Skip to main content

Rasmussen wins in Denmark

Alex Rasmussen (Team Saxo Bank) won the GP Herning on Saturday ahead of Martin Mortensen and Joost Van Leijen (both Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team)

Rasmussen was part of a 12-man break away during the 198km stage, which featured 16 gravel sections. With 25km to go, he jumped from the lead group along with Mortensen.

Aware of Rasmussen's power, Mortensen attempted a solo break with just two kilometers to go to the finish line, but the Danish Rasmussen closed the gap and put in a superior sprint at the end.

"The plan was to make the race as hard as possible hoping that we would outnumber the other riders in the finale. A course with 16 gravel sections like this is an elimination race, but the domestic teams were not in the mood to give anything away, so we had to fight for it," said Rasmussen.

It was Rasmussen's second victory of 2010. He also won the scratch race at the World Championships. He'll head next to the 4 Jours de Dunkerque, with a focus on the time trial and overall.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alex Rasmussen (Den) Team Saxo Bank5:07:06
2Martin Mortensen (Den) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team0:00:03
3Joost Van Leijen (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team0:00:11
4Dominic Klemme (Ger) Team Saxo Bank
5Michael Reihs (Den) Team Designa Kokken - Blue Water
6Wouter Mol (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
7Rasmus Guldhammer (Den) Team HTC - Columbia
8Lasse Bochmann (Den) Glud & Marstrand - LRO Radgivning
9Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Team Saxo Bank0:00:14
10Andreas Frisch (Den) Team Energi FYN0:00:17
11Jonas Aaen Jörgensen (Den) Team Saxo Bank0:00:28
12Kasper Linde Jorgensen (Den) Glud & Marstrand - LRO Radgivning0:00:33
13Thomas Riber Sellebjerg (Den) Team Concordia Forsikring - Himmerland
14Timothy Vangheel (Bel) Palmans - Cras
15Kasper Jebjerg (Den) Team Designa Kokken - Blue Water
16Kristian Sobota (Den) Team Concordia Forsikring - Himmerland
17Jakob Bering (Den) Team Energi FYN0:00:37
18Kasper Klostergaard Larsen (Den) Team Saxo Bank0:00:39
19Jacob Nielsen (Den) Glud & Marstrand - LRO Radgivning0:01:24
20Sebastian Lander (Den) Team Concordia Forsikring - Himmerland0:01:27
21Morten Ollegaard (Den) Danish National Team
22Igor Abakoumov (Bel) ISD Continental Team
23Jesper Odgaard Nielsen (Den) Danish National Team
24Frederik Veuchelen (Bel) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
25Nikola Aistrup (Den) Team Concordia Forsikring - Himmerland
26Oystein Stake Laengen (Nor) Plussbank Cervelo
27Vaclav Hlavac (Cze) AC Sparta Praha
28René Joergensen (Den) Team Designa Kokken - Blue Water0:01:32
29Niklas Aakvik (Nor) Plussbank Cervelo
30Pelle Clapp (Den)
31Michael Berling (Den) Glud & Marstrand - LRO Radgivning0:01:45
32Michael Tronborg Kristensen (Den) Glud & Marstrand - LRO Radgivning
33Marc Hester (Den) Danish National Team
34Kaspar Larsen Schjonnemann (Den) Team Concordia Forsikring - Himmerland
35Morten Voss Christiansen (Den) Team Designa Kokken - Blue Water0:01:56
36Christer Jensen (Nor) Ringeriks - Kraft0:05:26
37Morten Kruse Brink (Den) Danish National Team
38Anatoliy Pakhtusov (Ukr) ISD Continental Team
39Hannes Gründlinger (Aut) Arbö Ktm - Gebrüder Weiss
40Josef Kugler (Aut) Arbö Ktm - Gebrüder Weiss
41Jens-Erik Madsen (Den) Team Designa Kokken - Blue Water0:05:29
42Yuriy Agarkov (Ukr) ISD Continental Team
43Kasper Malmkjaer (Den) Team Energi FYN0:05:31


Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews