Tour de Suisse 2016

Latest News from the Race

2016 Tour de Suisse overview

Photo: Tim De Waele

Stage 9: López wins Tour de Suisse

Miguel Angel Lopez did what Warren Barguil, Wilco Kelderman and Pierre Latour failed to do and defended the Tour de Suisse's yellow jersey for his first WorldTour stage race victory. The Astana rider started the day with just an eight-second lead over Andrew Talansky (Cannondale) but took the race up on the shortened stage by attacking on the Flüela Pass.

IAM Cycling's Jarlison Pantano won the final stage from the breakaway with Jon Izaguirre finishing in third place to clinch second on GC while Barguil rounded out the final podium in third place

Stage 9 Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jarlinson Pantano (Col) IAM Cycling1:23:55
2Sergei Chernetski (Rus) Team KatushaRow 1 - Cell 2
3Jon Izaguirre (Spa) Movistar TeamRow 2 - Cell 2
4Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana Pro TeamRow 3 - Cell 2
5Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing TeamRow 4 - Cell 2
6Rui Costa (Por) Lampre - MeridaRow 5 - Cell 2
7Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-AlpecinRow 6 - Cell 2
8Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale Pro Cycling0:00:56
9Víctor De La Parte (Spa) CCC Sprandi PolkowiceRow 8 - Cell 2
10Joe Dombrowski (USA) Cannondale Pro CyclingRow 9 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final General classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana Pro Team30:55:58
2Jon Izaguirre (Spa) Movistar Team0:00:12
3Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin0:00:18
4Jarlinson Pantano (Col) IAM Cycling0:00:42
5Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale Pro Cycling0:01:04
6Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team0:01:26
7Rui Costa (Por) Lampre - Merida0:02:09
8Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo0:02:38
9Simon Spilak (Slo) Team Katusha0:02:48
10Sergei Chernetski (Rus) Team Katusha0:05:08

Race Preview

The Tour de Suisse is the alternate route to the Tour de France for much of the peloton and its position in the calendar allows them to hone their racing form much closer to the big occasion.

Two riders who have made the switch from their usual preparation at the Critérium du Dauphiné are Tejay van Garderen (BMC) and Andrew Talansky (Cannondale). Both are strong contenders for the overall title, but they’ll have to fend off challenges from defending champion Simon Spilak (Katusha) and three-time winner Rui Costa (Lampre-Merida). Last year’s second place finisher Geraint Thomas will also be back to lead a strong Team Sky squad, while Warren Barguil heads up the Giant-Alpecin line-up and Ion Izagirre is present for Movistar.

Home hero Fabian Cancellara (Trek-Segafredo) will be looking for glory as he races in Switzerland for possibly the final time in his career. The stage 8 time trial will be in his sights, but he’ll also be key for climbers Peter Stetina and Frank Schleck. Michael Albasini (Orica-GreenEdge) will also be another local favourite. The Swiss man regularly wins stages here and with his teammate Michael Matthews they will be looking to lock out the sprint stages.

Albasini and Matthews will find some tough competition, however, from world champion Peter Sagan (Tinkoff). Sagan will be looking to add to his tally of 11 stage wins at the week-long race. Rising sprint star Fernando Gaviria (Etixx-QuickStep) will also be in attendance. Other notable starters are Robert Gesink (LottoNL-Jumbo), Zdenek Stybar (Etixx-QuickStep) Mathias Frank (IAM Cycling), Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) and Jean-Christophe Peraud (AG2R-La Mondiale), who returns to racing action following his Giro d’Italia crash.

Tour de Suisse 2015 l Tour de Suisse 2014 l Tour de Suisse 2013 l Tour de Suisse 2012

Top News on the Race

Related Features