Marianne Vos wins Ethias Cross

Marianne Vos (CCC) enjoyed a winning start to her cyclo-cross season as she soloed to victory at the Ethias Cross in Essen on Saturday. 18-year-old Hungarian champion Blanka Kata Vas (Doltcini-NM Transport) took second place ahead of Anna Kay (Experza).

It was Vos’ first cyclo-cross race since she took bronze in the World Championships in February but she showed no signs of rustiness as she took an early lead in the company of Ellen Van Loy (Telenot Baloise Lions).

Midway through the race, Van Loy lost contact with Vos after she lost traction in the mud and had to unclip, and the Dutchwoman duly cruised clear to take a fine victory.

“I knew I was in form but in your first cyclo-cross race of the year, you never quite know how it will turn out,” Vos said, according to NOS. “I was a bit surprised when I set out in front. Luckily, Ellen Van Loy was still with me, but when she rode into the barriers, I was soon on my own.”

Behind, Vas proved the strongest of the chasers, and she set off in lone pursuit of Vos, crossing the line exactly one minute down in second place.

In the sprint for third place, Kay proved too quick for a flagging Van Loy. Aniek van Alphen came home in 5th ahead of Alicia Franck (Experza) and Loes Sels (IKO-Crelan).


Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Marianne Vos (Ned) Ccc - Liv 0:47:57
2Kata Blanka Vas (Hun) 0:01:00
3Anna Kay (GBr) Experza Pro Cx 0:01:07
4Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Telenet Baloise Lions
5Aniek Van Alphen (Ned)
6Alicia Franck (Bel) Experza Pro Cx
7Loes Sels (Bel) Iko – Crelan 0:01:10
8Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Iko – Crelan 0:01:20
9Lindy Van Anrooij (Ned) 0:01:30
10Marion Norbert Riberolle (Fra) Experza Pro Cx 0:01:32
11Geerte Hoeke (Ned) 0:01:42
12Kim Van De Steene (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex 0:02:35
13Pauliena Rooijakkers (Ned) 0:02:58
14Pauline Delhaye (Fra) 0:03:21
15Suzanne Verhoeven (Bel) 0:03:43
16Nicole Göldi (Swi) 0:03:48
17Kiona Crabbé (Bel) 0:04:37
18Elodie Kuijper (Ned) 0:04:44
19Abby-Mae Parkinson (GBr) Trinity Racing
20Evy Kuijpers (Ned)
21Monique Van De Ree (Ned) 0:04:46
22Kim Van De Putte (Bel) 0:05:23
23Hannah Van Boven (Ned) 0:05:35
24Tinne Vermeiren (Bel) 0:05:54
25Shana Maes (Bel) 0:06:05
26Tessa Zwaenepoel (Bel) 0:06:13
27Famke Van Waterschoot (Ned) 0:06:18
28Barbara Borowiecka (Pol)
29Camille Devigne (Fra) 0:06:40
30Julie Brouwers (Bel)
31Svenja Wüthrich (Swi)
32Lise Van Wunsel (Bel)
33Meg De Bruyne (Bel)
34Kätlin Kukk (Est)
35Corey Coogan Cisek (USA)
36Aimée Schoe (Ned)
37Michelle Schätti (Swi)
38Fabienne Kipfmüller (Swi)
39Tess Van Loy (Bel)
40Nele De Vos (Bel)
41Siobhan Kelly (Can)
42Nina Keller (Swi)
43Lies´L Schevenels (Bel)
44Valerie Boonen (Bel)
45Michelle Geoghegan (Irl)
46Guzel Akhmadullina (Rus)
47Lieke Van Weereld (Ned)
48Lisette Schoon (Ned)
DNFJinse Peeters (Bel)
DNFKiona Dhont (Bel)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1