Skip to main content

Fleeman wins British Hill-climb Championships

Dan Fleeman (Cervelo TestTeam)

Dan Fleeman (Cervelo TestTeam) (Image credit: Chris Lees)

Daniel Fleeman claimed victory in the 2009 British Hill-climb Championships on Sunday afternoon in Sheffield, England. The Cervelo TestTeam rider finished 14 seconds ahead of Matt Clinton ( and 22 seconds clear of Jim Henderson (Southport CC).

Fleeman covered the short, though brutal 1.1 kilometre ascent of Pea Royd Lane in the Sheffield suburb of Stocksbridge in three minutes and 18. The ProTour rider averaged a shade under 20km/h on the infamous street, which features pitches of up to 20 percent gradient.

1Dan Fleeman (Cervelo Test Team)0:03:18
2Matt Clinton (
3Jim Henderson (Southport CC)0:00:22
4Michael Smith (Team Milton Keynes)0:00:22
5Adam Pinder (Blackburn & District CTC)0:00:25
6David Clarke (Pendragon Kalas RT)0:00:26
7David Griffiths (Paramount CRT)0:00:26
8Charles Taylor (South Pennine RC)0:00:28
9Robert Gough (Chippenham & District Wheelers)0:00:30
10Mike Cuming (Raleigh Avanti)0:00:30
11Chris Myhill (Peak RC)0:00:30
12Tejvan Pettinger (Sri Chinmoy Cycling Team)0:00:32
13James Dobbin (Arctic Premier RT)0:00:32
14Peter Tadros (In Gear Quickvit RT)0:00:34
15Danny Axford (Arctic Premier RT)0:00:36
16Mark Arnold (API Metrow)0:00:38
17Darren Atkins (Coventry RC)0:00:41
18Rob Watkinson (Doncaster Wheelers)0:00:43
19Laurie Brooking (Buxton CC)0:00:43
20Sam Clark (Buxton CC)0:00:46
21Adam Powe (VC Cumbria)0:00:47
22Carl Helliwell (Blackburn & District CTC)0:00:49
23James Allen (Sheffrec CC)0:00:49
24John Storms (Kingston Wheelers)0:00:50
25Lee Baldwin (Buxton CC)0:00:52
26Alistair Robinson (Endura Racing)0:00:52
27Phil Lisher (Team Welwyn)0:00:53
28James Shaw (Pembrokeshire Velo)0:00:54
29Adrian Lawrence (Lancashire RC)0:00:54
30Neil Blessitt (Severn RC)0:00:54
31Jim Cheek (In Gear Quickvit RT)0:00:56
32Ben Kellet (Holme Valley Wheelers)0:00:57
33Glyndwr Griffiths (Bristol South CC)0:00:58
34Neil Bentley (Sheffrec CC)
35Jake Tanner (Team Sportscover-Spuik-JEJames)0:00:58
36Chris Edmondson (Blackburn & District CTC)0:00:58
37Simon Warren (Norwood Paragon CC)0:00:58
38Chris Baines (Buxton CC)0:01:00
39Alexander King (Twickenham CC)0:01:01
40David Watson (Coventry RC)0:01:02
41Ian Taylor (NFM Racing Team)0:01:02
42Peter Greenwood (Clayton Velo)0:01:03
43Ian Stott (Blackburn & District CTC)0:01:04
44Christopher Green (Matlock CC)0:01:05
45Ian Kenworthy (Oldham Century RC)0:01:06
46Anton Blackie (Oxford University CC)0:01:07
47Rob Jackson (Cambridge CC)0:01:07
48Paul Smith (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)0:01:08
49Ben Lane (VC Azzuri)0:01:09
50Tom Bailey (Rutland CC)0:01:09
51Mark Turnbull (Leigh Premier RC)
52Chris Leverton (Altura RT)0:01:09
53Jack Green (VC St.Raphael)0:01:10
54Josh Teasdale (
55David Thompson (Scarborough Paragon CC)0:01:13
56Kellie Sidwell (Hinckley CRC)
57Jacob Ragan (Rochdale Tri Club)0:01:15
58Mark Holt (Cambridge University CC)0:01:17
59Paul Thirling (
60Stephen Robinson (Holme Valley Wheelers)0:01:18
61Carl Mustill (Ferryhill Wheelers)0:01:20
62Rob Weare (Team Midland Racing)0:01:21
63Paul Murphy (Tyneside Vagabonds CC)0:01:22
64Paul Caton (Anders Electronics TMG Horizon)0:01:22
65Owen Mitton (Huddersfield RC)0:01:23
66Paul Brierley (Huddersfield RC)0:01:24
67John Ealing (Rossendale RC)0:01:25
68James Baillie (Sheffield Sports CC)0:01:27
69Robert Gallagher (Buxton CC)0:01:27
