Lars van der Haar rides solo to regain Dutch cyclo-cross national title

Lars van der Haar won the elite men's Dutch Cyclo-cross National Championship on Sunday
Lars van der Haar won the elite men's Dutch Cyclo-cross National Championship on Sunday (Image credit: Getty Images)

Lars van der Haar recaptured an evasive title at the Dutch Cyclo-cross National Championships on Sunday, taking a solo victory with an uncontested ride in Rucphen. 

The battle for silver was a duel between 21-year-old Mees Hendrikx and veteran Corné van Kessel. The 30-year-old broke free of the current U23 World Cup leader on the final lap to finish second, leaving the bronze to Hendrikx.

Under bright sunshine the reigning European Champion broke a string of three consecutive runner-up finishes to Mathieu van der Poel, who pulled out of the Heusden-Zolder Superprestige, his second cyclo-cross race of the winter, due to a recurring back injury and discontinued his off-road season. 

Van der Haar last won the Dutch title in back-to-back years, 2013 and 2014, then Van der Poel proved best for the next six editions. He broke free from all competitors after the first lap for solo laps on the course, unlike his World Cup win in Tabor earlier this season where he managed to distance World Cup leader Eli Iserbyt (Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal) and Quinten Hermans (Tormans - Circus Cyclo Cross Team) by 11 and 15 seconds, respectively. 

"I felt that I could really only lose here," Van der Haar reflected at the finish in his comments to Sporza

"I was going to divide my race into sections. The last two rounds I was able to slow down a bit, just drive at my own pace. It was clear, I could see exactly where my competitors were driving."

Only the newly-crowned Dutch champion and Van Kessel will represent the Netherlands for the elite men at the World Championships in Fayetteville, Arkansas at the end of the month. 

"I think I was actually better around the European Championship than today. I'm mainly training very hard now and focusing on the World [Championship]. Getting another jersey would be really special."

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lars van der Haar 1:02:05
2Corne van Kessel 0:00:51
3Mees Hendrikx 0:00:58
4Ryan Kamp 0:01:23
5Pim Ronhaar 0:02:17
6David van der Poel
7Stan Godrie 0:03:06
8Danny van Lierop 0:03:22
9Tibor del Grosso
10Luke Verburg 0:04:07
11Bailey Groenendaal
12Gosse van der Meer 0:05:16
13Klaas Groenen 0:05:24
14Koen van Dijke
15Lucas Janssen 0:05:50
16Hugo Kars
17Joost Brinkman 0:06:35
18Joren Bloem 0:07:42
19Salvador Alvarado
20Pete Uptegrove
21Gert-Jan Bosman
22Jardi Christiaan van der Lee
23Marco Ehlert
24Paul Snip
25Koen van Helvoirt
26Dylan Strik
27Marino Noordam
28Max Goris
29Bart de Veer
30Lucas Keuning
31Chris van Dijk
32Robin van Poppel
33Mike Bronswijk
34Omar Koudijs
35Lars van Ark
36James Potter
37Sam Oosterholt
38Sam Kerkvliet
39Niek Hoornsman
40Niels Verbruggen
41Menno van Capel
42Perry Wit
43Jesse Sytema
44Luuk Holslag
45Lars de Weerd
46Bas van der Burg
47Beau van Izerloo
48Vincent Fackeldey
49Hugo Jansen
50Jasir Kuiper
51Sam Errens
52Wessel Coppelmans
53Yoep van der Peet
54Stef Hendriks
55Lucas Brandt
56Jordi Steenbakkers
DNFMike Hooiveld
DNFDennis Brouwer
DNFTwan van der Drift
DNFStef Ter Laak

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews