Cant wins Flandriencross

Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP)

Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP) (Image credit: Tim de Waele/

Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP) won the Kwadro Flandriencross on Sunday. After taking her second World Cup win of the season on Saturday in Milton Keynes, Cant went on to win the third Bpost Bank Trophy round in Hamme, Belgium, already her twelfth win of the season.

"Winning is never easy. It just keeps going on but I’m still very happy with it," Cant told The 24-year-old European and Belgian champion won on the fast course ahead of her compatriot Ellen Van Loy (Young Telenet-Fidea) and British champion Helen Wyman (Kona Factory Team).

Ellen Van Loy had a great start and created a small gap early on. Wyman and De Boer tried to close the gap but had to let her go. Cant didn’t waste too much time and closed the gap on her own.

"I started well but in the first lap some riders managed to overtake me. Apparently my pace wasn’t fast enough so I remained on their wheels. Then I got away with Ellen Van Loy," Cant said.

Wyman and De Boer were unable to keep up with the Belgian duo. Wyman lost a lot of ground but managed to fight her way back to third place. “I was riding strong but I punctured on the second lap. So I had to change bikes and I think I went back to seventh or eighth. To come back to three was really good. I was feeling strong and I was riding fast,” Wyman told

In front, Van Loy was setting the pace with Cant remaining comfortably on her wheel for a couple of laps. Afterwards Cant explained that she didn’t appreciate Van Loy’s racing style. “I wanted to exchange pulls but Ellen accelerated every time so I adapted my tactics too and sat on her wheel too. There was no other way. During the penultimate lap I attacked and managed to ride away metre per metre,” Cant said.

Van Loy didn’t seem to mind too much that Cant sat on her wheel. She enjoyed her time in the lead. In the final laps she had to let go of Cant, who easily grabbed the victory. “It was a fast race but that’s something I like. I was able to ride near the front for a long time, about three to four laps in the lead. Thanks to my efforts, the gap to third grew bigger. In the end I had to let go of Sanne. Sanne is outstanding these days so I’m pleased I was able to confirm my form with second place,” Van Loy said.

In the battle for third place, Wyman had to deal with Czech rider Pavla Havlikova (Young Telenet-Fidea). "I knew if I got the kick into the sprint then maybe I could win. I could take third place," Wyman said.

Sophie de Boer (Kalas-NNOF) led the Bpost Bank Trophy cyclo-cross series going into this third BPo-round. After struggling with the aftermath of a midweek crash in Milton Keynes the Dutch rider needed to limit her losses in Hamme. She managed to keep Wyman in sight but in the final lap De Boer crashed and lost some time, finishing fifth, ahead of Nikki Harris (Young Telenet-Fidea).

Two US-riders cracked the top-10 in Hamme – Kaitlin Antonneau (Cannondale) was eighth, Elle Anderson (Kalas-NNOF) tenth. Pan-American and US-champion Katie Compton (Trek Factory Racing) didn’t race in Hamme.

De Boer managed to hold on to the overall lead. Van Loy moves into second place at 1:11 from the leader. Wyman is now third at 2:04. Cant lost a lot of time in Ronse but now moves up to fourth place at 3:36 from De Boer.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm - BKCP0:43:42
2Ellen Van Loy (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:00:16
3Helen Wyman (GBr) Konfa FFSA Factory Team0:00:31
4Pavla Havlikova (Cze) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:00:33
5Sophie De Boer (Ned) Kalas-NNOF Cycling Team0:01:07
6Nikki Harris (GBr) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:01:08
7Loes Sels (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:01:10
8Kaitlin Antonneau (USA)0:01:48
9Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Wielerteam Decock-Woningbouw Vandekerckhove0:01:58
10Elle Anderson (USA) Kalas-NNOF Cycling Team0:02:03
11Maud Kaptheijns (Ned) AA Drink-B.R.I.S. Cycling Team0:02:12
12Bianca Van Den Hoek (Ned)0:02:33
13Meredith Miller (USA)0:02:51
14Githa Michiels (Bel)0:03:25
15Femke Van Den Driessche (Bel) VZW Lotto-Ladiescycling0:04:15
16Ceylin Del Carmen Alvarado (Ned)0:04:26
17Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) Wielerteam Decock-Woningbouw Vandekerckhove0:04:39
18Shana Maes (Bel) AA Drink-B.R.I.S. Cycling Team0:04:56
19Meg De Bruyne (Bel) VD Hauwe CT - Gentse VS0:05:30
20Christine Vardaros (USA)0:06:07
21Anja Nobus (Bel) Feestcomiteit Drogenboom0:06:34
22Anja Geldhof (Bel)0:07:15
23Gertie Willems (Bel) Kleur Op Maat cyclingteamRow 22 - Cell 2
24Suzie Godart (Ned)Row 23 - Cell 2
25Tine Verdeyen (Bel) Cycling Team Zemst VZWRow 24 - Cell 2
26Axelle Bellaert (Bel) AA Drink-B.R.I.S. Cycling TeamRow 25 - Cell 2
27Brenda Kaczmarczyk (Bel) Heylen Meubelcentrale Zlwc St.TruidenRow 26 - Cell 2
28Chris Van Dorsselaere (Bel) Rudyco-Janatrans Cycling TeamRow 27 - Cell 2
29Jessika Timmermans (Bel) Hageland Cycling TeamRow 28 - Cell 2
30Marijke De Pauw (Bel) WK Noord West BrabantRow 29 - Cell 2
31Jana Dobbelaere (Bel)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Cindy Diericx (Bel) Coolens Cycling TeamRow 31 - Cell 2
33Mieke Docx (Bel) C.T.- DJ.Matic-KortrijkRow 32 - Cell 2
34Maud Vandenbrande (Bel)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Sandie Verriest (Bel) Asfra Racing TeamRow 34 - Cell 2
36Maaike Lanssens (Bel) WC De Molenspurters MeulebekeRow 35 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews