Skip to main content

Vos beats Brand to win Dutch cyclo-cross national title

Marianne Vos
Marianne Vos (Image credit: Getty Images)

Marianne Vos (Jumbo-Visma) beat Lucinda Brand (Baloise Trek Lions) to win the highly contested elite women’s Dutch Cyclo-cross National Championships

Vos used her improving form to distance Brand mid-way through the 50-minute race and then skillfully opened a 20-second gap on the fast Rucphen circuit recently used for a round of the World Cup. 

Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Alpecin-Fenix) managed to shake off Denise Betsema (Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal) but was unable to catch Brand and so completed the podium. 

Fem van Empel was the best under-23 rider but no official title was awarded. 

Thirty-four-year-old Vos took her seventh national title and so will race in the red, white and blue national champion’s jersey for the next 12 months.

Vos and Brand quickly distanced their rivals on the opening lap and reached the spectacular 'carousel' maze section together. However their rivals closed the gap and then swapped positions, with the slightest error shuffling the riders on the fast course.  

Vos attacked on the second lap and lined out her rivals. Brand, who has won recent national titles, initially stayed in contact but then slowly lost ground as she struggled to match Vos’ electric pace.  

She continued to open her lead in the second half of the race, producing a near perfect ride. She had not raced since the Hulst World Cup race on January 2 but appears on track to peak for the World Championships in Fayetteville, Arkansas at the end of January. 

Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Marianne Vos 0:51:15
2Lucinda Brand 0:00:19
3Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado 0:00:32
4Fem van Empel 0:00:51
5Shirin van Anrooij 0:00:53
6Denise Betsema 0:01:04
7Yara Kastelijn 0:01:15
8Annemarie Worst 0:01:18
9Puck Pieterse 0:01:35
10Manon Bakker 0:02:28
11Aniek van Alphen 0:02:34
12Isa Nomden 0:06:24
13Maud Kaptheijns 0:06:37
14Susanne Meistrok 0:07:37
15Lotte Koopmans 0:07:54
16Iris Offerein 0:07:58
17Rosa van Doorn 0:08:03
18Elodie Kuijper
19Larissa Hartog
20Veerle Goossens
21Marlies Vos
22Esther van der Burg
23Anne van Rooijen
24Femke Gerritse
25Wendy Oosterwoud
26Anke Brok
27Elleke Claessen
28Femke Gort
29Danique van Espelo
30Lisa van Helvoirt
31Sera Gademan
32Laura van der Zwaan
33Puck Pinxt
34Anniek Mos
35Isa Pieterse
36Lieke van Weereld
37Indy van Os
38Lisa Dorussen
39Lisanne Immerzeel
40Anouk Reen
41Lieske Coumans
42Tessa Sandberg
43Anoek Kuijpers
44Eva van den Born
45Lora Bonthuis
46Miranda Bik
47Lisette Schoon
48Inge Neijenhuis
49Bianca van den Belt
DNFInge van der Heijden
DNSDidi De Vries
DNFFamke van Waterschoot

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews