Todone, Spiesser fastest among European master cross country racers

Kranjska Gora, a well known winter and summer resort in Slovenia, hosted the European Masters Downhill and Cross Country Championships this weekend for the second time since 2009. Fourteen titles were awarded to riders from seven countries.

A technical and physically demanding cross country course presented a problem for many riders, but not for the masters at the top of each age group. The strongest races were in the youngest groups, 30-34 and 35-39, in which the fastest set some amazing lap times.

Laurent Spiesser from France was the fastest of the day and took the title in the 30 to 34-year-old group, but the Italians got an excuse for the biggest party - their riders won four out of seven titles.

A list of title winners is below and complete results by category follow.

Male winners
30-34 years: Laurent Spiesser (Fra) Batibois Alsace
35-39 years: Massimo Folcarelli (Ita) ASD Dream Team
40-44 years: Carlo Manfredi Zaglio (Ita) Team Todesco ASD
45-49 years: Nereo Canale (Ita) Scavezzon Squadre Corse
50-54 years: Matthias Ball (Ger) Trek Domatec
55+ years: Benny Andrersson (Swe) Trek Sweden Racing

Female winner
All ages: Samira Todone (Ita) Caprivesi

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Samira Todone (Ita) Caprivesi1:19:52
2Anna Persson (Swe)0:05:05
3Lorena Zocca (Ita) Carraro Team0:07:30
-1lapGjertrud Bö (Nor) DFIRow 3 - Cell 2
-1lapVeronika Cseh (Hun) KTM-Erste LeasingRow 4 - Cell 2
-1lapCarina Börjesson (Swe) Trek Sweden RacingRow 5 - Cell 2
-2lapsPascale Devie (Fra) AC Bazancourt ReimsRow 6 - Cell 2
-5lapsChiara Selva (Ita) Spezzotto Bike Team - Morgantini…Row 7 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Men 30-34
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Laurent Spiesser (Fra) Batibois Alsace1:17:54
2Mirco Balducci (Ita) Team Galluzzi Acqua e Sapone0:01:40
3Ivan Degasperi (Ita) Team Todesco ASD0:02:31
4Manuel Moro (Ita) KI.CO.SYS. Cussigh Bike0:02:46
5Ivan Pintarelli (Ita) Team BSR0:04:36
6Marcell Grüner (Aut) URC Ötztal0:04:59
7Federico Ciani (Ita) Caprivesi0:05:08
8Denis Onuk (Slo) Ganesha team0:08:21
9Yoan Piguet (Fra) CCDIE0:08:59
10Tomasz Pierwocha (Pol) JBG-2 Professional MTB Team0:09:21
11Kevin Graux (Fra)0:10:42
-1lapChristian Berger (Swi) BSK Graf/RV AltenrheinRow 11 - Cell 2
-2lapsAleš Verbnik (Slo) KD Rajd TrekRow 12 - Cell 2
-2lapsMilo Burzi (Ita) Team Scott Pasquini Stella AzzurraRow 13 - Cell 2
-2lapsBoštjan Vižin (Slo) ŠD Supersnurf GiantRow 14 - Cell 2
-3lapsMirco Donadel (Ita) Scavezzon squadra corseRow 15 - Cell 2
-4lapsTomaž Kucan (Slo) KD Rajd TrekRow 16 - Cell 2
-5lapsChristian Leghissa (Ita) RCP-StevensRow 17 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Men 35-39
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Massimo Folcarelli (Ita) ASD Dream Team Cisterna1:20:27
2Vega Burzi (Ita) ASD Cicli Taddei0:01:27
3Dimitri Modesti (Ita) Team Todesco ASD0:02:02
4Massimiliano Leali (Ita) Team Manuel Bike0:06:18
5Marco Agricola (Ita) ADV Corratec0:08:26
-1lapPrimož Štrancar (Slo) Orbea GeaxRow 5 - Cell 2
-1lapAljoša Martinjaš (Slo) Calcit bike teamRow 6 - Cell 2
-1lapGiuseppe Calò (Ita) ASD Dream Team CisternaRow 7 - Cell 2
-1lapIgor Cornacchini (Slo) KRK Sova Scott TeamRow 8 - Cell 2
-2lapsAlesandro Chiades (Ita) CaprivesiRow 9 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Men 40-44
