Luke Keough sweeps Cycle-Smart weekend

Luke Keough (Champion System p/b Keough Cyclocross) captured his second consecutive victory at the Cycle-Smart International held at Look Park in Northampton, Massachusetts on Sunday. Event organiser Adam Myerson (Cycle Smart) took second ahead of Justin Lindine ('s Garage) in third.

The Cycle-Smart International is the oldest UCI-sanctioned cyclo-cross race in the nation and celebrated its 20th anniversary in 2010. Myerson's second place on the day allowed him to stand on the podium for the first time after a two decades of organising the two-day event.

"This is definitely my first podium [in the event] as a UCI race and I can't remember the first five years," said Myerson. "Yesterday I got fourth and I was pissed that I didn't get on the podium. Today, I got second and I should have been psyched but I really wanted to win. It was exciting to be on the podium but you always want to win."

The UCI elite men were offered a challenging circuit that included a steep run up that was partially rideable on Sunday. The upper level of the course is known for its embedded roots that cater to the technically talented 'crossers. The course dropped down to a lower half where racers contested several raised train track crossings, technical and fast twists and a deep sand pit before running back up to the upper half.

"We would have liked to have done something special to celebrate the 20th year but we are not professional organisers and it's so hard to put on the races that we didn't have the energy," Myerson explained. "We just focused on putting on the best race we could and everything came together. It was the biggest turnout we ever had, the best level of organisation, a great course and it was by far the best edition of the race ever. That was our celebration."

Keough had the fastest start and lead some 50 racers around the first lap. Myerson moved into second wheel followed by Luca Damiani (El Gato CX), Nick Keough (Champion System p/b Keough Cyclocross), Christian Favata (Favatas Tablerock Tours and Bikes), Ryan Knapp (, Josh Dillon, Dylan McNicholas (Pedros), Weston Schempf (C3-Athletes Serving Athletes), Justin Lindine and Jerome Townsend ('s Garage).

"The course was very fast with a lot of drafting and places for catastrophic mistakes," Myerson continued. "The group just kept getting smaller from making errors and getting popped out of the group. I stayed at the back of the group and was hanging on for dear life. Every lap another guy would make a mistake and get popped. Before I knew it, I was in a group of three racing for second."

Keough, Damiani and Lindine gained a 10-second margin ahead of the chasers; soon after Lindine bobbled and fell and Damiani, who had placed second the previous day, slid into his bike from behind. He was forced to the sidelines and into the hospital room with a deep gash on his leg that required 15 stitches. "Luca crashed into Justin's bike and it sliced his shin," Myerson said. "He got back up and started riding but then stopped when he realised he had a very, very big gash right down to the bone and he stopped."

Keough continued to gain more time on the next group and finished with a solo victory. Myerson caught Lindine and the pair continued to put the pressure on in pursuit of the remaining podium places, ahead of McNicholas and Townsend. In the end it was Myerson who out-paced Lindine for second place, his first podium appearance at the Cycle-Smart International in its 20-year existence.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
1Luke Keough (USA) Champion System p/b Keough Cyclocross0:58:23
2Adam Myerson (USA) Cycle-Smart0:00:26
3Justin Lindine (USA) / Joe's Garage / ScottRow 2 - Cell 2
4Dylan McNicholas (USA) Pedro's0:00:46
5Nicholas Keough (USA) Champion System p/b Keough Cyclocross0:00:51
6Andrew Wulfkuhle (USA) C3-Athletes Serving Athletes0:00:53
7Manny Goguen (USA) / Joe's Garage / Scott0:01:00
8Christian Favata (USA) Favata's Tablerock Tours and Bikes0:01:01
9Weston Schempf (USA) C3-Athletes Serving AthletesRow 8 - Cell 2
10Ryan Knapp (USA) BikeReg.com0:01:02
11Joshua Dillon (USA) Richard Sachs-RGM Watches-Radix0:01:37
12Shawn Milne (USA) Antero Resources - Seaside Cycle0:01:53
13Peter Bradshaw (USA) Embrocation Cycling Journal / Mad Alchemy0:01:57
14Jerome Townsend (USA) / Joe's Garage / Scott0:02:18
15Jesse Keough (USA) Champion System p/b Keough CyclocrossRow 14 - Cell 2
16Jonathan Sundt (USA) El Gato CX0:02:21
17Dan Chabanov (USA) / CBRC0:02:39
18Michael Jenks (USA) Highland Park Hermes p/b Kim's Bike Shop0:02:47
19Thomas Sampson (USA)0:02:50
20David Wilcox (USA) Pedro's Grassroots Cycling ClubRow 19 - Cell 2
21Kevin Sweeney (USA) p/b JRA Cycles0:02:52
22Anthony Clark (USA) nebikeconsulting.com0:02:58
23Wayne Bray (USA) MVP Health Care0:03:09
24Patrick Bradley (USA) Rutgers University-Raleigh-Kim's Bike Shop0:03:14
25Cory Burns (USA) Full Moon Vista0:03:17
26Cary Fridrich (USA) Embrocation Cycling Journal / Mad Alchemy0:03:18
27Evan Huff (USA) BikeReg.com0:03:43
28James Harmon (USA) 503 Cycleworx/LHCC0:03:44
29John Hanson (USA) Silver Bull/Central Wheel0:03:52
30Colin Reuter (USA) p/b JRA Cycles0:03:53
31Michael Wissell (USA) B2C20:04:05
32John Burns (USA) Bikeman.com0:04:08
33Corney Collier (USA) Shaver Sport0:04:11
34Peter Rubijono (USA) Embrocation Cycling Journal0:04:20
35Seamus Powell (USA) Ollett Coaching0:04:30
36Greg Whitney (USA) B2C2 p/b Boloco0:05:11
37Joshua Lehmann (USA) Pedro's Race Team0:05:16
38Adam Sullivan (USA) Embrocation Cycling Journal0:05:30
39Ryan Kelly (USA) p/b JRA Cycles0:05:34
40Christopher Hamlin (USA) UVM Cycling0:05:47
41Jonathan Awerbuch (USA) SweetOpenRoads.com0:06:14
42Stephen Pierce (USA) Cambridge Bicycle-Igleheart Frames0:06:16
43Collin Huston (USA) Moots0:06:43
44Matt Mainer (USA) UVM Cycling0:06:47
45Jeff Gelt (USA) Silver Bull/Central WheelRow 44 - Cell 2
46Pierre Vanden Borre (USA) Embrocation Cycling Journal / Mad Alchemy0:07:30
47Michael Bartlett (USA) Competitive Edge/Power Bar0:08:03
48Peter Hagerty (USA) Team Plan CRow 47 - Cell 2
49Joshua Friedman (USA) NYC VeloRow 48 - Cell 2
50Ryan O'Hara (USA)Row 49 - Cell 2
51R. Michael McKittrick (USA) Cambridge Bicycle / Igleheart FramesRow 50 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Kirsten Frattini
Deputy Editor

Kirsten Frattini is the Deputy Editor of Cyclingnews, overseeing the global racing content plan.

Kirsten has a background in Kinesiology and Health Science. She has been involved in cycling from the community and grassroots level to professional cycling's biggest races, reporting on the WorldTour, Spring Classics, Tours de France, World Championships and Olympic Games.

She began her sports journalism career with Cyclingnews as a North American Correspondent in 2006. In 2018, Kirsten became Women's Editor – overseeing the content strategy, race coverage and growth of women's professional cycling – before becoming Deputy Editor in 2023.