Skip to main content

Feillu victorious in Tour du Finistère

Romain Feillu (Vacansoleil-DCM) celebrated his 27th birthday in fine fashion as he won the Tour du Finistère, the sixth round of the Coupe du France. The 27-year-old Frenchman gapped the peloton in the uphill field sprint as he topped runner-up Armindo Fonseca (Bretagne-Schuller) by one second and third-placed Sandy Casar (FDJ) by two seconds.

A promising six man escape comprised of Frederik Veuchelen (Vacansoleil-DCM), Cyril Gautier (Team Europcar), Jean-Marc Marino (Saur-Sojasun), Sébastien Minard (AG2R La Mondiale), Rémi Cusin (Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne) and Cédric Pineau (FDJ) attacked with 70km remaining in the 186km race, but were swept up by the peloton less than 20km to the finish in Quimper.

With the victory, Feillu is the new leader of the Coupe du France.

Full Results
1Romain Feillu (Fra) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team4:13:52
2Armindo Fonseca (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller0:00:01
3Sandy Casar (Fra) FDJ0:00:02
4Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar
5Justin Jules (Fra) Velo-Club La Pomme Marseille
6Nicolas Vogondy (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne
7Maxime Mederel (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
8Romain Hardy (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
9Jean-Marc Marino (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
10Sylvain Georges (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
11Jean-Pierre Drucker (Lux) Veranda's Willems - Accent
12Leopold Konig (Cze) Team Netapp
13Mickaël Buffaz (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne
14Anthony Geslin (Fra) FDJ
15Yohan Cauquil (Fra) Velo-Club La Pomme Marseille
16Jesús Del Nero Montes (Spa) Team Netapp
17Julien Loubet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
18Rémi Pauriol (Fra) FDJ
19Evert Verbist (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Accent
20Laurent Mangel (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
21Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Saur - Sojasun0:00:09
22Anthony Roux (Fra) FDJ
23Yoann Bagot (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne0:00:14
24Iker Camano Ortuzar (Spa) Endura Racing
25Jean-Marc Bideau (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller0:00:19
26Rene Mandri (Est) Endura Racing
27Dimitri Le Boulch (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
28Santo Anza (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
29Julien Guay (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole0:00:23
30David Lelay (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
31Alexander Gottfried (Ger) Team Netapp
32Guillaume Faucon (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
33Jacobus Venter (RSA) Veranda's Willems - Accent0:00:26
34Garikoitz Bravo Oiarbide (Spa) Caja Rural0:00:28
35Michal Golas (Pol) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
36Mirko Selvaggi (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
37Alexander Riabkin (Rus) Caja Rural0:00:31
38Ronan Racault (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 930:00:32
39Cédric Pineau (Fra) FDJ
40Marcello Pavarin (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
41Daniel Diaz (Arg) Velo-Club La Pomme Marseille
42Cyril Gautier (Fra) Team Europcar
43Rémi Cusin (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne
44Paul Poux (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
45Anthony Charteau (Fra) Team Europcar0:00:35
46Tony Hurel (Fra) Team Europcar0:00:39
47Romain Lemarchand (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:00:43
48Steven Caethoven (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Accent
49Julien Fouchard (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne
50Frederik Veuchelen (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team0:00:51
51Hubert Dupont (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
52Laurent Pichon (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller0:00:54
53Joost Van Leijen (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team0:00:58
54Giovanni Bernaudeau (Fra) Team Europcar0:01:01
55Johan Mombaerts (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 930:01:30
56Jérémie Galland (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
57Sébastien Joly (Fra) Saur - Sojasun0:01:37
58Sébastien Minard (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:01:55
59Igor Romero Etxebarria (Spa) Caja Rural0:03:43
60Dieter Cappelle (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Accent0:04:59
61Guillermo Lana Baquedano (Spa) Caja Rural0:06:50
62Oleg Chuzhda (Ukr) Caja Rural
63Tom Last (GBr) Sigma Sport - Specialized0:07:02
64Simon Richardson (GBr) Sigma Sport - Specialized0:09:03
DNFKit Gilham (GBr) Sigma Sport - Specialized
DNFJames Moss (GBr) Endura Racing
DNFMaarten De Jonge (Ned) Endura Racing
DNFAlexander Wetterhall (Swe) Endura Racing
DNFJohn Anderson (Aus) Endura Racing
DNFJack Bauer (NZl) Endura Racing
DNFAlexandre Blain (Fra) Endura Racing
DNFThomas Copeland (GBr) Sigma Sport - Specialized
DNFThomas Vaubourzeix (Fra) Velo-Club La Pomme Marseille
DNFHiginio Fernández (Spa) Caja Rural
DNFEvaldas Siskevicius (Ltu) Velo-Club La Pomme Marseille
DNFBenjamin Giraud (Fra) Velo-Club La Pomme Marseille
DNFJames Willamson (GBr) Sigma Sport - Specialized
DNFMathieu Delaroziere (Fra) Velo-Club La Pomme Marseille
DNFRubén Reig Conejero (Spa) Caja Rural
DNFSteven Tronet (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
DNFArturo Mora Ortiz (Spa) Caja Rural
DNFFlorian Vachon (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
DNFSébastien Duret (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
DNFMathieu Halleguen (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
DNFEric Berthou (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
DNFBenoît Vaugrenard (Fra) FDJ
DNFArnold Jeannesson (Fra) FDJ
DNFJérémy Roy (Fra) FDJ
DNFThomas Murray (GBr) Sigma Sport - Specialized
DNFAndreas Dietziker (Swi) Team Netapp
DNFKévin Reza (Fra) Team Europcar
DNFMathieu Claude (Fra) Team Europcar
DNFJean-Eudes Demaret (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne
DNFNicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne
DNFRomain Matheou (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
DNFCyril Lemoine (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
DNFBen Gastauer (Lux) AG2R La Mondiale
DNFKristof Goddaert (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale
DNFSteve Houanard (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
DNFMichaël Baer (Swi) Team Netapp
DNFKevin Van Melsen (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Accent
DNFMichael Schwarzmann (Ger) Team Netapp
DNFJulien Antomarchi (Fra) Velo-Club La Pomme Marseille
DNFFlavien Dassonville (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
DNFJonathan Thire (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
DNFMatthieu Boulo (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
DNFAnthony Colin (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
DNFKevin Lalouette (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
DNFFlorian Le Corre (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
DNFMorgan Kneisky (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
DNFGuillaume Le Floch (Fra) Team Europcar
DNFThomas Vernaeckt (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Accent
DNFSven Van Den Houte (Bel) Veranda's Willems - Accent
DNFBartosz Huzarski (Pol) Team Netapp

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews