Skip to main content

Rheinland-Pfalz Rundfahrt organizing committee dissolved

Doping has claimed another victim, as the organizers of the Rheinland-Pfalz Rundfahrt this week announced that they were dissolving their organizing committee. The organization had announced in July that the race would not take place in 2008, stating: "Due to the doping disclosures of the last few days and weeks, the provincial government in Mainz has cancelled the governmental funds for the Tour next year."

Now the committee said that it had dissolved its organization in order to save funds, thus canceling all chances of a race the coming year. The apparently last edition of the race was held this past May and was won by T-Mobile Team's Gerald Ciolek. Over the years, the race has been won by such well-known names as Dieter Koslar (1971), Theo de Rooy (1978), Olaf Ludwig (1985 and 1996), Mario Kummer (1987), Christian Henn (1988), Kai Hundertmarck (1990), Cédric Vasseur (1994), Lance Armstrong (1998), Erik Dekker (2001) and Michael Rich (2005).

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1