Skip to main content

Cavendish victorious in Germany

Mark Cavendish earned his twentieth victory of the season on Sunday with a win in the Sparkasse Giro in Bochum, Germany. The 24-year-old Brit outsprinted former teammate Gerald Ciolek (Team Milram) to take the 180-kilometre one-day race.

"It's an impressive result for Mark," said team manager Rolf Aldag. "He had a tough Tour de France and he's been winning all season, but the victories just keep coming. And this was not an easy race at all. It was held on a tough little circuit, with two short but hard climbs and then a fast descent to the finish, and on top of that it was raining most of the day.

"A break of five guys got away but in the last lap and a half we managed to bring things back together for Cavendish. He seems to be totally unbeatable in the sprints right now."

Despite having only five riders on the start line, Columbia-HTC covered all the attacks and kept the race under control for Cavendish. "It's really impressive when you consider we've just come out of a really successful Tour and all of the riders who took part for us in this race had taken part in the Tour," said Aldag. "Some guys just lose their way a little if they've done well there, but not Mark and not our team. So even if it's not a huge surprise when Cav wins a sprint, this victory shows he's still focused and concentrating on winning."

1Mark Cavendish (GBr) Team Columbia - HTC4:16:30
2Gerald Ciolek (Ger) Team Milram
3Andreas Stauff (Ger) FC Rheinland-Pfalz/Saar Mainz
4Heinrich Haussler (Ger) Cervelo Test Team
5Robert Wagner (Ger) Skil-Shimano
6Eric Baumann (Ger) Team Nutrixxion Sparkasse
7Nico Eeckhout (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly Team
8Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht
9Roy Curvers (Ned) Skil-Shimano
10Pieter Van Speybroeck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
11Maximilian May (Ger) Thüringer Energie Team
12Nikolas Maes (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
13Dennis Pohl (Ger) Team Kuota - Indeland
14Oleksandr Martynenko (Ukr) ISD-Sport-Donetsk
15Xavier Florencio (Spa) Cervelo Test Team
16Steven Van Vooren (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly Team
17Alexander Gottfried (Ger) Team Kuota - Indeland
18Christer Rake (Nor) Team Sparebanken Vest
19Frank Daniel Wagner (Ger) Seven Stones
20Jan Bakelants (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
21David Hesselbarth (Ger) Heizomat Mapei
22Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator0:00:05
23Philip Deignan (Irl) Cervelo Test Team
24Floris Goesinnen (Ned) Skil-Shimano
25Johan Coenen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
26Jaco Venter (RSA) Trek - Marco Polo Cycling Team
27Christian Knees (Ger) Team Milram0:00:08
28Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Team Milram0:00:11
29Volodymir Gustov (Ukr) Cervelo Test Team
30Roy Hegreberg (Nor) Team Sparebanken Vest0:00:14
31Markus Fothen (Ger) Team Milram0:00:24
32Markus Eichler (Ger) Team Milram
33Björn Glasner (Ger) Team Kuota - Indeland
34Janek Tombak (Est) Cycling Club Bourgas0:00:30
35Tony Martin (Ger) Team Columbia - HTC0:00:49
36Lucas Schädlich (Ger) Thüringer Energie Team0:01:04
37Ronan Mc Laughlin (Irl) An Post - Sean Kelly Team
38Hans Bloks (Ned) Cycling Team Jo Piels
39Servais Knaven (Ned) Team Milram
40Edward King (USA) Cervelo Test Team
41Luke Roberts (Aus) Team Kuota - Indeland
42Jacques Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) Trek - Marco Polo Cycling Team
43Nils Plötner (Ger) Heizomat Mapei
44David Deroo (Fra) Skil-Shimano
45Martin Prazdnovsky (Svk) Cycling Club Bourgas
46Sven Renders (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
47Stefan Ganser (Ger) Team Kuota - Indeland
48Dirk Müller (Ger) Team Nutrixxion Sparkasse
49Mitchell Docker (Aus) Skil-Shimano
50Artur Gajek (Ger) Team Milram0:01:10
51Michael Stevenson (Swe) Team Sparebanken Vest
52Logan Hutchings (NZl) Cinelli - Down Under
53Niki Terpstra (Ned) Team Milram0:01:13
54Felix Rinker (Ger) Heizomat Mapei0:02:08
55Andreas Schillinger (Ger) Team Nutrixxion Sparkasse0:04:06
56Guillaume Bourgeois (Swi) Atlas-Romer's Hausbäckerei0:04:46
57Cornelius Van Ooijen (Ned) Cycling Team Jo Piels0:04:54
58Anatoliy Pakthusov (Ukr) ISD-Sport-Donetsk
59Normunds Lasis (Lat) Cycling Club Bourgas
60Jahn Fredrik Grue (Nor) Team Sparebanken Vest
61Janick Wisler (Swi) Atlas-Romer's Hausbäckerei
62Geir Inge Berg (Nor) Team Sparebanken Vest
63Jiri Sibl (Cze) CK Windoor's Pribram
64Maxime Beney (Swi) Atlas-Romer's Hausbäckerei
65Marcel Barth (Ger) Thüringer Energie Team
66James Spragg (GBr) Trek - Marco Polo Cycling Team
67Lars Wackernagel (Ger) Team Nutrixxion Sparkasse
68Erki Pütsep (Est) Cycling Club Bourgas
69Patrick Bercz (Ger) Seven Stones
70Alexander Schmitt (Ger) Seven Stones0:07:41
71Theo Eltink (Ned) Skil-Shimano
72Vitaliy Popkov (Ukr) ISD-Sport-Donetsk0:08:39
73Florian Harbig (Ger) Thüringer Energie Team
74Florian Volk (Ger) Heizomat Mapei
75Tommy Nankervis (Aus) Cinelli - Down Under
76Mart Ojavee (Est) Cycling Club Bourgas
77Allar Karu (Est) Meridiana - Kalev Chocolate Team
78Jonas Schmeiser (Ger) Heizomat Mapei
79Tim Klessa (Ger) Team Kuota - Indeland
80Volodymyr Kogut (Ukr) ISD-Sport-Donetsk0:10:03
81Rik Kavsek (Ned) Cycling Team Jo Piels0:13:27
82Han Feng (Chn) Skil-Shimano
83Jakub Danacik (Cze) PSK Whirlpool - Author
84Filip Svestka (Cze) CK Windoor's Pribram
85Florian Frohn (Ger) Heizomat Mapei
86René Obst (Ger) Team Nutrixxion Sparkasse
87Grischa Janorschke (Ger) FC Rheinland-Pfalz/Saar Mainz
88Denys Karnulin (Ukr) ISD-Sport-Donetsk
89Erik Mohs (Ger) Team Nutrixxion Sparkasse
90Michael Kurth (Ger) Team Kuota - Indeland
91Philipp Klein (Ger) Thüringer Energie Team


Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews