Van der Poel wins in Zeven

Mathieu van der Poel (Beobank-Corendon) won the fifth round of the Telenet UCI World Cup in Zeven on Saturday on a cold afternoon in northern Germany. Temperatures hovered around freezing point when the start was given and the 21-year-old needed some time to get going. He had a troubled opening lap but then crushed his rivals on the fast and twisting course. Van der Poel closed down an 18-second deficit on early leader Wout Van Aert (Crelan-Vastgoedservice), who then was unable to keep up with the Dutch champion.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van der Poel (Ned) Beobank-Corendon1:03:21
2Wout Van Aert (Bel) Crelan-Vastgoedservice0:00:21
3Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Marlux-Napoleon Games0:00:31
4Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:00:53
5Clement Venturini (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:01:08
6Laurens Sweeck (Bel) ERA-Circus0:01:24
7Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet Fidea Lions0:01:32
8Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Team Steylaerts0:01:38
9Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Marlux-Napoleon Games0:01:53
10Marcel Meisen (Ger) Steylaerts-Verona0:01:59
11Jens Adams (Bel) Crelan-Vastgoedservice0:02:00
12Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:02:02
13Tim Merlier (Bel) Crelan-Vastgoedservice0:02:03
14David Van der Poel (Ned) Beobank-CorendonRow 13 - Cell 2
15Jim Aernouts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:02:22
16Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Beobank-Corendon0:02:27
17Michael Boros (Cze) ERA-Circus0:02:28
18Diether Sweeck (Bel) ERA-Circus0:02:29
19Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) Marlux-Napoleon Games0:02:47
20Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Marlux-Napoleon Games0:02:56
21Sascha Weber (Ger)0:03:08
22Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) ERA-Circus0:03:09
23Marcel Wildhaber (Swi) Scott-Odlo Mtb Racing Team0:03:10
24Stan Godrie (Ned) Rabobank Development Team0:03:11
25Daan Soete (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:03:15
26Rob Peeters (Bel) Crelan-Vastgoedservice0:03:47
27Thijs Van Amerongen (Ned) Telenet Fidea Lions0:03:50
28Jan Nesvadba (Cze) Expres Cz-Merida Team Kolin0:03:54
29Simon Zahner (Swi)0:03:55
30Stephen Hyde (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com0:04:05
31Daan Hoeyberghs (Bel) Beobank-Corendon0:04:12
32Kevin Suarez Fernandez (Spa)0:04:14
33Matthieu Boulo (Fra)0:04:30
34Tomas Paprstka (Cze) Expres Cz-Merida Team Kolin0:04:41
35Severin Saegesser (Swi)0:04:45
36Martin Haring (Svk) Dukla Banska Bystrica0:04:55
37Patrick Van Leeuwen (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels0:04:58
38Radomir Simunek (Cze) Era Real Estate - Circus0:05:12
39Javier Ruiz De Larrinaga Ibanez (Spa)0:05:19
40Niels Wubben (Ned)Row 39 - Cell 2
41Alois Falenta (Fra)Row 40 - Cell 2
42Ivan Gicquiau (Fra)Row 41 - Cell 2
43Yannick Gruner (Ger)Row 42 - Cell 2
44Philipp Walsleben (Ger) Beobank-CorendonRow 43 - Cell 2
45Lorenzo Samparisi (Ita)Row 44 - Cell 2
46Kenneth Hansen (Den)Row 45 - Cell 2
47Jeremy Powers (USA) Aspire RacingRow 46 - Cell 2
48Vincent Dias Dos Santos (Lux)Row 47 - Cell 2
49Max Lindenau (Ger)Row 48 - Cell 2
50Gusty Bausch (Lux)Row 49 - Cell 2
51Emil Hekele (Cze)Row 50 - Cell 2
52Michal Malik (Cze)Row 51 - Cell 2
53Nicolas Samparisi (Ita)Row 52 - Cell 2
54Clement Bomme (Fra)Row 53 - Cell 2
55Scott Thiltges (Lux)Row 54 - Cell 2
56Lex Reichling (Lux)Row 55 - Cell 2
57Christian Helmig (Lux)Row 56 - Cell 2
58Ole Quast (Ger)Row 57 - Cell 2
59Wolfram Kurschat (Ger) Koch Engineering / Muesing Racing TeamRow 58 - Cell 2
60Marvin Schmidt (Ger)Row 59 - Cell 2
61Morten Laustsen (Den)Row 60 - Cell 2
62Pit Schlechter (Lux) Leopard Pro CyclingRow 61 - Cell 2
63Philipp Heigl (Aut)Row 62 - Cell 2
64Ingvar Omarsson (Isl)Row 63 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews