Spitz, Kurschat take German titles

Olympic Champion Sabine Spitz (Central Ghost) won her tenth German national title on Sunday, while Wolfram Kurschat took the men's title.

Spitz took the lead immediately and had 30 seconds after the first of five laps. She went on to win by 2:27 over Adelheid Morath (Rothaus-Cube MTB Team) with Hanna Klein (Rothaus-Cube MTB Team) third. “Championships are always something special,” Spitz said. “I am very happy to be able to wear the the German national champion's jersey for another year.”

The men's race started out as a hard-fought duel between Kurschat and Moritz Milatz, with the two staying close for the first half of the race. Kurschat took off on the fourth of seven rounds and went on to a solo win, over two minutes ahead of Milatz. Jochen Käss finished third. “It was great to win the the jersey back again,” said Kurschat, who last year finished third, after winning the title in 2007.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite men
1Wolfram Kurschat1:40:48
2Moritz Milatz0:02:21
3Jochen Käß0:03:21
4Robert Mennen (Topeak Ergon Racing Team)0:08:36
5Benjamin Sonntag (Monavie-Connondale)0:09:53
6Markus Bauer (Lexware Racing Team)0:10:50
7Christopher Maletz (Zweirad Riese Racingteam)0:11:23
8Torsten Marx (DS-Rennsport)0:12:26
9Heiko Gutmann (Rothaus-Cube MTB Team)0:12:52
10Olaf Rochow (Fuji Bikes Europe)0:13:36
11Fabian Strecker (Lexware Racing Team)0:13:49
12Andi Weinhold (Fuji Bikes Europe)0:15:27
13Marco Schätzing (Zwillingscraft)0:16:49
14Simon Stiebjahn (Team Bulls)0:17:40
-1lapSteffen Thum (Mayer Arbeitsbühnen/Stevens Bikes)Row 14 - Cell 2
-2lapsAndy Eyring (Team Marin Bikes)Row 15 - Cell 2
-2lapsPascal Ketterer (Bergamont Race-Team)Row 16 - Cell 2
-2lapsDaniel Eiermann (Votec Racing Team)Row 17 - Cell 2
-2lapsRumen Voigt (Mühle Racing Team)Row 18 - Cell 2
-2lapsAndy Römhild (Team Germina)Row 19 - Cell 2
-3lapsMichael WießnerRow 20 - Cell 2
-3lapsSebastian Bergmann (Ghost Racing Team)Row 21 - Cell 2
-3lapsLutz BaumgärtelRow 22 - Cell 2
-3lapsMichael Rieder (Ghost Racing Team)Row 23 - Cell 2
-3lapsVero Lüscher (Mayer Arbeitsbühnen/Stevens Bikes)Row 24 - Cell 2
-3lapsDavid Hofmann (Lexware Racing Team)Row 25 - Cell 2
-3lapsSeverin SchweisguthRow 26 - Cell 2
-3lapsChristian DörflerRow 27 - Cell 2
-3lapsKai KautzRow 28 - Cell 2
-3lapsAchim BeckedahlRow 29 - Cell 2
-3lapsLutz BabilonRow 30 - Cell 2
-4lapsSebastian Weigel (Zweirad Riese Racingteam)Row 31 - Cell 2
-4lapsAlexander Speisekorn (Team Nolte-Küchen)Row 32 - Cell 2
-4lapsMario Waibel (Team Cmtb)Row 33 - Cell 2
-4lapsMichael FischerRow 34 - Cell 2
-4lapsSascha Schwindling (Team Endorfin-Solvis)Row 35 - Cell 2
-4lapsSönke Wegner (Reitter Racing Team)Row 36 - Cell 2
-4lapsOliver Vonhausen (Ghost Racing Team)Row 37 - Cell 2
-4lapsChristoph BaumannRow 38 - Cell 2
-4lapsGerrit Rosenkranz (Team Bergwerk)Row 39 - Cell 2
-4lapsTobias TrautmannRow 40 - Cell 2
-4lapsJan-Niklas Droste (Powerslide Racing)Row 41 - Cell 2
-5lapsLukas Schmitz (Team Bergamont)Row 42 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite women
1Sabine Spitz1:33:56
2Adelheid Morath (Rothaus-Cube MTB Team)0:02:27
3Hanna Klein (Rothaus-Cube MTB Team)0:03:15
4Anja Gradl (central Ghost Pro Team)0:04:17
5Ivonne Kraft (Tam Haibike)0:05:09
6Nina Wrobel (Multivan Merida Biking Team)0:05:13
7Elisabeth Brandau (Tam Haibike)0:08:45
8Katrin Schwing (Team Trek)0:10:25
9Melanie Späth0:12:20
10Nina Kunz (Merida Deutschland)0:13:38
11Gesa Brüchmann0:16:21
12Mailin Franke (Team Fuji Bikes Europe)0:18:26
-1lapKerstin Kögler (FX Sports)Row 12 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews