Mathieu van der Poel wins Cyclocross Gullegem

Dutch Mathieu Van Der Poel celebrates as he crosses the finish line to win the mens elite race of the Gullegem Cyclocross cycling event in Gullegem on January 2 2021 Photo by DAVID STOCKMAN BELGA AFP Belgium OUT Photo by DAVID STOCKMANBELGAAFP via Getty Images
Mathieu van der Poel celebrates his seventh win of season (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) scored his seventh win in 10 starts this season, and fourth consecutive win in a week, powering through a faulty start and the heavy mud at Cyclocross Gullegem on Saturday.

As expected, the race provided an early battle between Van der Poel and Briton Tom Pidcock (Trinity Racing), as the wheels of Wout van Aert, Laurens Sweeck, Michael Vanthourenhout and Toon Aerts would take the day off to target Sunday’s World Cup race in Hulst.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van der Poel (Ned) Alpecin - Fenix 1:00:35
2Thomas Pidcock (GBr) Trinity Racing 0:00:45
3Jens Adams (Bel) 0:00:53
4Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Credishop-fristads 0:00:57
5Felipe Orts Lloret (Spa) Teika-bh-gsport 0:01:27
6Diether Sweeck (Bel) Credishop-fristads 0:01:45
7Joran Wyseure (Bel) 0:01:51
8Emiel Verstrynge (Bel) Tormans Cyclo Cross Team 0:02:03
9Thibau Nys (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 0:02:17
10Jim Aernouts (Bel) Baloise Trek Lions 0:02:23
11Arne Vrachten (Bel) 0:02:54
12Gianni Siebens (Bel) 0:03:25
13Kevin Suarez Fernandez (Spa) Nesta - Skoda Alecar cx Team 0:03:34
14Julian Siemons (Bel) 0:03:39
15Stan Godrie (Ned) 0:03:43
16Kyle Agterberg (Ned) 0:03:45
17Witse Meeussen (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:03:48
18Arno Van den Broeck (Bel) 0:04:27
19Joachim Van Looveren (Bel) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini Ct
20Len Dejonghe (Bel) Group Hens - Maes Containers 0:04:50
21Koen Van Dijke (Ned) 0:04:57
22Arthur Tropardy (Fra) 0:05:07
23Klaas Groenen (Ned) 0:05:17
24Thibaut De Smet (Bel) 0:05:24
25Dolf Pemen (Bel) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini Ct 0:05:49
26Wout Vervoort (Bel) 0:05:58
27Lennert Belmans (Bel) Iko - Crelan 0:06:13
28Thomas Verheyen (Bel) 0:06:34
29Mario Junquera san Millan (Spa) 0:08:45
30Nicolas De Smet (Bel) 1 lap
31David Conroy (Irl) 2 laps
32Ydris Salomez (Bel) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini Ct2 laps
33Elio Clarysse (Bel) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini Ct2 laps
34Justin Laevens (Bel) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini Ct3 laps
35Jonathan Anderson (USA) 3 laps
36Andrew Giniat (USA) 3 laps
DNFIvan Feijoo Alberte (Spa) Nesta - Skoda Alecar cx TeamRow 36 - Cell 2
DNFRobin Alderweireld (Bel) Row 37 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews