Dygert makes Canyon-Sram road race debut at 'wildcard race' Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

Chloe Dygert (Canyon-SRAM)
Chloe Dygert (Canyon-SRAM) (Image credit: Thomas Maheux)

Following months of recovery from a devastating crash at the 2020 World Championships in Tuscany and a limited programme of racing last summer, Chloe Dygert made her long-awaited road race debut for Canyon-Sram at Saturday's Omloop Het Nieuwsblad.

Last year, she took part in the time trial event at the US Nationals before turning her focus to both the road race and time trial at the Tokyo Olympics, though the Opening Weekend marks the first time she's raced alongside her teammates since joining the Women's WorldTour squad at the start of 2021.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Dani Ostanek
Senior News Writer

Dani Ostanek is Senior News Writer at Cyclingnews, joining in 2017 as a freelance contributor and later being hired full-time. Before joining the team, they had written for numerous major publications in the cycling world, including CyclingWeekly and Rouleur.

Dani has reported from the world's top races, including the Tour de France, Road World Championships, and the spring Classics. They have interviewed many of the sport's biggest stars, including Mathieu van der Poel, Demi Vollering, and Remco Evenepoel. Their favourite races are the Giro d'Italia, Strade Bianche and Paris-Roubaix.

Season highlights from the 2024 season include reporting from Paris-Roubaix –  'Unless I'm in an ambulance, I'm finishing this race' – Cyrus Monk, the last man home at Paris-Roubaix – and the Tour de France – 'Disbelief', gratitude, and family – Mark Cavendish celebrates a record-breaking Tour de France sprint win.