Skip to main content

Memmelaar and Gubernat fastest at Seven Springs

Seven Springs' first downhill race in several years drew 186 competitors to southwestern Pennsylvania for round three of the Gravity East Downhill Series. The weather cooperated, providing two perfect days in contrast to the storms that engulfed much of the East.

The race course was based on a trail designed by former world four cross champion Eric Carter. It featured bermed turns, jumps and a rock garden, and it soon became apparent that the race would be won or lost in the corners. The bottom jumps approaching the finish were in the open and in full view from anywhere in the expo area.

Jason Memmaelar ( / Manitou) won the men's race, proving he knows how to corner with a 2:10 finishing time that was three seconds faster than runner-up Alejandro Ortiz (NEMA).

On the women’s side, Stephanie Gubernat (Vertical Earth / Cutters Bike Shop) posted an even larger margin of victory as she won her first Gravity East downhill of the year by 3.5 seconds over Rae Gandolf (Sierra Nevada).

The Gravity East will continue with a downhill and dual slalom on June 27-28 at New York's Windham Mountain.

Elite men
1Jason Memmelaar ( Manitou Hayes)0:02:11
2Alejandro Ortiz (Trail Youth Adventures Newa Hayes)0:00:03
3Gavin Vaughan (Sinister Snowfire Racing)0:00:03
4Szymon Kowalski (Mojo Wheels)0:00:04
5Trevyn Newpher (Snowshoe Bike Park Kona)0:00:05
6Trevor Hallenbeck0:00:07
7Tim Price (Vics Tree Service)0:00:07
8Jeff Cayley (Fly Racing 1661)0:00:07
9Jonathan Gaber (Cutters Bike Shop)0:00:08
10Jason Beckley0:00:08
11Justin Gregory (Speedgoat Bicycles)0:00:08
12Ben Hulse0:00:08
13Tyler Wilson (X-fusion Intense)0:00:11
14John Leslie (High Gear Racing)0:00:17
15Marvin Scanland0:00:18
DNFErik Gosselin (Team Drop)

Elite women
1Stephanie Gubernat (Vertical Earth and Cutters Bike Shop)0:02:37
2Rae Gandolf (Sierra Nevada Brewing Co)0:00:04
3Hillary Elgert (Racers Edge)0:00:05
4Lauren Daney0:00:07
5Kristin Cousin (Team Fat Kids)0:00:29

Cat. 1 Men 19-29
1Adam Raphael (High Gear Racing)0:02:19
2Dan Godard (Mojo Wheels)0:00:01
3Alex Moschitti0:00:01
4Philip Noto0:00:03
5Dennis Yuroshek ( Hayes Group)0:00:03
6Mike Gruhler0:00:04
7Harrison Reynolds (Spin Bike Shop Reynolds Landscaping)0:00:06
8Tyler Bedick (Wamsley Cycles)0:00:07
9Clay Patterson0:00:07
10Burke Saunders0:00:08
11John Normand (Low Riders)0:00:08
12Andrew Farrell (Mad March Racing)0:00:13
13Justin Jackson (Pro Bikes)0:00:16
14Geoffrey Ayr0:00:19
DNSWill Pfahl

Cat. 1 Men 30-39
1Kevin Liebig (Racers Edge)0:02:19
2John Stewart (Traction Mag)0:00:03
3Thomas Schueler0:00:04
4Robin Klinkert (My Right Pocket)0:00:08
5Alan Jordan0:00:09
6Shawn Metcalf (Mongoose Tribe 661 Kenda Azonic)0:00:09
7Todd Nicholas (Gretnabikes Lupine Lights 661)0:00:10
8Bob Brien (MMR Bikeline of Allentown)0:00:10
9Mike Hummel (West Newton Bike Shop)0:00:10
10Chad Kelly (Allentown Bike Line)0:00:11
11Jason Rudy0:00:15
12Chris Kring (High Gear Racing)0:00:22
13Jeremy Hartman0:00:29

Cat. 1 Men 40-49
1Phil Cook (CHUMBA Racers Edge Inc)0:02:28
2Stefan Daney0:00:06
3Craig Jeffers (High Gear Racing)0:00:10
4John Malinowski (High Gear Racing)0:00:15
5Jacob Dallegro (Sinical Racing)0:00:17
6Michael Rothenbeck (Azonic Racers Edge)0:00:30
DNSRichard Thompson (Autism Awarenesss Chumba Oneil)

