Shirin van Anrooij wins night race for elite women at C1 Jingle Cross

Shirin van Anrooij (Baloise Trek Lions) dominated the women’s C1 race in Iowa City
Shirin van Anrooij (Baloise Trek Lions) dominated the women’s C1 race in Iowa City (Image credit: Jeff Corcoran/ Jingle Cross)

Shirin van Anrooij (Baloise Trek Lions) dominated the opening elite women's event at Jingle Cross weekend in Iowa City, Iowa solo across the line and win the C1 race, Musco Friday Night Frights – River Products Company Chris Lillig. 

The 19-year-old set off at the front of the race halfway through the second lap and crossed in the line 40 seconds clear of Hélene Clauzel (A.S. Bike Crossteam), who finished second. Caroline Mani (Pactimo Fierce Team) powered her way past Marion Norbert Riberolle (StarCasino CX Team) with three laps to go and secured third place.

The Elite women hit the course in warm weather and mostly dry conditions for racing under the lights at the Johnson County Fairgrounds in south Iowa City, but the course had developed a few slick corners, deep ruts in the sand, and tricky off-camber sections following a full day of amateur events.

“I really like this course, and the atmosphere is amazing,” said Van Anrooij. “I always love racing in the dark, so it makes for a fun evening. I like the sand races in Belgium, so I knew that was the place I should attack, so I just went full gas there.”

It was the first cyclo-cross victory for Van Anrooij riding for Baloise Trek Lions. She was 16th at the opening World Cup round in Waterloo and 11th at World Cup Fayetteville.

The C1 and C2 races at Jingle Cross are the third of four rounds for the USCX Series. With her third-place finish Friday, Mani moves into the top position of standings for elite women, 26 points ahead of Clara Honsinger (Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld), and 28 points ahead of Maghalie Rochette.

Following the C2 race on Saturday, Iowa City will host the third round of UCI World Cup racing on Sunday afternoon. at the Johnson County Fairgrounds in south Iowa City, Iowa.  

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Shirin Van Anrooij (Ned) BALOISE TREK LIONS 0:51:18
2Hélène Clauzel (Fra) AS Bike Cross Team 0:00:31
3Caroline Mani (Fra) Pactimo fierce team 0:00:49
4Marion Norbert Riberolle (Bel) STARCASINO CX TEAM 0:01:07
5Perrine Clauzel (Fra) AS Bike Cross Team 0:01:46
6Rebecca Fahringer (USA) Kona Maxxis Shimano 0:02:27
7Sunny Gilbert (USA) Blue Competition Cycles p/b Bui 0:02:37
8Anna Megale (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective 0:02:39
9Caitlin Bernstein (USA) Easton Overland / MCGOVERN CYCL 0:02:58
10Sidney Mcgill (Can) Pedalhead Race Room 0:02:59
11Lizzy Gunsalus (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld. 0:03:13
12Taylor Kuyk-White (USA) RSCX - HOUSE INDUSTRIES 0:04:50
13Lauren Zoerner (USA) Alpha Bicycle Company-Groove Si
14Jennifer Malik (USA) Paradise Garage Racing p/b Sman
15Nicole Bradbury (Can) Team Hamilton
16Erica Zaveta (USA) The Pony Shop p/b KPMG
17Austin Killips (USA) Pratt Racing
18Rachel Geiter (USA) Team Walla Walla
19Cassidy Hickey (USA) Bear National Team
20Anna Dorovskikh (USA) Orion Racing
21Anne Usher (USA) Fast Fun Nice p/b Wattie Ink
22Sophie Russenberger (USA) Team S&M CX
23Siobhan Kelly (Can) Black Dog Racing
24Erin Feldhausen (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective
25Caitlin Neuman (USA)
26Katelyn Walcroft (Can) Hardwood Next Wave
27Ellie Mitchell (USA) NWCX Project
28Molly Clark-Oien (USA) Parallel 44 Racing p/b Sanford
29Corey Coogan Cisek (USA) VeloRevolution=WP Cycles
30Stephanie Taplin (USA) Cascadia Wheel Co. Factory Team
31Emily Leonard (USA) Bissell-ABG-Giant
32Kelly Lawson (Can) Hardwood Next Wave
33Abby Strigel (USA) Team Supernice
34Robin Williams (USA) Geoff???s Bike and Ski
35Natalie Smith (USA) Ultra Violet
36Sarah Larson (USA) Bonsai Endurance / Zone 6
37Molly Lohry (USA)
DNFRaylyn Nuss (USA) Steve Tilford Foundation Racing
DNFMaria Larkin (Irl) Donkey Label Racing p/b FK Law
DNFRyley Mosher (USA) Competitive Edge Racing

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews