Tour of Flanders Women 2020 - Preview

OUDENAARDE BELGIUM APRIL 07 Podium Annemiek Van Vleuten of The Netherlands and Team MitcheltonScott Marta Bastianelli of Italy and Team Virtu Cycling European Champion Jersey Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig of Denmark and Bigla Pro Cycling Team Celebration during the 16th Tour of Flanders 2019 Ronde van Vlaanderen Women Elite a 1592km race from Oudenaarde to Oudenaarde RondeVlaanderen FlandersClassic RVV19 on April 07 2019 in Oudenaarde Belgium Photo by Luc ClaessenGetty Images
The 2019 Tour of Flanders podium - Annemiek van Vleuten (2nd), Marta Bastianelli (1st), Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (3rd) (Image credit: Getty Images)

The revised Women’s WorldTour calendar has made it as far as the Tour of Flanders, and although cracks are starting to form in the COVID-19 late-season with teams and riders being forced to pull out of races and quarantine in accordance with national health authorities, the peloton will attempt to line-up in Oudenaarde on October 18 for what is widely regarded as the most prestigious one-day race in professional women’s cycling. 

Event organisers have taken steps to make the race as safe as possible by encouraging spectators to stay at home and watch on television, and banning spectators on the cobbled climbs, as well as from the start and finish areas. They have also shortened the event in order to give teams and riders the opportunity to build in sufficient rest and recover between the events on the revised calendar in October. 

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Kirsten Frattini
Deputy Editor

Kirsten Frattini is the Deputy Editor of Cyclingnews, overseeing the global racing content plan.

Kirsten has a background in Kinesiology and Health Science. She has been involved in cycling from the community and grassroots level to professional cycling's biggest races, reporting on the WorldTour, Spring Classics, Tours de France, World Championships and Olympic Games.

She began her sports journalism career with Cyclingnews as a North American Correspondent in 2006. In 2018, Kirsten became Women's Editor – overseeing the content strategy, race coverage and growth of women's professional cycling – before becoming Deputy Editor in 2023.

Latest on Cyclingnews