Gehbauer wins solo in Yorkshire

This year, for the first time, the Under 23 categories of men and women race separately from the elites in their own cross country World Cup competition. The Under 23 men raced today (Saturday), and the U23 women will race tomorrow.

In this second round, the top two riders from the first event in Pietermaritzburg, South Africa, proved that they are the class of the field by again finishing one-two, in the reverse order from the first race, Alexander Gehbauer (Austria) dropped Gerhard Kerschbaumer (TX Active Bianchi) in the final kilometre for the win. The two are tied in points, but Gehbauer takes over the leader's jersey by virtue of the more recent victory.

American Stephen Ettinger (US National Team) worked his way up from mid-field to finish a very respectable 10th place. Ettinger struggled in the opening lap after starting 40th, but then began to move up steadily, posting the fastest split for the fourth lap.

"I balled up my first lap, I just couldn't get going," Ettinger said. "But once I got myself sorted out, I just spent the whole race picking riders off, so overall I'm pretty pleased with how my race went."

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Under 23 Men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alexander Gehbauer (Aut)1:29:25
2Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Ita) TX Active Bianchi0:00:05
3Markus Schulte-Luenzum (Ger) Focus MIG Team0:00:22
4Markus Bauer (Ger)0:00:38
5Jérémy Huguenin (Swi) Giant Swiss Sr - Suntour0:00:39
6David Fletcher (GBr)0:00:57
7Michiel Van Der Heijden (Ned) Rabobank - Giant Off-Road Team0:00:58
8Sebastien Carabin (Bel) Versluys - Evenza Team0:01:15
9Diego Rosa (Ita) Giant Italia Team0:01:23
10Stephen Ettinger (USA)0:01:41
11Marco Minnaard (Ned) Rabobank - Giant Off-Road Team0:01:57
12Ondrej Cink (Cze) Merida Biking Team0:01:59
13Ruben Scheire (Bel) MPL Specialized Mtb Team0:02:15
14Jordan Sarrou (Fra) Scott Les Saisies0:02:29
15Matthias Rupp (Sui) Team Firebike - Droessiger0:02:49
16Julien Trarieux (Fra) GT Skoda Chamonix0:03:38
17Andy Eyring (Ger)0:03:42
18Piotr Brzozka (Pol) JBG - 2 Professional Mtb TeamRow 17 - Cell 2
19Shlomi Haimy (Isr) Focus MIG Team0:03:50
20Zsolt Juhasz (Hun) Euro One - Cube Mtb TeamRow 19 - Cell 2
21Bart De Vocht (Bel)0:04:01
22Martin Gluth (Ger)0:04:07
23Marc Metzler (Swi)0:04:22
24Paul Van Der Ploeg (Aus) Felt Oetztal X - Bionic Team0:04:34
25Hugo Drechou (Fra)0:04:37
26Gilles Sarrazin (Fra) Team Veloroc Lapierre0:04:39
27Thibaut Bellanger (Fra) Team Veloroc Lapierre0:04:45
28Jeff Luyten (Bel) MPL Specialized Mtb Team0:04:49
29Fabian Strecker (Ger)0:05:00
30Sebastian Batchelor (GBr) Infotre - Bi & Esse - Leecougan0:05:09
31Kerry Werner (USA)0:05:26
32Jakub Magnusek (Cze) S&H Superior Mtb Team0:05:47
33Emilien Barben (Swi)0:05:51
34Steven James (GBr)0:06:03
35Benjamin Buchi (Swi)0:06:10
36Rourke Croeser (Rsa) Orange Monkey / Cannondale0:06:12
37Henrique Avancini (Bra) ISD Cycling Team0:06:18
38Jonas De Backer (Bel) Rocky Roads - Orbea0:06:23
39Fabrice Mels (Bel) Rocky Roads - OrbeaRow 38 - Cell 2
40David Simon (Ger) Team Firebike - Droessiger0:06:39
41Jack Hinkens (USA)0:06:42
42Evan Mcneely (Can)0:06:58
43Rens De Bruin (Ned)0:07:05
44Felix Euteneuer (Ger)0:07:22
45Marcel Fleschhut (Ger)0:07:35
46Russell Finsterwald (USA) Subaru - Trek0:07:46
47Gregor Raggl (Aut)0:07:56
48Mario Luis Miranda Costa (Por)0:08:14
49Antoine Caron (Can)0:08:15
50Erik Groen (Ned) Feenstra Stevens Bike Team0:08:26
