Gwin repeats as national champion

Men's Downhill Podium

Men's Downhill Podium (Image credit: Dave McElwaine/

Defending downhill national champion Aaron Gwin (Yeti Fox Factory) kept his stars and stripes for another year when he won the elite men's final in Granby, Colorado, on Sunday afternoon. In the last event of the championships, Gwin, who also qualified fastest, defeated Duncan Riffle (DRR / Giantnerd) and John Swanguen (Intnese/Troy Lee).

"My run was good," said Gwin, who is a regular on the World Cup circuit. "I made one major mistake right before the big jumps and lost all of my speed and freaked myself out. The course was more of a sprint than a World Cup. It was shorter and there was nowhere for a break."

Gwin had helped prepare himself for racing at altitude by spending time at elevation prior to the big day.

Second-year pro Swanguen noted how the track had deteriorated from qualifying in the morning until the final in the afternoon. "There were lots of loose rocks kicked out in the trail, but overall, the track was good."

Cody Warren (Specialized), who had held the hot spot as 11 more riders went - until Swanguen took it from him - was fourth while Geritt Beytagh (Morewood Bikes USA) finished fifth.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite men
1Aaron Gwin (Yeti Fox Factory)0:02:12
2Duncan Riffle (DRR / Giantnerd)0:00:02
3John Swanguen (Intnese/Troy Lee)0:00:04
4Cody Warren (Specialized)0:00:05
5Geritt Beytagh (Morewood Bikes USA)0:00:05
5Joey Schusler (Yeti Fox National)Row 5 - Cell 2
7Luke Strobel (Maxxis / Rocky Mountain)0:00:06
8Kyle Strait (Specialized)0:00:06
9Michael Sylvestri (Santa Cruz Allride)0:00:06
10Curtis Keene (Specialized / Sram)0:00:07
11Scott Papola0:00:07
12Shaun Palmer (Intense/SRAM/Monster)0:00:08
13Cole Bangert (Sram / Specialized)0:00:10
14Mark Clemens0:00:11
15Jason Memmelaar0:00:11
16Will Collins (Jett MTB)0:00:11
17Kain Leonard (Crested Butte)0:00:12
18Mike Kreger (Sol Vista Bike Park)0:00:12
19Ryan Sutton (Me)0:00:12
20Sean Mcclendon (X-Fusion/Intense)0:00:12
21Chris Boice (Yeti Fox National)0:00:13
22Jon Wilson (Northstar/Giant)0:00:13
23Kyle Thomas (Factory Transition)0:00:13
24Logan Binggeli (KHS Bicycles)0:00:13
25Cody Wilderman (Yeti Fox Regional)0:00:14
26Brian Buell (Team Geronimo)0:00:14
27Richard Houseman (Intense)0:00:14
28David Klaassenvanoorschot (ODI Southridge)0:00:14
29Jess Pedersen (Brothers Bikes)0:00:15
30Keith Mott0:00:15
31Alfonso Garcia (Cannondale)0:00:15
32Caleb Cambern (Transition Factory)0:00:15
33Phillip Wiering0:00:16
34John Keep (The Bike Works)0:00:16
35Deider Barrick (Mafia Racing)0:00:16
36Matthew Russell (CBMST/Road 34/Mavic)0:00:16
37Kayman Benetti (Go Pro Camera)0:00:17
38Philip Wheeler (Team Sol Vista)0:00:17
39Thomas Tokarczyk (Jamis Bikes)0:00:17
40Billy Delacroix (Orbit Racing)0:00:17
41Ben Furbee (WTB / Fox / Baywood)0:00:17
42James McNeill (The Path)0:00:19
43Andrew Templin (Canfield)0:00:19
44Trevor Hallenbeck (Mojo Wheels)0:00:19
45Szymon Kowalski (Mojo Wheels)0:00:19
46Ethan Quehl (2 WheelFreaks)0:00:19
47Steven Wentz (Team SolVista)0:00:19
48Nathaniel Hills (Wolf Rock Racing)0:00:20
49Daniel Goss (Yer Mom!)0:00:20
50Zachary Griffith (Zach Griffith)0:00:20
51James Hollibaugh (Mafia Racing)0:00:20
52Naish Ulmer (KHS / Spy Optics)0:00:20
53John Quick0:00:21
54John Hauer (X-Fusion/Intense)0:00:21
55Graeme Pitts (Kirt Voris All Ride)0:00:21
56TJ Fisker (Mafia Racing)0:00:22
57Christopher Canfield (Canfield Brothers)0:00:22
58Dante Harmony (All Mountain Cyclery)0:00:22
59Tyler Wilson (X-Fusion/Intense)0:00:23
60Amado Stachenfeld (All Ride Academy)0:00:23
61Blair Reed (Orbit Racing)0:00:23
62Andrew Cavaletto (Specialized / SVCS)0:00:25
63Evan Elliott (E13/Pedal the Peaks)0:00:26
64Brandon Turman (Mafia Racing)0:00:26
65Chris Heath (Manitou / Smith)0:00:26
66Lars Sternberg (Transition Bikes)0:00:27
67Joshua Hubbard0:00:27
68Preston Moore (Commencal)0:00:28
69Jonathan Widen (Factory LiveWire)0:00:28
70Nyle Schleeter (Dire Ride Co)0:00:29
71Benedict Treglia0:00:29
72Scott Mack (Singletrack Factory)0:00:30
73Brian Ballard (Mojo Wheels)0:00:31
74Doug Ewer (Team Sol Vista Racing)0:00:31
75Gavin Vaughan (Sinister Snowfire)0:00:32
76Wylie Robinson (Zeal Optics / 661)0:00:32
77Michael Haderer (Fox Shox/Orange Bike)0:00:33
78Ryan Kresich0:00:34
79Nick Zuzelski (Santa Cruz/Fox Shox)0:00:34
80Daniel Cortina (CR1 Engineering)0:00:35
81Matty Komar (Morewood Bike USA)0:00:35
82Alexander Mcguinnis (Team Krunk Shox)0:00:38
83Alex Boday (Santa Cruz)0:00:40
84Bradley Benedict (DRR/Giantnerd)0:00:47
85Michael Johnson (CBMP)0:00:47
86Evan Turpen (Santa Cruz Allride)0:01:14
87Michael Buell (Team Geronimo)0:02:16
88Nick Van Dine (Cannondale Factory)0:02:41
89Brad Oien (ODI Southridge)0:02:59
90Clifford Pinto (E13/Pedal The Peaks)0:03:20
91David Camp (Big Crank Racing)0:07:30
DNFMichael JohnsonRow 91 - Cell 2
DNFVince SanchezRow 92 - Cell 2
DNFMatthew Fisher (Mafia Racing/Trek)Row 93 - Cell 2
DNFDavid Ziegman (Yeti Fox Racing Team)Row 94 - Cell 2
DNFGene Hamilton ( 95 - Cell 2
DNFChristian Schloessman (Vitamin Water)Row 96 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Sue George is an editor at Cyclingnews.  She coordinates all of the site's mountain bike race coverage and assists with the road, 'cross and track coverage.

Latest on Cyclingnews