Durbridge wins gold in World Championships

Australia's Luke Durbridge won Australia's first medal at the Junior Road World Championships in Moscow, Russia, Friday. Durbridge, 18, won the Under 19 time trial ahead of USA's Lawson Craddock and Denmark's Lasse Hansen.

"I'm absolutely stoked and I just can't take it in at the moment," said Durbridge. "I headed out really quickly and was fastest in the first lap and then I died a little bit in the last lap but I managed to hold onto it."

He won the 25.8-kilometre race, two circuits, in a time of 32'52" and an average speed of 47. Craddock was two seconds slower and Hansen 10 seconds slower.

"This course had lots of gradual climbs and I could use the big gear and my power to get up them. My track work preparation meant I could use high cadence on the downhills so that helped me a fair bit as well but the course was rather flat."

Craddock, from Texas, won the silver medal. The only other Team USA rider, Nathan Brown, finished was 34th.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
1Luke Durbridge (Australia)0:32:52
2Lawson Craddock (United States Of America)0:00:02
3Lasse Norman Hansen (Denmark)0:00:11
4Nikias Arndt (Germany)0:00:18
5Kevin Labeque (France)0:00:23
6Kevin De Jonghe (Belgium)0:00:36
7Michel Koch (Germany)0:00:39
8Lukasz Wisniowski (Poland)0:00:43
9Alexander Randin (Norway)0:00:46
10Matvey Zubov (Russian Federation)0:00:48
11Victor Manakov (Russian Federation)0:00:49
12Konrad Tomasiak (Poland)0:00:51
13Romain Delalot (France)0:00:56
14Andreas Hofer (Austria)0:01:00
15Antoine Duchesne (Canada)0:01:01
16Jaramillo Daniel Alexander (Colombia)0:01:06
17Daniil Fominykh (Kazakhstan)0:01:08
18Armands Becis (Latvia)0:01:13
19Bob Jungels (Luxembourg)0:01:15
20Wilco Kelderman (Netherlands)0:01:15
21Rafael Ferreira Reis (Portugal)0:01:17
22Tobias Ludvigsson (Sweden)0:01:21
23Michael Valgren Andersen (Denmark)0:01:22
24Kanstantsin Khviyuzau (Belarus)0:01:25
25Zoltan Sipos (Romania)0:01:31
26Jordan Kerby (Australia)0:01:31
27Andriy Orlov (Ukraine)0:01:35
28Stuart Wight (Canada)0:01:38
29Dylan Van Baarle (Netherlands)0:01:41
30Dronin Dronin Roman (Uzbekistan)0:01:43
31Andrea Dal Col (Italy)0:01:45
32Alex Kirsch (Luxembourg)0:01:47
33Ilia Koshevoy (Belarus)0:01:48
34Nathan Brown (United States Of America)0:01:50
35Jan Kadúch (Czech Republic)0:01:54
36Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Belgium)0:01:58
37Toms Skujins (Latvia)0:02:00
38Gregory Hugentobler (Switzerland)0:02:08
39Jan Keller (Switzerland)0:02:16
40Johann Van Zyl (South Africa)0:02:23
41Rodolfo Ivan Ficachi Garcia (Mexico)0:02:31
42Denis Shaimanov (Uzbekistan)0:02:32
43Eimantas Gudiskis (Lithuania)0:02:41
44Ivan Tsissaruk (Kazakhstan)0:02:44
45King Lok Cheung (Hong Kong, China)0:02:45
46Juan Carlos Riutort Martinez (Spain)0:02:54
47Pavel Gorenc (Slovenia)0:02:56
48Jan Polanc (Slovenia)0:03:01
49Athanasios Amoutzias (Greece)0:03:10
50Aaron Donnelly (Australia)0:03:12
51Sten Sarv (Estonia)0:03:21
52Javier Eduardo Gomez Pineda (Colombia)0:03:22
53Eduardo Winters (Brazil)0:03:31
54Murilo Afonso (Brazil)0:03:43
55Veaceslav Stolearenco (Republic of Moldova)0:03:50
56Oleksandr Golovash (Ukraine)0:04:01
57Rene Corella (Mexico)0:04:02
58Nikola Kozomara (Siberia)0:04:47
59Veaceslav Colotenco (Republic of Moldova)0:04:52
60Panagiotis Chionis (Greece)0:05:16
61Ahmad Badreddin Wais (Syrian Arab Republic)0:05:30
62Rasim Reis (Turkey)0:06:51
63Mohammad Abdul Baset (Syrian Arab Republic)0:08:05
DNFAdil Kurkut (Turkey)Row 63 - Cell 2
DNFAram Melikyan (Armenia)Row 64 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1