Jeremy Martin beats teammate Schooler to win Canadian cyclo-cross title

Aaron Schooler in the chase for 2nd.

Aaron Schooler in the chase for 2nd. (Image credit: Jon Safka/

Jeremy Martin (Focus CX Team Canada) won the elite men's national title at the Canadian Cyclo-cross Championships held in Sherbrooke, Quebec, Sunday. He finished 22 seconds ahead of teammate Aaron Schooler and 38 seconds ahead of multiple-time champion Geoff Kabush (Scott 3Rox Racing).

Martin attacked a leading group with two laps to go and quickly gained 10 seconds. In the two-man chase, Kabush crashed and Schooler went on to take second place, leaving the former champion in third place.

Defending champion Raphael Gagne (Cannondale) finished sixth.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jérémy Martin (Focus CX Team Canada)0:56:27
2Aaron Schooler (Focus CX Team Canada)0:00:22
3Geoff Kabush (Scott-3Rox Racing)0:00:38
4Mark McConnell (Hot Sauce Cycling X Garneau)0:01:10
5Michael van den Ham (Garneau - Easton Cycling)0:01:31
6Raphael Gagné (Cannondale)0:01:48
7Andrew L Esperance (Norco Factory Team)0:02:10
8Léandre Bouchard (Cyclone D alma)0:02:42
9Craig Richey (Garneau - Easton Cycling)Row 8 - Cell 2
10Derrick St John (Van Dessel p/b Hyperthreads)0:03:29
11Marc-André Daigle (Garneau - Easton Cycling)0:03:45
12Evan McNeely (Norco Factory Team)0:05:25
13Alexandre Vialle (Specialized Canada)0:05:44
14Tyler Medaglia (Bike Monkey Nova Scotia)0:06:02
15Osmond Bakker (Wheels of Bloor)0:06:15
16Mathieu Bélanger-Barrette (Pivot Cycles - On The Edge Canada)0:06:27
17Jean-Philippe Thibault-Roberge (Trek Cyclocross Collective)0:08:05
18Aroussen Laflamme (Trek-GPL)0:08:25
19Félix Côté Bouvette (Veloselect)0:09:00
20Sylvain Jean (Mad Alchemy)0:09:06
21Etienne Moreau (Garneau-Québec)0:09:18
22Jon Burgess (Team Nova Scotia)0:09:47
23Anton Varabei (Realdeal/DOrnellas p/b Garneau)0:10:01
24Chris Barson ( Rousseau/Garneau)0:10:02
25David Maltais (Garneau-Québec)0:11:11
26Martin Gilbert (Independent)Row 25 - Cell 2
27Matt Surch (Tekne Cycle Club)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Antoine Proulx (Vélo Plein Air)Row 27 - Cell 2
29William Goodfellow (Independent)Row 28 - Cell 2
30Guillaume Boivin (Cycling Academy)Row 29 - Cell 2
31Peter Mancini (Independent)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Jean-Francois Laroche (Independent)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Nicolas Côté (Ibike)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Alexis Lepage (Independent)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Sean Poulter (Lapdogs Cycling Club)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Martial Lavoie (Proco Tourcom)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Jan Goh (Bikurious Racing Collective)Row 36 - Cell 2
DNFChristopher Mitchell (Thunder Bay Cycling Club)Row 37 - Cell 2
DNSJacques Cormier (Midweek Cycling)Row 38 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews