Skip to main content

Lindgren, Snihs win Swedish 'cross titles

Emil Lindgren (Rabobank-Giant) on his way to winning the 2010 Swedish 'cross national championship

Emil Lindgren (Rabobank-Giant) on his way to winning the 2010 Swedish 'cross national championship (Image credit:

Emil Lindgren and Kajsa Snihs claimed the Swedish cyclo-cross championship on Saturday. The race was held in the Närke region in the center of Sweden. After heavy snowfalls during the week were followed by mild temperatures, the technical course was damp and took its toll. The condition of the course favoured mountain bike specialists.

The 25-year-old mountain biker Lindgren (Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team) won ahead of the former champion Jens Westergren, who has taken both of the previous titles since the championships started in 2008. Fredrik Edin was third.

Kajsa Snihs (Rättvik) managed to walk away with her third consecutive title. After a tough season so far, Snihs didn't arrive to Kumla as the obvious favourite of the day. The silver medal was claimed by Åsa Erlandsson (Varbergs MTB) a head of Emmy Thelberg (Härnösand).

Full Results

Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Kajsa Snihs (IK Jarl)0:43:13
2Åsa Erlandsson (Varbergs MTB)0:00:55
3Emmy Thelberg (Härnösands CK)0:01:43
4Karin Aune (Örebrocyklisterna)0:02:21
5Angelica Edvardsson (Cykloteket Racing Team)0:03:16
6Lisa Ström (Falu CK)0:08:01
7Anjang Choi (Kolmårdens MTB)0:09:34
8Mirella Ehrin (Team Cykelcity)0:10:16
DNSJohanna Nilsson (Örebrocyklisterna)

Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Emil Lindgren (Rabobank-Giant Offroad Team)1:00:09
2Jens Westergren (Falu CK)0:00:28
3Fredrik Edin (Cykloteket Racing Team)0:00:51
4Magnus Darvell (Team Kalas/Pedalogerna)0:02:06
5Håkan Löfström (IK Jarl)0:03:48
6Mikael S Flockhart (Team MTB-Shoppen)0:04:04
7Jesper Dahlström (Motala AIF CK)0:04:27
8Matthias Wengelin (CK Nathén)0:06:14
9Christian Bertilsson (CK C4/Mc-center)0:06:28
10Martin Eriksson (Cykloteket Racing Team)0:06:34
11Fredrik Svärm (Motala AIF CK)0:06:44
12Niclas Andersson (Kolmårdens MTB)0:07:37
13Anders Stenberg (Borås CA)0:08:53
-1lapSteve Slättmyr (CK Master)
-1lapJesper Larsson (Team Kalas/Pedalogerna)
-2lapsBjörn Fredriksson (Mölndals CK)
-2lapsPatrik Paulsson (CK C4)
-2lapsJesper Johansson (Falköpings CK)
-2lapsFredrik Lagercrantz (Kolmårdens MTB)
-3lapsPontus Johansson (Cykloteket Racing Team)
-3lapsThomas Karlsson (Cykloteket Racing Team)
-4lapsJohan Norén (Mariestadscyklisten)
DNFMattias Nilsson (Team Kalas/Pedalogerna)
DNSPatrik Morén (Cykloteket Racing Team)
DNSJohan Nystrand (Uddevalla CK)
DNSFredrik Olofsson (CK C4)

Veteran men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Benny Andersson (Åstorps CK)0:47:40
2Hans Mård (Cykloteket Racing Team)0:00:03
3Jan Jakobsson (Borlänge CK)0:01:38
4Ola Torstensson (Örebrocyklisterna)0:01:40
5Tobias Johansson (Almby IK)0:01:41
6Magnus Pettersén (Almby IK)0:01:45
7Stefan Carlsson (Falu CK)0:03:09
8Per Kumlin (Spårvägens CF)0:03:52
9Rikard Ericson (Borensbergs IF CK)0:04:07
10Tomas Pettersson (Mölndals CK)0:04:29
11Mats Blomberg (CK Valhall)0:04:45
12Stefan Norlin (Spårvägens CF)0:05:10
13Christian Albihn (Mölndals CK)0:05:47
14Per Harring (Mölndals CK)0:06:06
15Pontus Forsberg (CK Dainon)0:06:54
16Lasse Nordström (Mölndals CK)0:06:57
17Lasse Karlsson (Csk Ludvika)0:07:14
18Håkan Olausson (Mölndals CK)0:07:36
19Anders Schylström (CK Antilopen)0:08:03
20Mattias Cedwin (IK Ymer)0:09:55
-1lapChris Pickering (Mölndals CK)
DNFNiclas Nilsson (Almby IK)
DNFPeter Eide-Jensen (CK Valhall)
DNSUrban Nilsson (Motala AIF CK)
DNSMats Harring (Mölndals CK)
DNSAxel Wennerskog (Mölndals CK)
DNSGunnar Tibert (CK Valhall)

Veteran women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Carina Börjesson (Åstorp CK)0:40:17

Sport men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Dennis Eklund (Borensberg)0:33:18
2Jakob Björklund (Kristinehamn Multisport)0:00:31
3Jonas Lundberg (Jönköpings CK)0:01:49
4Johan Alfredson (Almby IK)0:01:51
5James Lewis (Kristinehamn Multisport)0:05:21
DNSFrank Kiereck (Örebrocyklisterna)
DNSPeter Elbri (Örebrocyklisterna)

Juniors 11-14
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Emil Gustafsson (Almby IK)0:25:30
2Ted Pettersson (Mölndals CK)0:00:26
3Jesper Sundström (Almby IK)0:01:44
DNFSimon Sivsjö (Almby IK)

Juniors 15-16
Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
Caroline Pettersson (CSK Ludvika)0:30:50

#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Fabian Albian (Mölndals CK)
2Felix Pettersson (Mölndals CK)
3Zacke Leppänen (Team Hulken MTB Kopparbergs CK)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews