Skip to main content

Lance Armstrong rules out Tour de France win

Lance Armstrong (Astana) takes a turn at the front.

Lance Armstrong (Astana) takes a turn at the front. (Image credit: Bettini Photo)

Lance Armstrong ruled out an overall win in the Tour de France despite a strong performance in the Tour's 16th stage on Tuesday. Armstrong, second on general classification, will continue to help race leader and teammate, Alberto Contador.

"The quick accelerations, see if anyone is there, and then just ride a little tempo and accelerate again. That is stuff I would have done before."