Vantornout victorious at Superprestige Gieten

What didn't seem possible in Belgium was accomplished in the Netherlands by Klaas Vantornout (Sunweb-Revor). The 30-year-old held off Belgian champion Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet-Euphony) to win the fifth round of the Superprestige series in Gieten, putting an end to Nys's unbeaten streak in the series. Due to the off-day of world champion Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus) - who finished fifth in Gieten - Nys's lead in the overall standings grows to a massive 11 points.

Before the race Vantornout stated that the winner was already known, hinting that it was impossible to beat Nys in circumstances like the ones the riders witnessed in Gieten. It was one for the big engines as the wind, mud or uphill stretches never allowed for recovery.

Vantornout smiled when referred to those statements. "I also said we would continue to try to beat him," Vantornout told Vier. "I'm doing a great season so far with a win in Ardooie and now even a Superprestige race. It's super."

Vantornout, the lieutenant of Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Revor), joined Nys and Pauwels when they caught Albert by surprise with an attack on the finishing straight just before hitting the fourth lap of the race. In the following four laps it became clear Albert wouldn't get back to the leading trio and the bell lap would bring the decision.

Vantornout took the initiative for most of the lap and in the final corners he gave it everything he had. Behind him Nys made a small mistake and he lost contact. "Shortly before the finish I accelerated and got a small gap. I heard Sven made a mistake. Without that mistake it would be hard to beat him in the sprint. I had to try and get a gap on him," Vantornout said.

Nevertheless, Vantornout struggled hard to bring the win home on the finishing straight as he lost his momentum in the headwind while Nys picked up speed behind him. Vantornout dug deep and with a finish line bike throw the Sunweb-Revor rider finished a few centimetres ahead of a hard-charging Nys to grab a big victory.

"I slipped just when I wanted to start my engine," Nys told Vier. "I did believe that it was still possible [to win], especially because of the headwind. I had something left in my legs and saw that he bonked. He rode his sprint just before the road. I probably fell 20cm short. It was a nice weekend, nevertheless. It can't be a party every time."

Pauwels was not in the mix for the sprint and completed the top three at a short distance behind. Rob Peeters (Telenet-Fidea) rode a strong race and was best of the rest. He finished fourth, ahead of Albert who was disappointed with his performance.

"As a world champion you can't be happy with a fifth place. I seem to suffer with the second race in each weekend," Albert said on Vier.

Further back Jonathan Page came from behind to grab a decent 15th place, confirming his performance from Asper-Gavere. The American seems on the way back up and added another Superprestige point to his tally in the Netherlands.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
1Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:54:06
2Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Euphony
3Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:00:10
4Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet - Fidea0:00:43
5Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus0:00:48
6Bart Aernouts (Bel) AA Drink Cyclocross Team0:00:57
7Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP - Powerplus0:01:18
8Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Style & Concept0:01:39
9Mariusz Gil (Pol) Baboco0:01:40
10Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Euphony0:01:43
11Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet - Fidea0:01:52
12Thijs van Amerongen (Ned) AA Drink Cyclocross Team0:01:58
13Lars van der Haar (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off-Road Team0:02:01
14Micky van Empel (Ned) Landbouwkrediet-KDL0:02:17
15Jonathan Page (USA)0:02:26
16Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:02:32
17Joeri Adams (Bel) Telenet - Fidea0:02:37
18Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus0:02:52
19Gerben de Knegt (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team0:03:01
20Mitchell Huenders (Ned)0:03:10
21Niels Wubben (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off-Road Team
22Lubomir Petrus (Cze) BKCP - Powerplus
23Radomir Simunek (Cze) BKCP - Powerplus
24Christoph Pfingsten (Ger) Cyclingteam De Rijke-Shanks0:04:02
25Marcel Meisen (Ger) BKCP - Powerplus0:04:49
26Eddy van IJzendoorn (Ned) 36Cycling0:05:02
27Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Euphony0:05:38
28Patrick van Leeuwen (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team0:05:57
29Thijs Al (Ned) Telenet - Fidea0:06:15
30Arnaud Jouffroy (Fra) Telenet - Fidea0:06:44
31Matthieu Boulo (Fra) Roubaix Lille Métropole0:06:59
32Jordy Luisman (Ned)0:07:28
33Arnaud Grand (Swi) Telenet - Fidea0:07:39
34Tim Rieckmann (Ger)-2laps
35Bart Barkhuis (Ned)-3laps
36Paul Timmer (Ned)-4laps
37Sebastian Sattler (Ger)
38Paul Heij (Ned)-5laps
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Superprestige standings after 5 rounds
1Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Euphony74pts
2Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus63
3Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb-Revor61
4Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor58
5Bart Aernouts (Bel) AA Drink Cyclocross Team51
6Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet - Fidea44
7Lars van der Haar (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off-Road Team42
8Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet - Fidea38
9Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team25
10Thijs van Amerongen (Ned) AA Drink Cyclocross Team21
11Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus16
12Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP - Powerplus15
13Marcel Meisen (Ger) BKCP - Powerplus14
14Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Style & Concept13
15Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet - Fidea11
16Mariusz Gil (Pol) Baboco10
17Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Euphony9
18Radomir Simunek (Cze) BKCP - Powerplus8
19Aurelien Duval (Fra) UV Aube7
20Twan van den Brand (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team5
21Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb-Revor5
22Jonathan Page (USA)5
23Martin Zlamalik (Cze) Landbouwkrediet-KDL2
24Micky van Empel (Ned) Landbouwkrediet-KDL2
25Niels Wubben (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off-Road Team1

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1