Cat. 1 Junior men 18 & under
1Sam Pensler (Inspired Athletes)0:02:22
2Logan Mulally (specialized team america)0:00:03
3Nathan Pensler (Coyote Hill)0:00:03
4Mike Gross (Team Drop)0:00:03
5Trevor Trinkino (Mojo Wheels)0:00:04
6Vance Nonno (Gemini Bike Shop)0:00:04
7Harrison Ory (Mojo Wheels)0:00:05
8Robert Lewis (7springs)0:00:09
Cat. 2 Men 19-29Cat 2 19-29
1Nick Panton0:02:34
2Mike Monger (Race Pace Bicycles)0:00:02
3Floyd Macheska (West Newton Bike Shop)0:00:04
4Nathan Parrish (Iron City Bikes)0:00:04
5Alex Kliesh0:00:05
6Daniel Waskiewicz (Traction Mag)0:00:05
7Chris Chmielewski (Wayfarer Bike)0:00:05
8Michael Fields (Race Pace Bicycles)0:00:05
9Joseph Short0:00:07
10Steven Czaplicki0:00:07
11Justin Reimonds0:00:08
12Jessee Mcmath0:00:08
13Kevin Cockerhham0:00:08
14Jonathan Zerbe (West Virginia University)0:00:08
15Josh Rosenthal (Rosie Racing Ted Uojcik)0:00:09
16Nick Davis (Sierra Nevada Brewing Co)0:00:09
17Doug Chieffe0:00:09
18Jason Hartman0:00:11
19Brian Martis0:00:11
20Samuel Koenig0:00:11
21Jonathan Howlette0:00:14
22Anthony Coluccio0:00:15
23Todd Foust0:00:16
24Brian Shannon0:00:16
25Adam Cain (Wu Tang Clan)0:00:18
26Jeffrey Nelson0:00:20
27Ethan Bodie0:00:21
28Clayton Schaefer0:00:22
29Aaron Kauhurik (Gretna Bikes)0:00:27
DNSChris Scotten
DNSWill Johnjulio
DNSDevon Chalfant
DNSJohn Connelly
Cat. 2 Men 30-39Cat 2 30-39
1Scott Metz0:02:29
2Heath Boedeker (Sierra Nevada Brewing Co)0:00:04
3Keith Jeziorski0:00:07
4James Murphy0:00:09
5Brian Kane0:00:12
6Nick Devore (Sierra Nevada Brewing Co)0:00:13
7James Boyer (Bike Shop NEMA)0:00:13
8David Morell (Denali Cycles)0:00:13
9Casey Coull0:00:14
10Luke Wenschhof0:00:14
11Mike Trimble (Racers Edge)0:00:16
12Jesse Burkes0:00:17
13Alan Bresnei (OMOB)0:00:17
14Tony Urbanek (O.M.O.B)0:00:20
15Kenneth Martin0:00:22
16James Broughton (Traction Mag)0:00:23
17David Craig0:00:24
18Chip Gray (Trails End Cycling)0:00:28
19Brian Elwood (Azonic EVS)0:00:32
Cat. 2 Men 40-49Cat 2 40-99
1Ian Starr0:02:38
2Daniel Riegner0:00:04
3William Daugherty0:00:09
4Larry Rambo (Denali Cycles)0:00:09
5Frank Endreson Jr (team town cycle)0:00:09
6Michael Strobel0:00:10
7Robert Bevard (Horns Hill Hucksters)0:00:11
8Jeff Wurthele0:00:12
9Gerald Rehm (Denali Cycles)0:00:17
DNSGeorge Bodycoat
DNSRick Bullotta
DNSShawn Fairburn
Cat. 2 Men Junior 18 & underCat 2 Jr 01-18
1Michael Barron0:02:34
2Malachi Artice (Frostburg Adventure)0:00:05
3Jeff Trimble0:00:08
4Ryan Mcgiboney0:00:10
5Ben Stablow0:00:11
6Samuel Degenhard (Bike Doctor)0:00:11
7Christop Blackwell0:00:14
8Lawrence Gloster0:00:17
9Brad Ritter (Lowe Riders)0:00:19
Cat. 3 Men 19-29Cat 3 19-29
1Matthew Fischesser0:02:39
2Jon Obrien0:00:11
3Jarris Goldeisen (Race Pace)0:00:11
4Andreas Zuernstein (My Right Pocket)0:00:13
5Corey Connare0:00:14
6Justin Mchenry0:00:15
7Todd Colligan0:00:18
8Michael Pickering0:00:19
9James Coffman0:00:22
10Brian Winters0:00:25
11Evan Strock0:00:27
12Alex Colby0:00:28
13Jared Schillinger0:00:55
14Aaron Kuehler0:01:11
DNSZach Overholt
DNSRyan Wiggins
DNSKent Baughman (Kent Baughman Racing)
Ben Palko

Cat. 3 Men 30-39
1Nathan Mattern0:02:44
2Greg Blessing0:00:04
3Ritch Ricker0:00:07
4Jon Posadny0:00:07
5Jason Hague0:00:07
6Jeff Murphy0:00:09
7Ryan Hensler (OMOB)0:00:10
8Raymond Monk0:00:19
9David Gray0:00:20
10Walter Connare (Horns Hill Hucksters 661 Azonic)0:00:20
11Patrick Cognitore0:00:25
12Jeff Morrison0:00:28
DNSPatrick Bellner
DNSJason Kuhns (OMOB)

Cat. 3 Men 40-49
1Alan Daum0:03:13
2Bruce Mccann (Team Amigos)0:00:09
3Doug Breslin (

Cat. 3 Junior men 18 & under
1Andrew Scherbick0:02:46
2Davis Nonno (Gemini Bike Shop)0:00:00
3Charlie Sliger0:00:05
4Pierce Taylor0:00:39

Junior men 14 & under
1Jimmy Leslie (661 Sunline Royal)0:02:45
2Shane Leslie (High Gear Racing)0:00:05
3Noah Fairburn0:00:06
4Mason Daugherty (Speedgoat)0:00:11
5Ben Bodycoat0:00:23
6Nick Gray0:00:58

Cat. 2 & 3 Women
1Heather Cowell0:02:57
2Liz Scorille (Horns Hill Hucksters)0:00:10
3Consuelo Bodie0:00:17
4Kristin Custer (Fat Jimmys)0:00:20


Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews