Wyman triumphs at Superprestige Ruddervoorde

European champion Helen Wyman (Kona) atoned for her disappointing performance at the previous day's World Cup round in the Czech Republic by riding away with the win in Ruddervoorde, Belgium, today at the opening round of the Superprestige series. After notching four victories on US soil at the start of this season's 'cross campaign, today's victory was the first in Europe for Wyman.

Wyman's compatriot, British 'cross champion Nikki Harris (Young Telenet-Fidea), finished second at 27 seconds after Wyman pulled away on the opening lap. Belgian champion Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP) dug deep to outsprint Gabby Durrin (Rapha-Focus) for third place 21 seconds later which prevented a British sweep of the podium.

The British women have enjoyed a remarkable string of success in Ruddervoorde as Wyman took her second win there in three years while runner-up Harris came into the race as the defending champion. Harris also finished 2nd to Wyman in 2011.

Wyman had placed 11th the previous day at the World Cup in Tabor, 1:19 off the pace of winner and new World Cup leader Katie Compton, but had a much better outing in Belgium.

"In the Czech Republic on Saturday I had a really bad day," said Wyman. "On that parcours and in those circumstances you cannot hide it.

"Today the feeling was much better for me on a course with a lot of variety. Hopefully I can repeat that performance this coming Friday at the Koppenbergcross, my Belgian home. However, I expect that Nikki will make it hard for me."

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
1Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona Factory Racing0:42:36
2Nikki Harris (GBr) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:00:27
3Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm-BKCP0:00:48
4Gabriella Durrin (GBr) Rapha-FocusRow 3 - Cell 2
5Ellen Van Loy (Bel) DNCS-Pro 2012 Cycling Team0:01:49
6Reza Hormes-Ravenstijn (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team0:02:16
7Loes Sels (Bel)0:02:38
8Yara Kastelijn (Ned) RTC Buitenlust0:02:55
9Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) Decock-Woningbouw Vandekerckhove0:03:12
10Laura Verdonschot (Bel) VZW Lotto-Ladiescycling0:03:24
11Ayako Toyooka (Jpn) Panasonic Ladies0:03:45
12Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Cycling Team Drogenboom0:04:09
13Lotte Eikelenboom (Ned) DRC De Mol0:04:21
14Stephanie De Croock (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Bioracer0:04:28
15Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Up Cycling Team0:04:32
16Ilona Meter (Ned)0:04:36
17Katrien Thijs (Bel) Up Cycling Team0:04:44
18Maud Kaptheyns (Ned)0:04:48
19Monique van de Ree (Ned)0:04:49
20Cindy Bauwens (Bel)0:05:31
21Femke Van den Driessche0:05:33
22Lizzy Witlox (Ned)0:05:53
23Lindy Van Anrooij (Ned) ZRTC Theo Middelkamp0:06:08
24Axelle Bellaert (Bel)0:06:15
25Hilde Quintens (Bel)0:07:12
26Esmee Oosterman (Ned) WRV De Peddelaars0:07:35
27Shana Maes (Bel)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Ilse Vandekinderen (Bel)0:07:53
29Gertie Willems (Bel)0:08:40
30Valerie Boonen (Bel)0:09:25
31Meg De Bruyne (Bel)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Aurélie Vermeir (Bel)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Anja Geldhof (Bel)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Sandie Verriest (Bel)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Katleen Fraeye (Bel)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Jo Blanchaert (Bel)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Cindy Diericx (Bel)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Caitlyn La Haye (Bel)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Maud Vandenbrande (Bel)Row 38 - Cell 2
40Melissa Peers (Bel)Row 39 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1