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Carlo Manfredi Zaglio (Ita) Team Todesco ASD1:22:52
2Gunnar Tojren (Swe) CK Norrtalje0:01:50
3Andrea Pendini (Ita) ADV Corratec0:03:04
4Gianni Panzarini (Ita) ASD Dream Team Cisterna0:04:50
-1lapEmiliano Ballardini (Ita) Team Todesco ASDRow 4 - Cell 2
-1lapMarkus Hahn (Aut) ARBÖ Merida PSV WienRow 5 - Cell 2
-1lapMichele Bazzanella (Ita) Team BSRRow 6 - Cell 2
-1lapLuca Zanandrea (Ita) Scavezzon squadra corseRow 7 - Cell 2
-1lapManfred Stiegler (Aut) RC Star BikeRow 8 - Cell 2
-1lapMilan Urbancic (Slo) KRK Sova Scott TeamRow 9 - Cell 2
-1lapPanu Vainio (Fin) Cycle Club HelsinkiRow 10 - Cell 2
-1lapJoachim Nischler (Ita) Lindenhof.itRow 11 - Cell 2
-2lapsSaša Javorovic (Cro) Ghost CroatiaRow 12 - Cell 2
-2lapsFranz Höllrigl (Ita) Lindenhof.itRow 13 - Cell 2
-2lapsFrancesco Castioni (Ita) Team Todesco ASDRow 14 - Cell 2
-2lapsRoberto Dominici (Ita) ASD Ciclomontanini Alice Ceramic…Row 15 - Cell 2
-3lapsMartin Bauer (Aut)Row 16 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Men 45-49
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Nereo Canale (Ita) Scavezzon squadra corse1:13:46
2Roberto Pesavento (Ita) Scavezzon squadra corse0:01:23
3Fco Javier Oki-Orbea Salamero Subias (Spa)0:02:42
4Christian Rolland (Fra) Alpes de Haute Provence0:04:57
5Peter Vesel (Slo) Uni Team Ljubljana0:05:04
6Peter Carlsson (Swe) Falkenbergs Cykeklubb0:06:45
7Hans-Peter Schmidt (Ger)0:07:28
8Rolf Svensson (Swe) Varbergs MTB0:07:51
9Johann Neumüller (Aut) RC ARBÖ Freistadt0:09:03
10Jacek Brzozka (Pol) JBG-2 Professional MTB Team0:10:00
-1lapSimon Marquart (Swi) Pink Gili/VC AltstättenRow 10 - Cell 2
-1lapAleš Boben (Slo) KK PostojnaRow 11 - Cell 2
-4lapsRenato Papaveri (Ita) Team Scott Pasquini Stella AzzurraRow 12 - Cell 2
-7lapsMassimiliano Fraiegari (Ita) ASD Francesco Moser Cycling Tea… 00:00:06.0Row 13 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Men 50-54
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Matthias Ball (Ger) Trek Domatec1:16:57
2Walter Perkmann (Ita) A.S.C. Sarntal Raiffeisen/Rad0:01:29
3Tommy Olsson (Swe) Norbegs CK0:02:06
4Urs Graf (Swi) BSK Graf/RV Altenrhein0:02:43
5Mads Bødker (Den) Team T-bikes0:03:46
6Werner Höpperger (Aut) Radclub Sonnpark Axams0:05:40
7Mauro Braidot (Ita) Caprivesi0:07:30
8Tine Zupan (Slo) KRK Sova Scott Team0:07:32
9Hans Ritzl (Ger) RC72 Peiting Erharts Bike Shop-M…0:09:02
-1lapAndy Widmer (Swi) BSK Graf/RV AltenrheinRow 9 - Cell 2
-1lapSerge Giraud (Fra)Row 10 - Cell 2
-1lapGiorgio Fontana (Ita) Team Todesco ASDRow 11 - Cell 2
-2lapsLeonardo Arici (Ita) Racing Rosola Bike ASDRow 12 - Cell 2
-3lapsHartmannthomas (Ger) Team 13 - Cell 2
-7lapsGiuseppe Zamparini (Ita) ASD Ciclomontanini Alice Ceramic…Row 14 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Men 55+
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Benny Andersson (Swe) Trek Sweden Racing1:18:46
2Renzo Valentini (Ita) Team BSR0:01:02
3Roberto Viviani (Ita)0:03:04
-1lapMassimo Burzi (Ita) Team Scott Pasquini Stella AzzurraRow 3 - Cell 2
-1lapChristian Jupillat (Fra)Row 4 - Cell 2
-2lapsGérard Bertrand (Fra) AC Bazancourt ReimsRow 5 - Cell 2
-2lapsAlain Bordin (Fra) Thionville VTTRow 6 - Cell 2
-3lapsGuy Durand (Fra)Row 7 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews