - Cell 0 Connor Williams
Row 26 - Cell 0 Evan Wynn
10Benjamin Lambert
Row 28 - Cell 0 Cesar Lopez
Row 29 - Cell 0 Alex Lehmann
11Grayson Brookshire
11James Brookshire
11Calum Dodson
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Junior Women 17-18 Team Sprint
1Shelbe Eck
Row 1 - Cell 0 Madalyn Godby
2Christine Barron
Row 3 - Cell 0 Tara McCormick
3Ruth Winder
Row 5 - Cell 0 Coryn Rivera
4Stephanie Torres
Row 7 - Cell 0 Elizabeth Engwis
5Melissa Garcia
Row 9 - Cell 0 Bailey Semian
6Sophie Mittelstadt
Row 11 - Cell 0 Victoria Gates
DSQErin Popovich
DSQPayton Thomas
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Junior Men Madison
1Jesse Marans
Row 1 - Cell 0 Benjamin Swedberg
2Colt Peterson
Row 3 - Cell 0 Daniel Farinha
3Danny Hiller
Row 5 - Cell 0 Matthew Baranoski
4John Tomlinson
Row 7 - Cell 0 Collin Berry
5Nicholas Roeder
Row 9 - Cell 0 Zachary Semian
6Zack Noonan
Row 11 - Cell 0 Juan Carmona
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Junior Women 15-16 Points Race
1Jennifer Valente
2Tara McCormick
3Nadia Latzgo
4Kaitlyn Lawrence
5Bailey Semian
6Melissa Garcia
7Chloe Chepigin
8Karla Lopez
DNSChristina Koeppe
DNFAriana Cruz
DNFAbbey Smich
DNFOlivia Wright
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Junior Women 15-16 Omnium
1Jennifer Valente (GS Avenue Bicycles)
2Tara McCormick (Helens Cannondale)
3Kaitlyn Lawrence (Team Vortex)
4Melissa Garcia (Team Alliance Environmental)
5Nadia Latzgo (Team Line-LWA)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Junior Men 15-16 Points Race
1Michael Dessau
2Zachary Carlson
3Gregory Ratzell
4Calan Farley
5Daniel Kosykh
6Cesar Lopez
7Conor Klupar
8Christopher Meacham
9Zack Gould
10Lionel Rocheleau
11Bobby Unverzagt
12Noah Williams
13Grahmm Smith
14Kaleb Koch
15Imari Miller
16Tyler Nothstein
17William Lenkeit
18Jonathan Bright
19Jack MacClarence
20Max Thilen
21Anthony Novoa
22Alexander Riva
DNFAnthony Freeman
DNFErnesto Santiesteban
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Junior Men 15-16 Omnium
1Caleb Koch (IS Corp Cycling Team)
2Michael Dessau (Team Holoweso Partners)
3Greg Ratzell (Bike Line-LWA)
4Daniel Kosykh
5Zachary Carlson (Matrix-RBM)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews