Skip to main content

Ockerby gets confidence booster in Launceston ahead of 2012 NRS assault

Tasmanian Luke Ockerby (TIS/PureTas) sprinted to victory in the Stan Siejka Men's Cycling Classic this evening. The 19-year-old was too fast for National criterium champion Ben Grenda (Genesys Wealth Advisers) and mountain bike rider Ben Mather (Lawson Homes).

"This is the biggest win of my road career," Ockerby said at the end of the race. "I have ridden the National Road Series with Pure-Tas this year and haven't had the luck, but to get the win over some strong riders is a very good feeling," he added.

Much like the women's race, the men raced in rain and strong winds which made the 1km course slippery. Early on in the race, Ockerby was a main instigator and was joined by Ben Mather, Luke Fetch (Search2Retain), Aaron Jones (TIS/PureTas), Bernard Sulzberger (Fly V Australia) and Genesys Wealth Advisers trio Nathan Haas, Pat Shaw and Ben Grenda.

The group enjoyed a maximum advantage of 45 seconds advantage over the rest of the field and battled for the win with Ockerby proving too fast.

Ockerby has been riding for seven years and is more known for his track prowess holding the current Madison title with Peter Loft.

"In the next few weeks I am targeting the Omnium and Madison titles," Ockerby explained.

Ockerby is joining Budget Forklifts next year in what he hopes will be the start of a successful road career.

“The Jayco Bay cycling criteriums and nationals will be my first race with Budget Forklifts and I hope to do well in them," he concluded.

Ben Grenda nearly caught Ockerby on the line but he was happy with second place. Grenda has been back on the bike for a few weeks following shoulder surgery.

"It was great to be up the front and ride in front of the home crowd again. I have only been back on the bike for a few weeks and things can only get better from here," Grenda said.

Grenda praised Ockerby for his victory.

"Luke had plenty of speed at the finish there and did a great job. He is in good form at the moment and I hope he goes on with it."

Mather was pleased with third place.

"It was always the plan for to get in the break today. With these conditions, no one knows who will have the legs at the end and not everyone likes to race hard and some guys have big seasons coming up and want to race cautiously," Mather said.

Earlier in the day, Gerald Evans won the under 17’s race ahead of James Robinson and Andrew Hinkley.

Full Results
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Luke Okerby (TIS/PureTas)0:49:11
2Ben Grenda (Genesys Wealth Advisers)0:00:00
3Ben Mather (Lawson Homes)0:00:01
4Luke Fetch (Search2retain)0:00:01
5Brernard Sulzberger (V Australia)0:00:01
6Pat Shaw (Genesys Wealth Advisers)0:00:04
7Nathan Haas (Genesys Wealth Advisers)0:00:07
8Aaron Jones (TIS/PureTas)0:00:08
9Steele Von Hoff (Genesys Wealth Advisers)0:00:42
10Will Clarke (Genesys Wealth Advisers)0:00:43
11Michael Smith (Lawson Homes)0:00:43
12Cameron Wurf (Liquigas-Cannondale)0:00:44
13Jake McMahon (TIS/PureTas)0:00:45
14Calvin Watson (Jayco-AIS)0:00:45
15Campbell Flakemore (Genesys Wealth Advisers)0:00:45
16Wes Sulzberger (Francaise des Jeux)
17James Mowatt (Search2retain)0:00:42
18Adam Murchie (Bikebug Forza Cap)0:00:47
19Nathan Earle (Genesys Wealth Advisers)0:00:44
20Callum Fagg0:00:46
DNFMatthew Nicholson (Lawson Homes)
DNFAaron Salisbury (Bikebug Forza Cap)
DNFJason Rigg (Genesys Wealth Advisers)
DNFAlex Clements (TIS/PureTas)
DNFRhys Pollock (Drapac Professional Cycling)
DNFMatt Goss (HTC-Highroad)
DNFTom Paton (Geelong)
DNFPat Lane (Jayco-AIS)
DNFPeter Thompson (Drapac Professional Cycling)
DNFDavid Cripps (Lawson Homes)
DNFTom Donald (Search2retain)
DNFRobbie Hucker (Fenton Green Team)
DNFRyan Macanally (Budget Forklifts)
DNFJoel Stearnes (TIS/PureTas)
DNFSam Crome (Fenton Green Team)
DNFJack Matthews (TIS/PureTas)
DNFKel Chaffey-Jones (Fenton Green Team)
DNFTravers Nuttall (Bikebug Forza Cap)
DNFFloris Goesinnen (Drapac Professional Cycling)
DNFNick Aitken (Jayco-AIS)
DNFBen Johnson (Bikebug/Forza Capital)
DNFBlair Windsor (Budget Forklifts)
DNFRichie Porte (Saxo Bank-SunGard)
DNFOliver Kent-Spark
DNFDavid Tanner (Saxo Bank-SunGard)
DNFClay Murfet
DNFCameron Peterson (V Australia)
DNFJohnnie Walker (V Australia)
DNFCharles Howlett (Search2retain)
DNFLuke Padgett (Lawson Homes)
DNFMalcolm Rudolph (Jayco-AIS)
DNFPeter Loft (TIS/PureTas)
DNFSam McCallum (TIS/PureTas)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews