Baestaens notches third C1 win on US swing at Jingle Cross

Vincent Baestaens (CX Team Deschacht-Group Hens-Maes Containers) took solo win at elite men's C1 Jingle Cross contest
Vincent Baestaens (CX Team Deschacht-Group Hens-Maes Containers) took solo win at elite men's C1 Jingle Cross contest (Image credit: Jeff Corcoran/Jingle Cross)

Vincent Baestaens (CX Team Deschacht-Group Hens-Maes Containers) won the UCI C1 elite men's race under the lights on the opening day of Jingle Cross in Iowa City, Iowa, sweeping all three C1 races in which he has competed in the US this season. 

Thijs Aerts (Baloise Trek Lions) edged Eric Brunner (Blue Competition Cycles p/b Build) at the line to take second place, and the American was third. Trailing for fourth was Anton Ferdinande (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal).

Baestaens was in chase mode for most of the 12-lap Musco Friday Night Frights – River Products Company Chris Lillig C1 race and said he "was just lucky today" so he could continue his US streak.

“I have lucky [bib] number seven today because the other two guys were stronger than me, but sometimes you need to have luck," said Baestaens. "I changed bikes with three laps to go, in my mind it was already over, then the other guy [Brunner] came to me and said 'push' so I kept pushing and saw they were doubting each other and I said I can close the gap. On the last lap, they crashed in front of me, and I came past them."

Brunner set the early pace before a slip of gears the second pass up the signature course climb, Mt Krumpit. He then joined Baestaens and Thijs Aerts to chase solo leader Ferdinande. 

The American suffered a second mechanical on lap six that knocked him out of the lead group. Then Ferdinande slipped in a corner which allowed Aerts to catch on, with Brunner powering back to Baestaens in a fight for what looked like a bronze medal spot. 

Baestaens made his move to join the leading duo on the final lap, where Aerts crashed on the Mt Krumpit climb and took down Ferdaninde and the Belgian surged ahead for the victory. 

Friday's victory was also his fifth overall for the year, having swept C2 races at Rochester Cyclocross and Charm City Cross, which keeps him in a solid first-place position in the USCX Series, 30 points ahead of Kerry Werner (Kona Maxxis Shimano) with three races to go. He will sit out the C2 contest on Saturday to focus on the third round of the World Cup series on Sunday.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Vincent Baestaens (Bel) CX TEAM DESCHACHT-GROUP HENS-CO 1:00:45
2Thijs Aerts (Bel) BALOISE TREK LIONS 0:00:22
3Eric Brunner (USA) Blue Competition Cycles p/b Bui
4Anton Ferdinande (Bel) PAUWELS SAUZEN - BINGOAL 0:00:23
5Michael Van den Ham (Can) Easton Giant CX 0:00:52
6Gosse Van der Meer (Ned) *Bombdrike/Hunt 0:01:20
7Brannan Fix (USA) Fix Racing 0:01:30
8Andrew Dillman (USA) Rigd-Leitner 0:02:01
9Lance Haidet (USA) L39ION of Los Angeles 0:02:16
10Kerry Werner (USA) Kona Maxxis Shimano 0:02:48
11Scott Mcgill (USA) Aevolo 0:02:57
12Matt Leliveld (Can) Hardwood NextWave 0:03:00
13Jacob Leblanc (USA) Competitive Edge Racing 0:03:12
14Brian Matter (USA) Linear Sport Racing 0:03:13
15Matteo Oppizzi (Swi) Cannondale-Iland 0:03:23
16Lief Rodgers (Can) Giant Canada Off-Road Team 0:03:32
17Michael Larson (USA) Red Kite Fund 0:03:35
18Tommy Servetas (USA) Competitive Edge Racing 0:03:39
19Ross Ellwood (USA) Alpha Bicycle Co. - Groove Silv 0:03:41
20Mark Myles (USA) Be Real Sports
21Andrew Giniat (USA) The Pony Shop p/b KPMG
22Rory Jack (USA) The Pony Shop p/b KPMG
23Casey Hildebrandt (USA) Donkey Label
24Nick Carter (USA) NorthStar Development
25Dylan Zakrajsek (USA) KCCX Elite Cyclocross Team
26Terol Pursell (USA) Forever Endurance
27Joseph Schmalz (USA) Steve Tilford Foundation Racing
28Ian Mcdonald (USA) KCCX Elite Cyclocross Team
29Mathieu Belanger Barrette (Can) BarreTendre
30Hugo Brisebois (Can) Ride with Randall
31Frederick Junge (USA) Broom Wagon Works
32Vin Hludzinski (USA) Boulder Junior Cycling
33Nicholas Lando (USA) Competitive Edge Racing
34Nicholas Tabares (USA) ASU Devo Pro CX
35Jack Tanner (USA)
36Dillon Mcneill (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective
37Seamus O'Connor-Walker (USA) Donkey Label
38Finnegan O'Connor (USA) Comp Edge Racing
39Jeremy Bloyd-Peshkin (USA) The Pony Shop p/b KPMG
40Josh Bauer (USA) Angry Catfish - Endura
41Dakota Olsen (USA)
43Luke Arens (USA) Adapt Cycling
44Michael Sanders (USA) Wahoo Fitness
45Kevin Mcconnell (USA) Iowa City Cycling Club
46Nicholas Lemke (USA) KUHL Cycling Team
47Matthew Riley (USA) Linear Sport / Trek
48Thomas Savage (USA)
49Donald Morgan (USA) Pentabike Racing
DNFKyle Johnson (USA) J moneyz factory racing
DNFKaler Marshall (USA) Giant Bicycles/ HiFi Sound Elit
DNFLucas Stierwalt (USA) Alpha Bicycle Co.- Groove Silve
DNFBjorn Selander (USA) Team Walla Walla
DNFJules Van Kempen (USA)
DNFLuke Feuerhelm (USA) Aether Racing
DNFJonathan Anderson (USA) KCCX Elite Cyclocross Team

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews