Daan Soete wins men's Trek CX Cup

Daan Soete (Belgium) wins Trek CX Cup
Daan Soete (Belgium) wins Trek CX Cup (Image credit: Jackie Tyson)

Daan Soete (Deschacht-Group Hens-Containers) won the elite men's C2 race at the Trek CX Cup on Friday in Waterloo, Wisconsin. The Belgian dropped all contenders after the first lap to win the 10-lap race with 39 seconds to spare over runner-up Thijs Aerts (Baloise Trek Lions). Closing at a fierce pace was third-place finisher Kerry Werner, who was four seconds behind Aerts.

“I was happy I put a water bottle on my bike. It was very warm especially when you are racing for a bit. I had a gap soon, but then I tried to extend it and take a little gas back," Soete said after the race. 

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1 Daan Soete (Deschacht-Group Hens-Containers) 1:02:33
2 Thijs Aerts (Baloise Trek Lions) 0:00:39
3 Kerry Werner (Kona Maxxis Shimano CX Team) 0:00:43
4 Tobin Ortenblad (Santa Cruz Bicycles) 0:00:47
5 Michael Van den Ham (Easton-Giant p/b Transitions Li) 0:00:57
6 Stephen Hyde (Steve Tilford Foundation Racing) 0:01:58
7 Lance Haidet (L39ION of Los Angeles 0:02:06
8 Scott Mcgill (Aevolo) 0:02:23
9 Scott Funston (Blue Competition Cycles p/b Bui) 0:02:59
10 Gosse Van der Meer (Bombtrack Bicycles) 0:03:11
11 Matt Leliveld (Hardwood NextWave) 0:03:31
12 Casey Hildebrandt (Donkey Label + Broken Spoke) 0:03:38
13 Brian Matter (Linear Sport Racing) 0:03:39
14 Mark Myles (Be Real Sports) 0:03:56
15 Jonathan Anderson (J moneyz factory racin) 0:04:40
16 Tommy Servetas (Comp Edge Racing) 0:04:46
17 Nicholas Lando (Comp Edge Racing) 0:04:59
18 Nicholas F Tabares (ASU Devo Pro CX) 0:05:06
19 Dillon McNeill (Trek Cyclocross Collective) 0:05:11
20 Finnegan O'Connor (Comp Edge Racing) 0:05:17
21 Luke Arens (Adapt Cycling) 0:05:49
22 Lief Rodgers (Giant Canada Off-Road Team) 0:05:55
23 Ryder Uetrecht (ASU Development ProCX) 0:06:14
24 Jacob Leblanc (Comp Edge Racing) 0:06:56
25 Andrew Giniat (The Pony Shop p/b KPMG)
26 Nick Carter (NorthStar Development)
27 Isaac Neff (Neff Cycle Service)
28 Brian West (Phoenix syndicate)
29 Josh Bauer (jiayoulife)
30 Matthew Riley (Linear Sport / Trek)
31 Seamus O'Connor-Walker (Donkey Label)
32 Owen Brenneman (CXHAIRS DEVO : TREK BIKES)
33 Jeremy Bloyd-Peshkin (The Pony Shop p/b KPMG)
34 Peter Swinand (The Pony Shop p/b KPMG)
35 Dakota Olsen (Olathe Subaru)
36 Thomas Fuller (Lindenwood University)
37 Felipe Timoteo Nystrom Spencer (Costa Rica)
38 Nicholas Lemke (KUHL Cycling Team)
39 Nathan Knowles (ASU Development ProCX)
40 Jesse Rients (KUHL Cycling Team)
41 Jamie Williams (Marian University)
42 Orion Child (Velo Childeric)
43 Yannick Mayer (SRAM Germany Schweinfurt)
44 Luke Feuerhelm (KCCX Elite Cyclocross Team)
45 Henry McAlvanah (Trek Cyclocross Colletive)
46 Tyler Reynolds (Trek Cyclocross Collective)
47 Owen Rogers (Lindenwood University)
DNF Marcel Meisen (Alpecin - Fenix)
DNF Andrew Strohmeyer (CX Hairs Devo: Trek Bikes)
DNS Ben Frederick (ORNOT/TheSmallMonstersProject/R)
DNS Sam Noel (Competitive Edge Racing)
DNS Joseph Schmalz (Steve Tilford Foundation Racing)
DNS Daxton Mock (Trek Cyclocross Collective)
DNS Ian Lopez de san Roman (Bear National / WCX)
DNS Drew Bublitz (Avout Racing)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1