Skip to main content

Euskaltel-Euskadi transfers

By Monika Prell

Euskaltel-Euskadi has confirmed a total of seven riders who will leave the squad at year's end. The Basque team's management has decided not renew the contracts of Unai Etxebarria, Andoni Aranaga, Iban Mayoz, Iban Iriondo, Unai Uribarri, Joseba Zubeldia and Aketza Peña, who is still awaiting B-sample results after testing non-negative for Nandrolone at the Giro di Trentino.

So far the squad's 2008 roster will encompass 23 riders who have rode for the team this season. Additions to the squad next year include Egoi Martínez, whose current team Discovery Channel won't continue in 2008, and Javier Aramendia, who currently riders for Euskaltel-Euskadi's subsidiary Orbea Oreka.

The team is currently reviewing the future of some of its other riders and will decided whether they renew more contracts over the coming months.