51Fabien Canal (Fra) GT Skoda Chamonix0:08:28
52Lukas Kuch (Ger)0:08:40
53Thomas Lapeyrie (Fra) Lapierre International0:08:58
54Kevin Krieg (Swi)0:09:19
55Trenton Day (Aus)0:09:44
56Mike Schuler (Swi) Mk - Zentralschweiz0:09:45
57Michael Crosbie (Aus)0:10:01
58Francis Morin (Can) Bh - Suntour - Peisey Vallandry0:10:20
59Simon Hupperetz (Bel)0:10:52
60Martino Di Pierdomenico (Ita) Infotre - Bi & Esse - Leecougan0:11:10
61Kyle Ward (Aus)0:11:14
62Daniel Kaufmann (Swi)0:11:23
63Billy Whenman (GBr)0:12:18
64Cameron Ivory (Aus)0:15:24
65Laurent Evrard (Bel)0:18:34
-1lapJose Maria Sanchez Ruiz (Spa)Row 65 - Cell 2
DNFSimon Stiebjahn (Ger)Row 66 - Cell 2
DNFKornel Osicki (Pol) JBG - 2 Professional Mtb Team Dnf4Row 67 - Cell 2
DNFMatthias Stirnemann (Swi) Thoemus Racing Team Dnf4Row 68 - Cell 2
DNFLuca Braidot (Ita)Row 69 - Cell 2
DNFOlof Jonsson (Swe) Rocky Roads - Orbea Dnf3Row 70 - Cell 2
DNFDumeni Vincenz (Swi) Thoemus Racing Team Dnf3Row 71 - Cell 2
DNFDaniel Eymann (Swi) Thoemus Racing Team Dnf2Row 72 - Cell 2
DNFKenta Gallagher (GBr)Row 73 - Cell 2
DNFSimon Seehofer (Aut)Row 74 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Under 23 men World Cup standings after two rounds
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResultHeader Cell - Column 3
1Alexander Gehbauer (Aut)160pts
2Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Ita) TX Active Bianchi160Row 1 - Cell 3
3Michiel Van Der Heijden (Ned) Rabobank - Giant Off-Road Team70Row 2 - Cell 3
4David Fletcher (GBr)62Row 3 - Cell 3
5Markus Schulte-Luenzum (Ger) Focus MIG Team60Row 4 - Cell 3
6Marek Konwa (Pol) Milka Trek MTB Racing Team60Row 5 - Cell 3
7Fabien Canal (Fra) GT Skoda Chamonix50Row 6 - Cell 3
8Markus Bauer (Ger)50Row 7 - Cell 3
9Jordan Sarrou (Fra) Scott Les Saisies49Row 8 - Cell 3
10Jérémy Huguenin (Swi) Giant Swiss SR - Suntour46Row 9 - Cell 3
11Marco Minnaard (Ned) Rabobank - Giant Off-Road Team44Row 10 - Cell 3
12Sebastien Carabin (Bel) Versluys - Evenza Team39Row 11 - Cell 3
13Piotr Brzozka (Pol) Jbg - 2 Professional MTB Team38Row 12 - Cell 3
14Diego Rosa (Ita) Giant Italia Team24Row 13 - Cell 3
15Stephen Ettinger (USA)22Row 14 - Cell 3
16Olof Jonsson (Swe) Rocky Roads - Orbea22Row 15 - Cell 3
17Erik Groen (Ned) Feenstra Stevens Bike Team20Row 16 - Cell 3
18Marcel Fleschhut (Ger)18Row 17 - Cell 3
19Ondrej Cink (Cze) Merida Biking Team18Row 18 - Cell 3
20Rourke Croeser (RSA) Orange Monkey / Cannondale16Row 19 - Cell 3
21Ruben Scheire (Bel) MPL Specialized MTB Team16Row 20 - Cell 3
22Zsolt Juhasz (Hun) Euro One - Cube MTB Team15Row 21 - Cell 3
23Kornel Osicki (Pol) JBG - 2 Professional MTB Team14Row 22 - Cell 3
24Matthias Rupp (Swi) Team Firebike - Droessiger13Row 23 - Cell 3
25Andy Eyring (Ger)12Row 24 - Cell 3
26Julien Trarieux (Fra) GT Skoda Chamonix10Row 25 - Cell 3
27Matthias Stirnemann (Swi) Thoemus Racing Team10Row 26 - Cell 3
28Jeff Luyten (Bel) MPL Specialized MTB Team8Row 27 - Cell 3
29Henrique Avancini (Bra) ISD Cycling Team7Row 28 - Cell 3
30Shlomi Haimy (Isr) Focus MIG Team7Row 29 - Cell 3
31Gilles Sarrazin (Fra) Team Veloroc Lapierre5Row 30 - Cell 3
32Bart De Vocht (Bel)5Row 31 - Cell 3
33Martin Gluth (Ger)4Row 32 - Cell 3
34Simon Stiebjahn (Ger)4Row 33 - Cell 3
35Marc Metzler (Swi)3Row 34 - Cell 3
36Paul Van Der Ploeg (Aus) Felt Oetztal X - Bionic Team2Row 35 - Cell 3
37Thibaut Bellanger (Fra) Team Veloroc Lapierre2Row 36 - Cell 3
38Hugo Drechou (Fra)1Row 37 - Cell 3

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1