Schleck takes Curacao criterium

Fränk Schleck took what will surely be his last win in a Saxo Bank jersey on Sunday when he won the ninth edition of the Amstel Curacao Race on the Caribbean island in the Dutch Antilles.

Schleck jumped away from the rest of the peloton to win alone, while Italy’s Alessandro Petacchi (Lampre-Farnese Vini) edged out Niki Terpstra (Milram) in the sprint for second place.

A total of 150 riders took part, including 15 professionals. These include Andy and Fränk Schleck, Petacchi, Terpstra, Grischa Niermann, Bauke Mollema and Koos Moerenhout (Rabobank), Danilo Hondo (Lampre-Farnese Vini), Jakob Fuglsang (Saxo Bank), Matteo Bono (Lampre-Farnese Vini), Jurgen van de Broeck (Omega Pharma-Lotto), Tony Martin (HTC-Columbia) and Wout Poels (Vacansoleil).

The professionals dominated the action dominated from the start and Schleck was keen to add his name to the list of winners.

"I absolutely wanted to win. Two years ago my brother Andy won. I also wanted my name on the honor roll,” he said.

The race was originally scheduled for Saturday but heavy rain forced organiser Leo van Vliet to delay it 24 hours. Instead the riders held a meet and greet session on Saturday and then raced on Sunday.

“Curacao is our second home. We are always welcomed by the organizers and also by the locals and so we wanted to give something back," Schleck said after the decision of the riders to race on Sunday.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Frank Schleck (Lux) Saxo Bank
2Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini
3Niki Terpstra (Ned) Team Milram
4Steven de Jongh (Ned)
5Grischa Niermann (Ger) Rabobank
6Bauke Mollema (Ned) Rabobank
7Koos Moerenhout (Ned) Rabobank
8Guy Smet (Bel)
9Danilo Hondo (Ger) Lampre-Farnese Vini
10Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Saxo Bank
11Andy Schleck (Lux) Saxo Bank
12Matteo Bono (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini
13Jurgen van de Broeck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
14Tony Martin (Ger) HTC-Columbia
15Wout Poels (Ned) Vacansoleil
16Frank Nijssen (Ned)
17Gyasi Sulvaran (ANE)
18Daniel Grabiel Juliana (ANE)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
SQL Integrator best climber
#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Frank Schleck (Lux) Saxo Bank
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Lions Dive intermediate sprint
#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Danilo Hondo (Ger) Lampre-Farnese Vini
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Sprint classification
#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini
Swipe to scroll horizontally
MCB Bank most aggressive rider
#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Tony Martin (Ger) HTC-Columbia
Swipe to scroll horizontally
HBN Law Best Curacaose rider
#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Gyasi Sulvaran


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1