Skip to main content

Godfrey grabs RaboPlus club road title

World track champion Hayden Godfrey showed his versatility when he sprinted to his maiden victory in the RaboPlus national club road cycling title near Nelson today. Godfrey, who won the omnium title at the International Cycling Union (UCI) World Track Championships last year, went with the break on the 176km race’s penultimate lap before outsprinting young Wellington rider Jack Bauer to take the championship in Upper Moutere.

This made it a clean sweep of road titles for the Subway Avanti team after Gordon McAuley won the national championships earlier in the year. Godfrey got some key help from team-mate Sam Horgan before he used all his experience to roll over Bauer to claim the win, while Horgan took out the under-23 honours.

“I’ve been second and third before but never been able to put it in the bag,” Godfrey said. “I was a bit unsure how I would go because I’ve putting my time into training and have not raced for a while.

“It’s great to win this for me and the Subway Avanti team,” he added. “It gives us real confidence going into the Tour of Southland and then we are also racing in a category two tour in China.”

Godfrey needed his team’s help after an early break featuring Bauer, Alex McGregor (Cycling Otago), David Ayre and George Bennett (both Star & Garter) who opened a gap of nearly three minutes.

The peloton caught the break by mid-race and remained together until two laps to go, when the pressure at the front split the race apart. A quality group of seven riders went clear on the penultimate lap including United States of America-based professional Heath Blackgrove, former Olympian Rick Reid, Alan Williams (Pegasus), Bauer and the Subway Avanti trio of Godfrey, Horgan and James Williamson.

Williamson had a mechanical and had to limp home, but still good enough to finish second in the under-23 race while Williams was dropped. Blackgrove attacked on the final lap before Bauer lead out the final sprint. Godfrey loomed up on his wheel and rolled over the top for the victory.

Earlier Alex McCrory-Bowick (Counties Manukau) won the under-17 honours over 64kms.


Senior men, 176km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Hayden Godfrey (Subway Avanti)4:28:32
2Jack Bauer (Port Nicholson Poneke)0:00:01
3Robin Reid (Star & Garter)0:00:02
4Heath Blackgrove (Timaru)0:00:08
5Alan Williams (Pegasus)0:01:17

Under-23, 176km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sam Horgan (Subway Avanti)4:28:51
2James Williamson (Subway Avanti)0:01:51
3Daniel Barry (Star & Garter Tasman)0:02:32
4Brad Carter (Hamilton City)
5James McCoy (Papanui)

Under-17, 64km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alex McCrory-Bowick (Counties Manukau)1:39:40
2Dion Smith (North Harbour)0:00:01
3Nick Sutton (Stratford)0:00:02


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1