70Marc Allen (Swindon RC)0:01:28
71David Boughton (Coventry RC)0:01:29
72Peter Hey (West Pennine RC)0:01:29
73Luke Simpson (Leeds St.Christophers)0:01:31
74Dave Preece (Worcester St.Johns CC)0:01:31
75Anna Fischer (Maxgear RT)0:01:37
76Paul Kippax (Rutland CC)0:01:38
77Lynn Hamel (Team NCA)
78Paul Targett (Pendle Forest CC)0:01:40
79Darren Gill (Birdwell Wheelers)0:01:41
80Callum Rogers (Scunthorpe Poly CC)0:01:43
81Samuel Clark (Scunthorpe RC)0:01:45
82James Atkinson (Yorkshire RC)0:01:45
83Dougi Hall (Border City Wheelers)0:01:47
84Jahan Hunter (Ashley Touring CC)0:01:47
85Arthur Green (Matlock CC)0:01:47
86Ian Shapiro (Stockport Clarion CC)0:01:48
87Andrew Ziemacki (Rotherham Wheelers)0:01:52
88Nicholas Woolley (Buxton CC)0:01:52
89Shaun Eden (Mapperley CC)0:01:53
90Lee Cairns (Sherwood Pines CC)0:01:54
91Andrew Pyatt (Janus RC)0:01:55
92Leon Gledhill (Holme Valley Wheelers)0:01:56
93David Brearley (Cottingham Coureurs)0:01:56
94Claire Cook (Paramount CRT)0:01:59
95Robert Busby (Richardsons RT)0:02:01
96Ralph Keeler (Cambridge CC)0:02:03
97Paul Lawson (Weaver Valley CC)0:02:03
98Jamie Leung (Glendene CC)0:02:04
99Andrew Edmond (Altura RT)0:02:04
100Richard Birkin (Ashfield RC)0:02:05
101John Green (Leek CC)0:02:09
102Jane Kilmartin (London Phoenix)0:02:14
103Kevin Jeffs (Coventry CC)0:02:15
104Nigel Bennett (Meanwood Wheelers)0:02:18
105Thomas Walker (Eastlands Velo)0:02:18
106Mark Sanders (Mid Devon CC)0:02:18
107Mike Westmorland (Border City Wheelers)0:02:20
108Lee Watson (Richardsons RT)0:02:21
109Trevor Pain (North Hampshire RC)0:02:24
110Hannah Walker (GS Surosa)0:02:28
111Harmonie Waterman (Holme Valley Wheelers)0:02:33
112Michael Ives (Team Endura MI Racing)0:02:42
113Dawn Sherrin (VC Azzuri)0:02:46
114David Francis (Sid Valley CC)0:02:50
115Chris Jones (Bynea RC)0:02:57
116Ken Roberts (Preston Wheelers)0:02:58
117Jonathan Poole (Ashley Touring CC)0:03:00
118Alexandra Zebedee (Speedwell BC)0:03:07
119Victoria Ware (VC Moulin)0:03:20
120Sam Mansfield (Manchester Wheelers CC)0:03:31
121Rod Goodfellow (North Lancs RC)0:03:35
122Peter Greenhalgh (45 RC)0:03:36
123Geoffrey Southworth (Ashley Touring CC)0:04:55
124Jack Mottershaw (Leicestershire RC)0:05:01
DNFRory Campbell (London Phoenix CC)
DNFAlex Deck (JE James RT)
DNSHugh Carthy (
DNSStewart House (Arctic Premier RT)
DNSJack Penrice (Sportcity Velo)
DNSTony Mckenna (Middridge CRT)
DNSJames Knox (Kent Valley RC)
DNSAndrew Oliver (Altura RT)
DNSJonathan Knox (Kent Valley RC)
DNSCharlie Beeny (Brighton Excelsior CC)
DNSOliver Futrell (Holme Valley Wheelers)
DNSCarlo Berton (Border City Wheelers)
DNSJohn Hey (West Pennine RC)
DNSStephen Nunn (Arctic Premier RT)
DNSWill Dorsett (North Norfolk Wheelers)
DNSDaniel Gee (Ashfield RC)
DNSMatthew Green (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
DNSLee Panozzo (Coventry RC)
DNSJoe Smalley (Ashley Touring CC)
DNSKevin Couldwell (Doncaster Wheelers)
DNSMatthew Melville (
DNSBen Williams (New Brighton CC)
DNSAlistair Kay (York Cycleworks)
DNSSara Blackburn (Team NCA)
DNSWill Manger (Larkfield Cyles)
DNSSorrelle Le Cornu (Swindon RC)
DNSIvan Boyes (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
DNSJessica Roberts (Hambleton RC)
DNSAdrian Rodgers (Worthing Excelsior CC)
DNSOwain Lovell (Ashfield RC)
DNSDaniel Shand (West Pennine RC)
DNSDavid Rimmer (Janus RT)
DNSIain McColl (Maldon & District CC)
DNSNatalie Barnard (Loughborough Students CC)


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1